Time trial competitors can take comfort in knowing that there will be full road closure on the N4 during the individual TT event on Thursday, courtesy of subsidiary sponsor Trans African Concessions (TRAC), who manages the N4 toll route between Pretoria and Mozambique.

With the road race not taking part on the N4, there will be rolling road closure for the team TT on Friday and the road races on Saturday and Sunday.

“We are proud to welcome Clover as a title sponsor for this year’s national championship event, which makes it possible for us to put on an event of a very high standard,” said Cycling SA road director Hendrik Wagener.

Europcar, who have been instrumental with their sponsorship of vehicles for the past two years, supply vehicles for the Cycling SA commissaries in order to follow the race as it unfolds.

The registration venue is at the Protea Hotel Nelspruit, and registration and number collection takes place on Wednesday 27 February from 14:00 to 18:00. Protea Hotel Nelspruit has also provided special rates on accommodation for the cyclists and officials.

“We are expecting about 120 riders for the time trial on Thursday,” continued Wagener. “The women’s race starts early on Saturday morning, with the men racing on Sunday morning – both routes begin at the Mbombela Stadium in Nelspruit, and go out to White River and back to Nelspruit again, with the elite women completing two laps and the elite men three.”

Wagener is pleased to announce that Olympian Daryl Impey, who races for the professional Orica-GreenEdge team will be participating, as well as pro continental team riders from MTN-Qhubeka and Team Bonitas such as Jay Thomson, Jaco Venter, Louis Meintjes (all MTN-Qhubeka), Christopher Jennings, Songezo Jim and Richard Baxter (Bonitas), Nolan Hoffman (Tasol-GT) as well as representation from our Top Clubs such as Europcar, amongst others.

A quality junior men line-up includes Ryan Felgate, Jevandre Pauls, Stefan le Bod, Ivan Venter and Joshua Buchel.

The women’s field will see Olympian Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio compete to defend her title against the likes of Lise Olivier and Leandri du Toit, with Heidi Dalton and Monique Gerber set to head the junior women onslaught.

Thursday 28 February: Individual Time Trial

  • Junior Women
  • Elite Women
  • Junior Men
  • U23 Men
  • Elite Men

Friday 1 March: Team Time Trial

  • Team Time Trial starts at Steam Engine on R537

Saturday 2 March: Road Races – Women

  • Elite Women – Start Mbombela Stadium – 2 laps (112km)
  • Junior Women – Start Mbombela Stadium – 1 lap (60km)

Sunday 3 March: Road Races – Men

  • U23 and Elite Men – Start Mbombela Stadium – 3 laps (160km)
  • Junior Men – Start Mbombela Stadium – 2 laps (112km)

Click here to view the individual time trial start sheet and times.

Late entries will be accepted for the road race only, and close on Saturday at 17:00. For any further information, route maps and stage profiles, please visithttp://www.cyclingsa.com/National-Champs-Discipline.aspx?uid=10&fid=9