Reinardt janse van Rensburg was involved in an unfortunate crash that resulted in a fractured shoulder during the second to last stage of the Eneco Tour in Belgium on Saturday, and will no longer be taking part in the Championship.

Janse van Rensburg will be replaced by Ryan Gibbons. Although Gibbons is in his final year of u23, he will be racing in the Elite category at the World Championship. He has been riding as a stagiaire for the Dimension Data World Tour Team, and has shown excellent form over the 2016 season.

National Team for 2016 Road World Championships

Elite Men
Ryan Gibbons
Nicholas Dougall
Clint Hendriks

Stefan de Bod

Elite Ladies
Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio
Heidi Dalton
Anriette Schoeman
Carla Oberholzer
Samantha Sanders
Zanele Tshoko

Junior Men
Devon Short
Damean Oosthuizen
Jason Oosthuizen

Junior Ladies
Nicolene Marais
Lynette Benson

Alice Rawlinson

Evan Thys