Adventure and Travel

Gravel Grinders: A journey from Houw Hoek to Vermaaklikheid

Words by Iwan Kemp // Photos by Johan Badenhorst

· By Bike Hub Features · 31 comments

Like many good adventures, this one was born over a cup of good coffee one lazy afternoon in Stellenbosch. The initial plan was to cycle from Cape Town to Knysna over two days on mountain bikes, but this had been done before. After looking at the routes, it was clear that gravel grinders were the perfect fit for the farm back roads and we decided on Vermaaklikheid as the ideal place to finish.

ccs-62657-0-27939900-1477299466.jpg

I was just looking for an excuse to go off-roading while Timo Cooper was looking for an adventure to test out a new bike, and it wasn’t long before we roped in Craig Boyes for the trip. JB Badenhorst overheard us plotting the plan and volunteered to join us too. Somehow we managed to convince him to bring his camera and video gear to document the weekend.

It just so happened that we had all the ingredients to showcase some beautiful back roads to fellow cyclists and adventurists: a ride on district gravel roads from nowhere to nowhere. Perfect.

ccs-62657-0-20895500-1477293041.jpg
ccs-62657-0-34306100-1477293033.jpg
ccs-62657-0-55098100-1477293035.jpg

Our route would take us from Houwhoek to Vermaaklikheid via Teslaarsdal, Caledon, Elim and Malgas. The ride would see us crossing the Breede Rivier on the pontoon at Malgas in order to make our way to Vermaaklikheid without having to go via Bredasdorp. Or so it was planned. Saturday morning we set off from Stellenbosch at 6am with great excitement. Our first stop was in Grabouw at Peregrine Farm Stall for some coffee.

ccs-62657-0-44417800-1477298007.jpg
ccs-62657-0-49988700-1477298008.jpg

Unfortunately, we arrived there too early for their baristas and set off to Houwhoek instead. We arrived at Houw Hoek Farm Stall at 07:30 – just as they were getting ready for the day ahead. A quick round of coffees and it was decided to set off from there rather than driving to the old Houw Hoek pass as was already planned.

ccs-62657-0-69785100-1477293036.jpg
ccs-62657-0-82725600-1477293038.jpg

ccs-62657-0-37389200-1477293034.jpg

While Timo, Craig, and JB got themselves ready for the day ahead, I mucked about with the cat who clearly did not have a cuppa by that time and was in no mood to entertain or be entertained.

ccs-62657-0-99725200-1477293039.jpg
ccs-62657-0-73318300-1477293037.jpg

Timo would be spending the best part of the day on a Cannondale Slate with a Specialized Diverge being Craig’s weapon of choice. JB and I were lucky enough to spend the weekend in a Subaru Forester that was kindly provided by the friendly folk at Subaru Cape Town.

ccs-62657-0-44670000-1477293103.jpg

ccs-62657-0-26266800-1477293105.jpg
ccs-62657-0-09539700-1477293104.jpg

Houw Hoek Pass snaking along the railway line.

It took little convincing for Timo and Craig to drop into some single track that makes up part of the Wines2Whales route just above Houw Hoek Hotel. This would spit them out at the start of the old Houw Hoek Railway Pass which would then take them to Botrivier. This worked out well as the Pass was earmarked as the official start of out trip with the single track section quickly taking the role of a “prologue”.

The Houw Hoek pass was built in 1904 to compliment the railway line that runs along the Jakkals River, which is a tributary of the Bot River. The road is best suited to a vehicle that you’d be happy to take off road. Ast it turned out, this would be one of the biggest challenges for the riders, as the road is washed out in places with big rocks littered all over. This did not deter them for a moment and they soon left us behind in the Subaru.

ccs-62657-0-47734000-1477293042.jpg

ccs-62657-0-30791300-1477293100.jpg
ccs-62657-0-66833100-1477293101.jpg
ccs-62657-0-68482900-1477293102.jpg
What stood out for me was just how much fun you can have riding along with a good mate talking about the first thing that comes to mind. Making jokes, talking bikes, work or whatever comes to mind. Sometimes you just need to get on your bike and ride, see how far you can go… Remember to always look around taking in what’s around you.
Craig Boyes

ccs-62657-0-98411300-1477293043.jpg

We would soon catch up as the two riders had no idea which turn to make. A quick trip through Botrivier and onto the R43 towards Hermanus before turning off into the farmlands for the first real gravel district road of our trip.

