Events

Italy dominates final day of UWCT Final as Kopše’s crash steals spotlight

· By Matt · 0 comments

Pietermaritzburg – The Italian flag flew enthusiastically in the wind at Alexandra Park after the 112km road race that brought down the curtain on the UCI World Cycling Tour Final, with two of the three world titles on offer on the final day going to Italian riders.

D’Andrea Allesandro won a thrilling three way dice to the line to snatch the coveted UCI rainbow jersey away from local riders JC Jooste and Jaco Ferreira in the 30-34 year class, while his compatriot Gabriele Clementoni capped a tactically astute race with an imposing victory in the men’s 40-44 class.

“Of course it is a great honour to have won,” said Allesandro. “Cycling is a hobby for me now. I used to be a pro but now I have a full time job. But my whole season has been focussed on this and winning was my main goal.”

2012RR2Allesandro.jpg

D’Andrea Alessandro of Italy celebrates his victory in the 30-34 year age group in the 112km road race on the final day of the UCI World Cycling Tour Final in Pietermaritzburg.

Anthony Grote/Gameplan Media

2012RR2Italian.jpg

Viva Italia. Gabriele Clementoni claims one of two title for Italy in the 112km road race on the final day of the UCI World Cycling Tour Final in Pietermaritzburg.

“We are a little disappointed, ” said JC Jooste. “At 35km to go myself and Jaco Ferreira had a gap of two minutes and when one of the 16-29 youngsters bridged the gap the Italian had a lot of help closing in on us.”

“To get two South Africans on the podium is great,” added Ferreira. “We obviously would have liked top spot but we are still very happy.”

However the day will be remembered for the dramatic crash fifty metres from the line by Slovenian rider Igor Kopše who had dominated the 35-39 year class to the extent that was able to enter the home straight alone, and he started to celebrate as he entered the straight.