Adventure and Travel

Video: Destination Trail – South Africa

· By Press Office · 11 comments

In this episode of Destination Trail, we follow Hannah Barnes and Miranda Miller as the pair ride the scorched wilderness of Stellenbosch, South Africa. A vast network of trails have existed here since the ’90s, but after a massive fire scorched much of the Jonkershoek Nature Reserve in 2015, fresh funding has paved the way for even more singletrack. And today, this lemonade-out-of-lemons approach has rejuvenated existing trails and laid the groundwork for new ones, making the area a true destination for any mountain biker with a love for dusty red earth.

ccs-62657-0-72654500-1460704609.jpg
ccs-62657-0-23889300-1460704610.jpg
ccs-62657-0-76225400-1460704610.jpg
ccs-62657-0-11951300-1460704611.jpg
ccs-62657-0-39031800-1460704611.jpg
ccs-62657-0-64112700-1460704611.jpg
ccs-62657-0-95737600-1460704611.jpg
ccs-62657-0-32538500-1460704612.jpg
ccs-62657-0-95508200-1460704612.jpg
ccs-62657-0-27735100-1460704615.jpg
ccs-62657-0-93288600-1460704615.jpg
ccs-62657-0-32357200-1460704616.jpg
ccs-62657-0-90609700-1460704616.jpg
ccs-62657-0-39007900-1460704617.jpg
ccs-62657-0-68858800-1460704612.jpg

Photos by Etienne van Rensburg.

Related posts

Comments

MTBeer

Apr 15, 2016, 5:22 AM

Awesome stuff. I'll be there tomorrow. Just to be clear, which trails are open at Jonkers? I'm looking for the non-serious downhill stuff. Trails similar to Hoogekraal/Conters/etc.

Red Phoenix - yes

Canaries - ?

Neverending - ?

Fire Hut - No?

KarlvN

Apr 15, 2016, 6:16 AM

I rode there last weekend. Red Phoenix and Neverending are the two I rode. I haven't ridden the other two as of yet so can't comment.

That ST is awesome. Nice proper all-mountain.

The Stellies folks are truly spoilt. (this coming from a Tygerberg MTB member... :ph34r: )

MTBeer

Apr 15, 2016, 7:19 AM

Thanks Karl. Canaries should be good as they are on the same side of the valley as Phoenix and Neverending.

r0adrunner

Apr 15, 2016, 7:23 AM

Jonkershoek, such a gem.

IKMagine

Apr 15, 2016, 7:40 AM

AFAIK the trails on the fire hut side are not open. But Canaries, Red Phoenix, Neverending Story etc. are all good to go!

MTBeer

Apr 15, 2016, 7:51 AM

AFAIK the trails on the fire hut side are not open. But Canaries, Red Phoenix, Neverending Story etc. are all good to go!

:thumbup:

webcast

Apr 15, 2016, 8:15 AM

Awesome Vid. Keep it up. Can we place all these local trail vids in one place. Can possibly break in down to a Province/ City.  :thumbup:

Here's another which was helpful. : https://www.bikehub.co.za/features/_/articles/routes-trails/video-renays-constantia-greenbelt-guide-r4190

Rock Guy

Apr 15, 2016, 8:54 AM

Lekker video. Jonkershoek is such an awesome place!

Headshot

Apr 15, 2016, 9:31 AM

The rough life of a Stellies trail builder :-)

Hairy

Apr 15, 2016, 12:45 PM

kom ons ry viets en braai die naaweek!

Mntboy

Apr 15, 2016, 1:47 PM

The rough life of a Stellies trail builder :-)

Ja nee it must have been rough to host a hottie like Hannah Barnes. :whistling:

Bennett comes across as solid guy though! Long live trail builders!

Sent from my GT-S6790 using Tapatalk

Add a comment

You must log in to comment