We had a great variety in the course with plenty of overtaking opportunities, climbs and single track that were groomed by the team at Thaba Trails. There was exciting racing among all the age groups as riders charged around the course.


The racing is split into four sections with Sprogs and Nippers both boys and girls getting proceedings going mid-morning followed by the Sub Junior and Youth boys. We then have an all ladies section after lunch including Junior and Elite Women. The day is ended off with the Mens Junior and Elite at 5pm which despite having been a long day for spectators and riders offered up great action and plenty to cheer about! Racing among the age divisions was tough even though most of the riders had already raced XCO a few hours early didn’t let the fatigue or heat hinder their ability to lay down the watts as they sprinted around the course.

Our sponsors showered riders in prizes, not just for the podium finishers but in a number of raffle draw prizes too! Big THANKS to Giant Bicycles, Skullcandy, Fox Racing, Ogio, Yesman Branding and Kenings Car Van and Truck Hire for their incredible contribution to the event.


Round two of the series takes place on Saturday 5 May at Cascades MTB park in Pietermaritzburg, we will once again have fantastic prizes up for grabs in the raffle draws as well as prize money for the podium finishers. We also have a great end of series raffle draw which includes a Giant Bicycle (the winners choice between a Trance or Anthem) valued at R39 999.

Entries are open online:


Nipper Girls:
1. Daniel De Jager

Nipper Boys:
1. Josh Johnson
2. Taylon Stander
3. Hanro Ehlers

Sprog Girls:
1. Hannah Elliott
2. Carla Kotze
3. Jodi Mackinnon

Sprog Boys:
1. Francois De Jager
2. Alessandro Fanicchi
3. Hendre Schoeman

Youth Girls:
1. Jade Slabbert

Youth Boys:
1. Ben Du Plessis
2. Krige Van Der Vyver
3. Pierre Le Roux

Sub Junor Girls:
1. Lilly Paper
2. Laurie Sian Breet

Sub Junior Boys:
1. Philip Van Schalkwyk
2. Marcel Moore
3. Wayde Gerber

Junior Women:
1. Emma Van Coller
2. Hannah Oelofsen
3. Robin Stewart

Junior Men:
1. Bendeon Myburgh
2. Jayden Lang
3. Michardt Meets

Elite Women:
1. Stacey Hyslop

Elite Men:
1. Chad Fikkert
2. Reinhardt Zellhuber
3. Matthew Wilkinson