Events

Interview: James Cunnama

· By Bike Hub Features · 2 comments

James Cunnama is a professional triathlete based in Stellenbosch. James’s impressive résumé includes 4th place at Kona 2013 and solid top three results in Ironman and Ironman 70.3 events worldwide. He is married to Jodie Swallow, current women’s World Long Distance ITU Champion, and seven times winner of the East London Ironman 70.3, among many other achievements. We caught up with him at his home in Stellenbosch to check out his new Cervélo P5X, which you can read about here, and to find out a bit about life as an elite-level athlete, and what it takes to get to the top and stay there.

ccs-62657-0-25876400-1485760616.jpg

When did you each know that you wanted to become a pro athlete – was there a sort of tipping point?

Before I became a pro athlete, I was a coach. I was studying Sports Science in Port Elizabeth and I volunteered to work at Ironman when it first came to town. After I graduated, I got a job with the team at Ironman.

I coached guys to do their first Ironman, while at the same time I was coaching myself to my own first Ironman in 2007. I raced it as a pro because at the time there were hardly any pros and we figured I may as well go for it and start with the front batch. I got beaten by some of the women, but I did okay.

I did 9 and a half hours, which is my slowest time to date for an Ironman. For the next two years, I coached to pay the bills while I was training. My training increased and increased until I was working between 11 and 3 and for the rest of the time, I either worked from home or I trained. At the end of 2008, I resigned from my job to go full-time pro.

With regards to your Sports Science studies: how do you find the theory correlates with real life?