ccs-62657-0-41783500-1477293212.jpg
ccs-62657-0-01324400-1477293115.jpg

ccs-62657-0-79571800-1477293106.jpg
ccs-62657-0-74415800-1477293108.jpg

ccs-62657-0-91649100-1477293105.jpg

I’ve traveled this route a couple of times in a bakkie and on a motorbike as it’s a favourite when headed to the garden route or just about anywhere up that way. I suggested we take this route rather than inland as it’s quite a bit more hilly on the other side of the N2. I quickly realised that my perception of the route was a bit off, especially for a 200km+ trip.

Luckily for Timo and Craig, this would be the worst surface on the ride, as we navigated some rocky “road less traveled” farm roads that weren’t in the best condition.

ccs-62657-0-19867200-1477293114.jpg

We rolled into Caledon with 43 km behind our backs and 200 km to go. This was the first of two GPS glitches, as we left Caledon on the R316 towards Napier instead of the backroad to Teslaarsdal. I called a U-Turn when the riders were just about cresting the big climb out of Caledon. Thankfully, despite the mistake, they were still in high spirits. Soon enough we were back on track and on our way to Teslaarsdal. From there, Craig and Time stretched their legs as we made our way along a tarred section heading to Stanford before turning off to Elim.

The road to Elim was tough going for Timo and Craig with a few long, grueling climbs and the wind picking up.

ccs-62657-0-62479200-1477293115.jpg
ccs-62657-0-33638700-1477293116.jpg
ccs-62657-0-22882000-1477293119.jpg

It was on this stretch that JB asked for us to stop on the other side of a one-way low-river crossing to take some photos of Craig and Timo riding over. I was more than happy to oblige as that meant I could navigate the river crossing next to the bridge with the Forester, that until that stage had been unchallenged and unfazed by the gravel roads. Happily floating along keeping its occupants comfortable (and air-conditioned).

ccs-62657-0-67207600-1477293131.jpg
ccs-62657-0-35479800-1477293120.jpg

When the riders passed us Timo said “Het julle die slang daar neurgestit?” thinking it was a plastic toy snake. JB was quick to reply that it wasn’t us and Timo soon realised that it was a real live snake that he almost rode over. This was cause enough for a quick break to fuel the muscles and give the behinds a bit of a rest.

ccs-62657-0-74951800-1477293122.jpg
ccs-62657-0-66150700-1477293130.jpg

Having completed around 120 km when we rolled into Elim, the stop came at just the right time for the riders, who up until that point only had a couple of bananas and energy bars. And Timo was starting to feel “salty”.

ccs-62657-0-10260000-1477293205.jpg
ccs-62657-0-18312600-1477293207.jpg

ccs-62657-0-71760800-1477293137.jpg

ccs-62657-0-18265100-1477293134.jpg
ccs-62657-0-34338300-1477293135.jpg

ccs-62657-0-11930800-1477293133.jpg

Elim is a picturesque village on the Agulhas Plain that was established in 1824 by German missionaries as a mission station. It has changed little over the years and is filled with whitewashed cottages, fruit trees, and fynbos.

ccs-62657-0-41866500-1477293198.jpgWe passed this gentleman coming from a farm on his way to church.

All the roads in the village lead to a thatch-roofed church that stands proud in the centre of the village. With a population of only 1800, we became a bit concerned that there won’t be a restaurant to fill our tummies.

ccs-62657-0-40490400-1477293151.jpg

ccs-62657-0-16398300-1477293140.jpg
ccs-62657-0-56852700-1477293157.jpg
The route was beautiful and filled with landscapes that changed around every corner. It took me out of my comfort zone and not having cafes or shops around every corner was a new experience.
Johan Badenhorst

ccs-62657-0-45472300-1477293152.jpg

ccs-62657-0-94410100-1477293138.jpg
ccs-62657-0-66818800-1477293155.jpg

Fortunately, a friendly villager pointed us in the direction of the Waterfront Coffee Shop run by Tannie Joyce Conrads. As a proud member of the local tourism board, Tannie Joyce has turned her home into a coffee shop and serves meals straightout of her kitchen. The homemade bread was good enough for Craig to say he would consider making a trip out there again, just to enjoy another one of her sandwiches.

