Members of 18 commissions of the UCI have been appointed. Newman will sit on the UCI Track Commission, while Minnaar sits on the UCI Athlete’s Commission as a Mountain Bike Representative.

Mountain biking stalwart and neighbour to South Africa, Mannie Heymans from Namibia, will sit on the UCI Mountain Bike Commission.

According to the UCI press announcement, in an unprecedented decision in the organisation’s history, at least one woman will sit on each of the commissions, newly designated under the Presidency of Brian Cookson.

The announcement also revealed that “three new commissions have been established: the Women’s Commission, the International Development and National Federations’ Commission, and a Constitutional Review Panel.

“The Cycling for All Commission has been separated into two bodies: the “Mass Participation Events” and “Advocacy/Cyclist’s Rights” Commissions. The UCI means to place particular emphasis on the development of these two areas.”

UCI President Brian Cookson said: “I am delighted by this announcement, which helps reinforce the presence of women in cycling. It was one of the priorities of my mandate along with the international development of cycling and the reform of the governance of the UCI. Today we continue working to ensure our pledges are met.”