Northern Farm, home of the Diepsloot MTB Academy last hosted a Junior Eliminator event in 2014 and were eager to show the riders the developments on the what was a few little obstacles originally built for the series two years ago that has now flourished into a full skills course. The track was laid out in an open space allowing 100% visibility of the 800m course. Taping a wide course with some single track in-between meant racing was intense with positions jostling amongst riders trying to get into the single track first to try and control the pace.


Racing was fierce amongst all age groups, it is incredible to see the speed and power generated by the youth and there were even a few snapped chains off the start as riders kicked to get out in front. The large congregation of spectators gave out deafening screams of support as the riders attacked the course at full speed. This short course heat racing format has riders working on strategies during practice as to when is the best time to exert maximum effort and looking at alternative lines often leaving the spectators(parents) speechless as to how the riders managed to fit themselves and their bikes through the tightest of spaces in order to have the inside line and make a pass.

With the drive to succeed leads riders to pushing themselves and the competition beyond their comfort zones with a number of riders disappearing in a cloud of dust as they slide out around a corner or bumped bars leading them to bite the dirt. In true competitive spirit and probably because they have youth on their side the riders literally bounced back up and onto their bikes to continue the fight for the top two positions to advance to the next round.


As with any event, it would not be possible without the fantastic support of our sponsors: Trek Bikes, Fox Racing, Skullcandy, OGIO and GoPro. Podium finishers received some incredible prizes as well as prize money. There was also a large number of raffle prizes to ensure that every rider that entered stood a chance of winning!


Results: Junior Eliminator Series - Northern Farm


Under 12
1. Lauriesian Brett (Constantia Kloof Primary)
2. Khunedi Mashishi (Diepsloot MTB Academy)
3. Aqhama Lungapi (Diepsloot MTB Academy)

Under 14
1. Jade Slabbert (Midstream College)
2. Chene Niemand (Waterkloof)
3. Kelly Randle (Midstream College)

Under 16
1. Andrea De Waal (High School for Girls Potchefstroom)
2. Kaylin Prinsloo (Hartbeespoort High School)
3. Prayer Mbulawa (Diepsloot MTB Academy)

Under 19
1. Chantelle Van Staden (Rustenberg)
2. Kelsi Chomse (Fourways High School)


Under 10
1. Liam Hoffmann (Laerskool Monumentpark)

Under 12
1. Marcel Moore (Brainline Academy)
2. Marco Strydom (Curro Hazeldean)
3. Tiaan Dorfling (Laerskool Hennopspark)

Under 14
1. Ben Du Plessis (Menlo Park)
2. Ethan Cowan (Sutherland High School)
3. Tyler Lange (De La Salle Holy Cross College)

Under 16
1. Bendeon Myburgh (Waterkloof High School)
2. Ryan Conradie (Potch Gymnasium)
3. Keagan Bontekoning (Maragon Private School)

Under 19
1. Wessel Botha (Menlo Park)
2. Deon Du Toit (Montana High School)
3. Chad Fikkert (Midstream College)