ccs-62657-0-37023300-1477293153.jpg

ccs-62657-0-72930300-1477293154.jpg
ccs-62657-0-81549600-1477293156.jpg

I really enjoyed the lunch stop and all the stories it brought. Although I was in a vehicle, it’s a completely different dynamic exploring at the pace we were going.

ccs-62657-0-79601300-1477293200.jpg
ccs-62657-0-56203200-1477293158.jpg
ccs-62657-0-48058700-1477293159.jpg

It wasn’t long though before the riders wanted to get going again. With very little training (read none) by Timo, it took him some time to find his rhythm again after the lunch stop (I’m sure the burger and chips didn’t exactly help), whereas Craig felt the first 100 kms was the toughest part of the route. Heading out towards Bredasdorp we ran into the second (and last) navigational error on our trip. It sent us on a roundabout loop that did nothing but add mileage. Fortunately, we had the wind from behind and the riders managed to make up ground at 45 – 50km/h on the gravel.

ccs-62657-0-30947700-1477293160.jpg
ccs-62657-0-50433600-1477293167.jpg

Back on track and we were making our way around the Overberg Missile Testing Range near De Hoop Nature Reserve. It was on this stretch that we ran into the PWC Pedalling for Purpose 300 group of riders who were on their way to Witsand from the Cape Winelands to raise R 100,000 for charities. Due to the early navigation problems, it was decided to give the riders a lift to the Breede River Pontoon before setting off on their bikes again.

ccs-62657-0-52835600-1477293211.jpg
ccs-62657-0-26937800-1477293214.jpg

For those who don’t know a pontoon (often shortened to “pont”) is a simple floating barge designed to get vehicles across a river. The Malgas “pont” dates back to 1914 and is famous for being the last hand-drawn pont of its kind in the country.

ccs-62657-0-08484600-1477293170.jpg

ccs-62657-0-54003600-1477293173.jpg
ccs-62657-0-49398900-1477293171.jpg

ccs-62657-0-85066900-1477293174.jpg
ccs-62657-0-87044400-1477293168.jpg

JB commented on how impressive it was to see the men power-draw the ferry and we wondered just how strong they must be doing this day after day. Because the Breede is navigable around 50 kilometres inland to Malgas, this was an important trading port in the 19th century. It served the whole area as it was quicker to transport goods from Cape Town by ship than by ox wagon.

When Malgas fell into disuse as a port due to the advent of rail, the authorities decided there wasn’t sufficient traffic to justify the building of a bridge and so the pont lived on. Today, it remains the only way of crossing the Breede by vehicle on the back roads between the N2 outside Swellendam and Cape Infanta, where the river runs into the sea.

The last stretch was special with the gravel roads snaking through the heartland of the Overberg farming community with perfect weather.

ccs-62657-0-98521800-1477293203.jpg
ccs-62657-0-27650400-1477293177.jpg

If I had to tell people one thing looking back at the weekend it would be to go out and ride your bike! Enjoy life. Gravel biking does have its place in South Africa and I think it’s only a matter of time until we get more and more people trying it.
Craig Boyes

ccs-62657-0-11104400-1477293176.jpg

We finally rolled into Vermaaklikheid at just before five-thirty. In its heyday, Vermaaklikheid was perfectly placed on the journey between Riversdale and Stilbaai, where it functioned as a halfway station with a toll house for road tax. To this day, one can only reach Vermaaklikheid via gravel roads which means that not much has changed over the last 50 years for its residents. Something I reckon they prefer.

Before we made our way to our accommodation, we stopped at Joey se Kontrei Winkel which sits a little off the “main” road next to olive groves. The shop was firmly closed, but we soon heard a voice shout “ek’s nou daar”. This voice turned out to be that of Joey Odendaal who, along with her husband Andries, made their way out to us from their home to open up the shop. While we bought some vital supplies (like home baked cookies) for the evening, Oom Andries told us about their one-of-a-kind fynbos brandy, whisky, wine and liqueur, which they brew from fynbos according to a recipe that, according to Oom Andries, is a new kind of alcohol production that is going to make him very wealthy. If you’re ever out that way, pop in for a tasting. Maybe also pop around to the cottages to get Timo’s Ciovita bib for him – it’s hanging on the stoep.

ccs-62657-0-16102600-1477293178.jpgJoey se Kontrei Winkel.

