This was the first time Chris Froome (Team Sky) has actively raced in South Africa since his win at the Tour de France and it was no surprise that the first move of the day came shortly after leaving Loftus Versveld stadium on Nelson Mandela drive. Froome drove the tempo up the Fort Klapperkop climb but after a six week off season the effort cost him and he was quickly swallowed by a furious peloton.

The early break formed on the slopes of the Telkom tower climb where a small group of riders managed to escape including the likes of Africa's first ever yellow jersey wearer at the Tour de France, Orica GreenEdge's Daryl Impey, Darren Lill (Cannondale Blend), Hanco Kachelhoffer (Altech), HB Kruger (Bonitas), Louis Meintjes and Jacques Janse van Rensburg (both MTN Qhubeka) as well as eventual winner Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg (Giant Shimano).

It was Lill who launched the first attack up the Heritage Hill climb and was only caught near the top of the Voortrekker Monument climb only 8km from the finish at the Union Buildings. The blow by blow attacks were matched and countered coming in to the finish but it was Janse van Rensburg who proved strongest on the day crossing the line ahead of a storming Kachelhoffer and Kruger who finished 2nd and 3rd respectively.

According to an elated Janse van Rensburg it was not only great to win on home ground but he was motivated to win for his girlfriend who was watching from hospital after a kidney transplant. Darly Impey said: "It was really a great route, quite challenging with that hard start and I just didn't have the legs at the end." Third place Kruger commented "It was by far the most positive race we've had in South Africa this year, the guys really went for it." Chris Froome said "It was really great to see everyone get together for a great cause, it was really a great vibe out there. I really liked the hilly course and we passed some iconic landmarks that kept it interesting and not easy by any means".

The competitive women's field saw the two European campaigners Ashleigh Moolman Pasio (Momentum) and Marianne Vos (Rabobank) show their class with an early break that they managed to maintain all the way to the finish. The hilly course clearly suited the South African climbing sensation Moolman Pasio with multiple past world champion Vos unable to shake her on the 67km course. The duo took the race down to the wire with Moolman Pasio emerging the winner in a mad dash to the line. Vos finished in 2nd with Cherise Stander (RECM) rounding off the podium in 3rd place.

"Today was really a special day with a really beautiful route taking in all the sights of Pretoria and I'm really happy that I managed to take the win over a class rider like Marianne today" commented Moolman Pasio. She went on saying "It was really great to ride in Mandela's honour today like he always said sport is a great way to unite a country and it was really special to be a part of it." Dutch cycling legend Marianne Vos "It is a little shorter than I'm used to but it was quite tough but it was really special seeing all the monuments and special landmarks celebrating Mandela's memory!".

Elite men 67km Unite4Mandela

  1. Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg (Giant Shimano)
  2. Hanco Kachelhoffer (Altech)
  3. HB Kruger (Bonitas)
  4. Morne van Niekerk (Abantu)
  5. Darren lill (Cannondale Blend)
  6. Daryl Impey (Orica GreenEdge)
  7. Shaun-Nick Bester (Westvaal BMC)
  8. Dylan Girdlestone (Bonitas)
  9. Louis Meintjes (MTN Qhubeka)
  10. Jacques Janse van Rensburg (MTN Qhubeka)

Elite women 67km Unite4Mandela

  1. Ashleigh Moolman Pasio (Momentum)
  2. Marianne Vos (Rabobank)
  3. Cherise Stander (RECM)
  4. Anriette Schoeman (African Silks)
  5. Andrea Steyn (PeptoPro)
  6. Lise Olivier (TimeFreight VeloLife)
  7. Carla Oberholzer (Bestmed)
  8. An-Li Kachelhoffer (Active)
  9. Kim le Court (TimeFreight VeloLife)
  10. Maroesjke Matthee (Craft)