Twenty-five years ago saw the first Tour of Rwanda begin, and only five years ago was it recognised by the UCI and registered as part of the UCI Africa Tour. This year, the Rwandan Cycling Federation (FERWACY) is organising the sixth edition, made up of seven stages and one prologue and covering a total distance of 819km. The route consists of three flat stages, four mountain stages and one Individual Time Trial stage.

The young team, which will be led by Peter Lee Jefferies, forms part of the Cycling SA Road Commission’s plan to compete aggressively in Africa in 2015. Road Commission Director, Bosseau Boshoff, is confident that Jefferies has the necessary experience to lead the team, and that the selected team will bring success for South Africa in Rwanda.

National Road Team Tour of Rwanda:

Peter Lee Jefferies

Thulasizwe Mxenge

Dirk Nel

Rohan de Plooy

Morne van Rensburg

Alistair Peterson

Manager – Wimpie Gouws

Congratulations on your selection and good luck.