Our home for the evening would be Back Track, part of the River Magic Cottages situated only 300 meters from the Duivenshok River. As soon as we touched down, the fire was lit to braai the Die Vleiswinkel’s legendary herb lamb steaks.

ccs-62657-0-89185100-1477293192.jpgBack Track, River Magic Cottages.
ccs-62657-0-04654300-1477293194.jpg

ccs-62657-0-11844300-1477293190.jpg
ccs-62657-0-10058100-1477293191.jpg

This was the perfect place to sit down, relax, and share our experiences from the day. One of the highlights for all four of us was the incredible beauty of the countryside and just how much of it there is still for us to see and explore.

On Sunday morning, we were early to rise for a trip on the river. We met up with Kyle who manages the cottages for the Andrew family. He would be the captain to steer the boat up the river and tell us a bit more about the area and the farm the River Magic Cottages are situated on. The area is truly tranquil and beautiful with great views and absolute silence. One of the cottages can only be reached via ferry as it sits on the other side of the river, right on the bank. The perfect getaway spot. With the amount of gravel routes in the area, it would make a great weekend away destination for riders looking to clock in some training miles or for anyone looking to explore the unknown.

ccs-62657-0-30910600-1477293195.jpg
ccs-62657-0-34435900-1477293196.jpg

It was great to have the ride and weekend documented but, in the end, it was a good weekend shared by four like-minded guys. Cyclists who enjoy the outdoors, the beauty of our country, and the privilege to explore it. A bicycle allows us to get out and venture into the unknown. With the advent of gravel grinders, we have a new way of getting about and experience the outdoors. Yes, it can be done on a mountain bike, but there is something special seeing the guys grinding away on these bikes – seemingly ill-suited, but with an air of simplicity to them.

Thank you Subaru Cape Town for the use of the Forester as our support vehicle.

ccs-62657-0-17995200-1490012029.jpg

Related posts

Comments

Hackster

Oct 24, 2016, 11:52 AM

Great piece. Very motivating. Thanks for including the map images.

Just a pity you had to make up that last bit about Vermaaklikheid being a nice place. It's a terrible spot - they steal bicycles and girlfriends there and the beer is always warm. Rather push on a bit to Stilbaai.

Shebeen

Oct 24, 2016, 12:41 PM

joh, that's a big day out!

rivermagic is awesome.

Stephen Sheehy

Oct 24, 2016, 12:49 PM

Great ride guys.  What map set did you use for the routing?

Headshot

Oct 24, 2016, 12:50 PM

Hackster you jest, but despite the almost 0 population there is terrible crime at Vermaaklikheid. Hold on to your outboard motors, gas piping, weed eaters...  - the list goes on. Great place though despite the ***. 

Iwan Kemp

Oct 24, 2016, 3:13 PM

Wasn't aware of the crime. Pity, as it's a cool destination.

Iwan Kemp

Oct 24, 2016, 3:13 PM

Great ride guys.  What map set did you use for the routing?

Tracks 4 Africa using BaseCamp to plot the route.

NordicElf

Oct 24, 2016, 3:19 PM

Awesome adventure and article, lovely pics! I want a gravel bike now! 

Headshot

Oct 24, 2016, 3:24 PM

Wasn't aware of the crime. Pity, as it's a cool destination.

Yep, been a part owner there for 16 years. There was also a spate of vandalism   - our water supply being a target twice. Managed to get the outboard perps convicted but I never got mine back. The same criminal burned down a house because he could not get into the secure store to steal their motors...

NPJ

Oct 24, 2016, 3:38 PM

Great stuff guys! Gets me amped to do an adventure!

Pure Savage

Oct 24, 2016, 4:04 PM

Awesome article! 

LOOK695

Oct 24, 2016, 4:07 PM

Wow, looks like lots of fun

i24

Oct 24, 2016, 4:52 PM

How do you cope with the corrugations on the 2ndary gravel roads without any suspension?

