ccs-62657-0-02223500-1464157546.jpegPhoto: Steven Smuts - SnapSport Media

With riders charging elbow to elbow spectators will be entertained by the fast pace but also witness the occasional spill as riders aren’t willing to give an inch even going into a tight corner. In addition to this, with the cleated in start(similar to that of BMX) the watts applied to the pedals to get off the line first and out in front has occasionally left the odd rider chain-less! This is all apart of the racing action and thankfully Olympic Cycles was on hand to quickly sort out the necessary repairs and have the riders ready for their next heat.

ccs-62657-0-10389700-1464157549.jpegPhoto: Steven Smuts - SnapSport Media

The Junior Eliminator Series is a great way for riders to be introduced to racing as the tracks are only around 800m in length allowing everyone to be competitive as they don’t need the fitness to maintain a high speed over a long distance. Riders are tested in speed, power, bike handling skills over obstacles and around corners as well as race tactics - knowing when to attack, everything they would need to take into the other cycling disciplines compressed into a two minute interval. The eliminator format is spectator friendly as majority of the course can be seen from standing in one spot allowing family members and friends to cheer their rider on the whole way round the course!

ccs-62657-0-08451600-1464157554.jpegPhoto: Steven Smuts - SnapSport Media

Introducing the two younger age groups(under 10 and 12) to the series this year has added a new flare with their racing spirit and determination to win mixed with the friendly camaraderie amongst the young riders definitely gave everyone something to think about and even look up to. With that being said, the under 12 boys provided fireworks at the final round with each of their heats coming down to a very close sprint finish with not one rider looking to have an advantage until the line was crossed!

ccs-62657-0-94146700-1464157567.jpegPhoto: Steven Smuts - SnapSport Media

Not to be outdone by the youngsters the large field of under 16 boys also had a thrilling end to their final where an inform Daniel Sparks(Reddam House) narrowly missed out on the victory by a well timed attack by Jamie Penfold(Paul Roos Gymnasium) who made the pass in the last few meters. In an extremely fast paced under 19 final the other three opponents were out powered by a flying Jarrod van den Heever(Paarl Boys High) who had the time to through the celebratory arms in the air as he crossed the line.

ccs-62657-0-06033900-1464157558.jpegPhoto: Steven Smuts - SnapSport Media

All podium finishers were rewarded with great prizes and prize money supplied by our sponsors Trek Bikes, Fox Racing, Skullcandy, Frog Bikes, Bontrager, OGIO, GoPro and Olympic Cycles. There was also a large number of raffle prizes which resulted in a lot of the riders going home with either a set of headphones, hydration packs or awesome riding kit.

The Junior Eliminator Series is now moving onto KwaZulu Natal with the first event taking place on Thursday 16 June(public holiday - Youth Day), entries are open and can be done online:

ccs-62657-0-97984300-1464157562.jpegPhoto: Steven Smuts - SnapSport Media

Results from Round 2: Bishops Diocesan College

Girls u/10
Megan Scholtz (Kenridge Primary)
Chloe Chesterton (Sweet Valley Primary)

Girls u/12
Kayleigh Scholtz (Kenridge Primary)
Anna Marx (Springfield)
Erin Jones (kenridge Primary)

Girls u/14
Danielle Barnard (Durbanville Primary)
Julia Marx (Springfield)

Girls u/16
Carla Hollander (DF Malan)
Nadia van Niekerk (Bridge House)
Renate Blumers (Bridge House)

Girls u/19
Allison Morton (Westerford)

Boys u/10
Matt Laughton (Kenridge Primary)
Matthew Jones (Kenridge Primary)
Scott Meredith (Kenridge Primary)

Boys u/12
Alec Coleske (Kenridge Primary)
Hendre De Villiers (Durbanville Primary)
Ryan Veer (Totius Primary)

Boys u/14
W.G van der Walt (Montana)
Luca Ruwiel (Welgemoed Primary)
Krige van der Vyver (Paul Roos)

Boys u/16
Jamie Penfold (Paul Roos)
Daniel Sparks (Reddam House)
Ico Coetzee (Parel Vallei)

Boys u/19
Jarrod van den Heever (Paarl Boys)
Rossouw Bekker (Paul Roos)
Dian Kotze (Parel Vallei)