The performances of riders who participated in the time trial event at the 2013 National Championships held in Oudtshoorn on 19 April 2013, compared against the published team selection criteria, provided the basis for the team selection. A performance of 90% (and better) relative to the criteria applicable to riders competing in various classes was set by the Team Selection Sub-committee as the cut-off in terms of eligibility for team selection.

A key objective for 2013 is to grow the competitiveness of South Africa’s top-tier Para-cyclists whilst expanding the pool of internationally competitive riders by exposing promising 2nd tier riders to the experience of international competition. This opportunity is enhanced by the fact that UCI nation points are not accrued during 2013, which allows for a degree of ‘experimental development’ through international competitions.

There will be opportunity for other riders to compete for positions in the team that will be entered for the World Championships in Canada, scheduled for August/September 2013.

The team, comprising the riders and support staff listed below, includes current H4 road race World Champion Ernst van Dyk and his Paralympian teammates Stuart McCreadie, Roxy Burns and Gerhard Viljoen. The latter four riders are privileged to have been recently accepted onto SASCOC’s OPEX/NAP programme.

Riders selected to the South African Para-cycling team that will participate in the UCI World Cup events in Italy and Spain, June 2013

Click here to view the Summary of the Para-cycling commission’s strategy implementation plan