And did you manage to stay out of the way of the farmers' bakkies that drive at > 100km/h floating around with marginal control due to shot shock absorbers, kicking up clouds of dust while hammering the corrugations a little deeper?

Otherwise it looks like lots of fun :-)

Dubbin

Oct 24, 2016, 4:58 PM

Nice one. Vermaaklikheid used to have a great seafood restaurant. The owner literally caught the fish the morning and served it the evening in his restaurant. Was a local hotspot till it closed. Unfortunately not enough customers in the area to make it worth their while.

A couple of friends and I still have a yearly ride from Heidelberg to Jongensfontein via Vermaaklikheid. Nice rolling district roads for us not so technically orientated fatties.

Dubbin

Oct 24, 2016, 5:51 PM

How do you cope with the corrugations on the 2ndary gravel roads without any suspension?

And did you manage to stay out of the way of the farmers' bakkies that drive at > 100km/h floating around with marginal control due to shot shock absorbers, kicking up clouds of dust while hammering the corrugations a little deeper?

Otherwise it looks like lots of fun :-)

I also respect this guys for the lack of suspension.

Back to the farmers. I confess. I may be one of them. While you may be having a holiday the locals still need to make a living. . Compare it to your drive to work. There is always an asshole somewhere. Keep to the side of the road. And a little wave here and there when a bakkie passes you in an orderly manner goes a long way.

'Dale

Oct 24, 2016, 6:20 PM

Sweet adventure

Great prentjies

Some drone footage there too

Beautiful ????????

i24

Oct 25, 2016, 6:19 AM

I did some holiday cycling on a ridged frame commuter out of Witsand a few years ago. I recall weaving around on the Witsand Malgas road trying to find a line between the corrugations and diving for the verge every-time a vehicle appeared. I would love to do this trip, but I would chose a bike with some fork travel and plan for two or three days on the road. I like the Subaru to carry the packs!

Prince Albert Cycles

Oct 25, 2016, 6:31 AM

Great riding writing and photography !

Motivating !

Skubarra

Oct 25, 2016, 6:35 AM

Inspiring!

In the area this December holiday, will be doing a "gravel grinder light", maybe from Heidelberg to Jongens via Vermaaklikheid?  ^_^

coops

Oct 25, 2016, 7:32 AM

This trip was absolutely amazing. I would encourage everyone to try something like this. Get a few mates together and just ride your bikes to unfamiliar places! I am really looking forward to the next one. The bike I rode was 100% and I had no problem with corrugations thanks to the Lefty Oliver. 

Timo Cooper 

Iwan Kemp

Oct 25, 2016, 7:42 AM

This trip was absolutely amazing. I would encourage everyone to try something like this. Get a few mates together and just ride your bikes to unfamiliar places! I am really looking forward to the next one. The bike I rode was 100% and I had no problem with corrugations thanks to the Lefty Oliver. 

Timo Cooper 

:thumbup:

Tell us about the plastic snake and your hours of preparation!  :whistling:

coops

Oct 25, 2016, 7:48 AM

:thumbup:

Tell us about the plastic snake and your hours of preparation!  :whistling:

Hours of preparation - Mental preparation (a lot).physical preparation (close to zero)

I really thought the snake was a joke by Iwan or JB and decided to show them i am on to them and not afraid of a plastic snake. Meanwhile back at the ranch, it was a real snake and I almost lost my life! (not really)    

Slowbee

Oct 25, 2016, 7:48 AM

how did you okes swindle the Subaru for a test ride ?

Iwan Kemp

Oct 25, 2016, 7:50 AM

how did you okes swindle the Subaru for a test ride ?

Because Bike Hub

Edit: Just phone Tienie Bester at Subaru Cape Town - he'll sort you out.

Iwan Kemp

Oct 25, 2016, 1:04 PM

Reply from Craig:

"I think using the right tyres is a really good start, I used the Specialized Trigger 700x38c the workshop staff also made my bike tubeless so I could run lower pressures, I was running 4 bar.

I did not find the corrugations too bad, keeping your arms bent just a little was the biggest thing I could do to help.

But I must say we did not have really bad corrugation, I have had worse.

Thank so much for getting in touch with us.

Happy riding
Craig Boyes"

Add a comment

You must log in to comment