All elite and U23 women that have been seeded into the % start group will have the option to start at a new revised start area on the corner of Main Road and Blackhill Road/Glencairn Expressway. The start time for the Invitational will be at 06:30 - light permitting - and the approximate distance is 76km.

It is important to note that the prize monies and title for the 2017 Cape Town Cycle Tour will be awarded to the winner of this start group. The U23 category title will also be awarded to a participant from this group. For the sake of clarity, should an U23 rider win the event, they will receive both the overall winners title as well as the U23 title.

All other age category awards will go to those participants in the traditional 109km Cape Town Cycle Tour.

Existing seedings and race numbers will remain valid for the main event.

Details around the support vehicles for the Invitational race will be conveyed and confirmed at the managers meeting, with the Chief Commissaire, which will be held at the Cullinan Hotel on Saturday 11th March at 14h00.

We thank the City of Cape Town for going the extra mile in facilitating this new opportunity for women’s racing and wish all participants a safe and successful race.

For more information on the 2017 Cape Town Cycle Tour, please visit or follow us on Facebook , twitter (@CTCycleTour) and on Instagram (@ctcycletour).