Finding an appropriate date for the event has been a challenge as the African Continental Championships is taking place in Rwanda from 13-20 February 2018.

This also required the schedule for the championships to differ from the norm of the Elite men racing on the Sunday. The most significant change to the schedule is the Elite, U/23 and junior men and ladies racing on Saturday 10 February 2018, giving them sufficient time to travel to Rwanda for the African Continental Championships.

The 2018 SA National Road and Time Trial Championships will take place in Oudtshoorn from 6-11 February. Photo credit:

Distances and Routes

The distances and routes have been finalised for the event. The Start/Finish and registration venue for the event will be in Voortrekker Road at the SWD Cricket grounds in Oudtshoorn. From 6-7 February, the championships will see riders compete in the Time Trial on a 14.6 km circuit out of town in the direction of Volmoed onto the Mossel Bay road towards the Safari Ostrich farm, and from there back to town via Langenhoven Road, and back to the start in Voortrekker Road.

The road races will start from 8-11 February 2018. All routes will start and finish in Voortrekker Road with different distances for the age categories. All the routes will start in the direction of Volmoed (depending on the distance), with a shorter loop entering the town in Rademeyer Street, onto Langenhoven Road with the finish-line in Voortrekker Road.

The following routes with distances will be utilised: 14.6km (88m accent), 52.8km (473m accent), 61.0km (305m accent), 86.8km (822m accent), 99.8km (908m accent), 120.8km (1,178m accent) and 154.8km (1,529m accent).

The prestigious event crowns the National Champion in their chosen discipline, for their respective gender and age groups. All participants except the U/11 to U/17 categories must have a Full Racing License issued by Cycling SA.

For membership renewals/applications, click here:

Click here to enter:

All age categories of riders can participate in the 2018 SA National Road Championships and includes the Para-cycling categories. In each category riders have a chance to earn the title of SA National Champion.

For race information and further details, click here.