Canyon Topeak Factory Racing (CTFR) takes over from the highly successful pro arm of the Topeak-Ergon Racing Team, whose U.S. contingent will continue to compete throughout North America. Erik Kleinhans will put his many years’ experience on the scene to good use in a new double role as both rider and CTFR Team Manager.

ccs-2-0-29871700-1518108469.jpgCanyon Topeak Factory Racing 2018 – Alban Lakata, Photo: Canyon Bicycles
ccs-2-0-61581900-1518108481.jpgCanyon Topeak Factory Racing 2018 – Kristian Hynek, Photo: Canyon Bicycles

For Canyon Founder & CEO, Roman Arnold, representation in the professional ranks in any riding discipline goes far beyond brand exposure: “Our history at Canyon is strongly rooted in racing. Personally, I’m very excited that Canyon Topeak Factory Racing will now join our enduro, downhill and freeride teams under one roof. Working with these athletes is about so much more than showcasing our products – the dialogue that exists between Canyon engineers and pro riders flows into every new development to make our bikes the best they can be for riders everywhere. That’s where the Pure Cycling flair that sets Canyon apart comes from.”

Sitting high of the team’s hit list in 2018 will be a top placing at the gruelling Absa Cape Epic (start: 18th March) alongside defence of Alban Lakata’s Rainbow Jersey at the XCM World Championships. Riders will have a choice between the superlight Exceed CF SLX hardtail and Lux CF full suspension models to race on depending on the terrain.

ccs-2-0-57155400-1518108494.jpgCanyon Topeak Factory Racing 2018 – Jeremiah Bishop, Photo: Canyon Bicycles
ccs-2-0-79191300-1518108532.jpgCanyon Topeak Factory Racing 2018 – Erik Kleinhans, Photo: Canyon Bicycles

Beyond the marathon scene, Canyon will also be represented at the top throughout the XCO World Cup season. CANYON//SRAM Racing’s Pauline Ferrand-Prévot and Dutch cyclocross star Mathieu van der Poel of Correndon-Circus are set to challenge the Swiss dominance laid down by Jolanda Neff and Nino Schurter. Both riders put in hugely promising performances on the XCO circuit last season and have backed those up over the winter, Mathieu van der Poel dominating the Cyclocross World Cup series while Pauline Ferrand-Prévot also made a return to the top step of the podium on her way to winning another French national title.