Daryl Impey will represent South Africa at the 2014 UCI Road World Championships taking place in Ponferrada, Spain, from 21-28 September. // Photo credit: Graham Watson.

Impey’s inclusion has not been at the expense of any rider on the national team. However, Jay Thomson, who was scheduled to race in the Time Trial, will no longer be competing. Both Thomson and Impey opted not to race the Time Trial as they felt they had not spent enough time on the time trial specific bike in the lead up to Worlds. Impey will focus on the road race.

Ex professional cyclist and South African Champion, Robert Hunter, will also be in attendance and will assist with the team manager duties. Hunter’s expertise in the professional cycling environment will be of a great advantage to the South African team.

Cycling South Africa extends a huge thank you to Team MTN-Qhubeka team principal, Douglas Ryder, and his team for the services of their bus driver and their mechanic for the World Championships. Team MTN-Qhubeka is based in Italy and the use of their infrastructure is a valuable resource for the national team in Spain.

The bulk of the national team will depart from South Africa on Friday morning, 19 September. They will join the rest of their national teammates in Spain. The full team that will represent South Africa at the 2014 UCI Road World Championships is as follows:

Elite Men

Daryl Impey

Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg

Jacques Janse van Rensburg

Under 23

Louis Meintjes

Jayde Julius

Kevin Patten

Willie Smit

Elite Women

Ashleigh Moolman Pasio

An-Li Kachelhoffer

Heidi Dalton

Junior Men

Gustav Basson

Ivan Venter

Graeme Ockhuis

Stefan de Bod (Non Traveling Reserve)

Junior Women

Monique Gerber

Michelle Benson

Catherine Colyn


Bosseau Boshoff

Robert Hunter

Megan Earl

We wish the national team all the best in their efforts and achievements.