Fresh from her impressive performance at the UCI Road World Championships in the Netherlands, where she finished in 12th place, Olympian Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio will look to continue her good form in the West African country. Although favouring the mountainous stages, Moolman-Pasio will be tackling the flat route with a strong team consisting of Lise Olivier, An-Li Pretorius and Leandri Du Toit.

The competitive men’s team features riders that have had a great season on the international circuit. Amongst them, Reinardt Janse Van Rensburg, who currently holds 3rd place in the UCI Africa Tour rankings. As a sprinter, Reinardt and fellow sprinter Jay Thomson will work hard to bring South Africa home first should the race end in a bunch sprint.

This will be the first time that the Junior Men category will be represented at an African Continental Championship event, making this the biggest team that South Africa has sent to the Championships. Cycling South Africa is confident that the team will deliver the goods and make South Africa the number one cycling team on the continent.

Subsequent to the team announcement, Nico Thiart will not be able to attend the African Continental Championships and Ryan Felgate will replace him.

The team as follows:

Elite Men:

Reinhardt Janse van Rensburg

Jay Thomson

Jacques Janse van Rensburg

Jaco Venter


Tyler Day

Herman Fouche

U23 Men:

Avery Arendse

Clint Hendriks

Songezo Jim

Willie Smit


HB Kruger

Calvin Beneke

Junior Men:

Jevandre Pauls

Ryan Gibbons

Nicol Germishuizen

Nico Thiart


Ryan Felgate

Oliver Stapleton Cotton

Elite Women:

Ashleigh Moolman-Pasio

Lise Olivier

An-Li Pretorius

Leandri du Toit


George Cornelissen – Manager

Robert Thomas – Assistant Manager

Christo Roos – Mechanic

Congratulations on your selection and good luck.