Eliminator is a short course heat racing format of mountain biking whereby riders race four at a time around a course roughly 800m in length - just one lap, a flat out sprint interval. The top two finishers advance to the next round whilst the bottom two are eliminated from the competition. Every rider gets to race a minimum of two times per event(no elimination in round one). The format allows for the “newer” rider to build their confidence as they get to learn the track and practice the obstacles a number of times so that when racing starts there are no “surprises” around any corners and they can be competitive within the heats.

Both the tracks in KwaZulu Natal were a little similar offering wide open spaces for overtaking, a mixture of grass fields and tar as well as a big sprint finish. However, each school track offered its own character: Northwood Boys High School had two long flights of stairs for the riders to race down, daunting on arrival but after practice and once racing started, the stairs seemed to be merely a bump in the road. Thomas More College had riders winding their way through tight turn in the hallways(the ones you were always told at school not to run in) and past the classrooms.


Once again, the addition of the under 10 and under 12 age divisions to join the under 14, 16 and 19 riders added great flare to the event as tactics did not come into play - it was all about getting the holeshot and staying out in front! It was great to see growth in the female divisions and even having the under 16 girls racing the boys and beating them!

Although mountain biking is largely an individual sport and we crown individual champions in each age group, we tried to create the team/school spirit and rivalry similar to that of rugby or netball with the Team trophy. Riders and parents/spectators would cheer riders on as they charged around the course cheering for each heat that was advanced as they knew it was adding points to their team. In the past two years, Northwood Boys High School has been a dominant force, but this year saw a tight battle between Maritzburg College and Thomas More College who streaked ahead of the other 24 schools including the Go Cycle Academy. In the end it was Thomas More College who used home ground advantage to get ahead and walk away victorious and raise the trophy as 2016 Junior Eliminator Series Champions.


As with all events, they are not possible without the support of sponsors, a huge thank you to Trek Bikes, Fox Racing, Skullcandy, OGIO, GoPro and Frog Bikes who showered the participants with incredible prizes, both for the podium finishers as well as a number of raffle draws at each event for all participants to stand a chance to win.

The final leg of the series is taking place in Gauteng at the end of July with the first event on Sunday 24 July at PWC Bike Park followed by Sunday 31 July at Northern Farm. Entries are open and can be done online:

Junior Eliminator Series 2016 - KwaZulu Natal Overall Results

Girls under 12

  1. Riley Smith Curro - Hillcrest
  2. Emma Clipstone - Thomas More College
  3. Anvia Bredenkamp - Thomas More College

Girls under 14

  1. Beani Thies - Wartburg Kirchdorf School
  2. Chloe Bateson - Curro Mount Ridgemore
  3. Kiara Muldoon - Northlands Girls

Girls under 16

  1. Tiffany Keep - Thomas More College
  2. Courtney Smith - Thomas More College
  3. Bridgette Theunissen - Thomas More College

Girls under 19

  1. Christie Hearder - Pietermaritzburg Girls High

Boys under 10

  1. Logan Stander - Curro Hillcrest
  2. Luca Zietsman - Curro Mount Ridgemore
  3. Luke Miller - Winston Park Primary

Boys under 12

  1. Jordan Bold - Clonard
  2. Jayden Moolman - St Benedict Primary School
  3. Keagan Brand - Thomas More College

Boys under 14

  1. Travis Stedman - Thomas More College
  2. Mitchel Potgieter - Thomas More College
  3. Dean Gregson - Thomas More College

Boys under 16

  1. Matthew Green - Maritzburg College
  2. Johandre Marx - Maritzburg college
  3. Sean Westerdyk - Maritzburg College

Boys under 19

  1. Sharjah Jonsson - Maritzburg College
  2. Dean Wortmann - Wartburg Kirchdorf School
  3. Mitchell Meugens - Maritzburg College

Overall Schools

  1. Thomas More College 15346
  2. Maritzburg College 11788
  3. Northwood Boys High School 5805
  4. Curro HCA/Hillcrest 4233
  5. Wartburg School 3800
  6. Curro Mount Richmore 3350
  7. Go Cycle Academy 3287
  8. Winston Park Primary 3110
  9. Hillcrest High School 2445
  10. Westville Snr Primary 2344
  11. Northlands Girls High 2150
  12. Clonard 2000
  13. Merchriston Prep 1610
  14. St Benedict Primary School 1600
  15. Hillcrest Primary 1217
  16. St Marys 1000
  17. Pietermaritzburg Girls High 1000
  18. Kearsney College 929
  19. Clifton College 794
  20. Danville Girls High 750
  21. Westville Jnr Primary 700
  22. Crawford North Coast 583
  23. Waterfall College 477
  24. Ashton College Ballito 467