Events

Team Ascendis Health aiming for Absa Cape Epic success

· By Press Office · 0 comments

In 2004 Sweden’s Jennie Stenerhag worked as a volunteer on the first ever Cape Epic. Eleven years later she was standing on the stage race’s podium, having finished second overall in the Women’s category with South African Robyn de Groot.

ccs-62657-0-94956900-1454006341.jpg

“It is amazing to see how it has grown since the first edition in 2004. When I worked as a volunteer at that first one I did not even dream that I would stand on the podium of this race one day, so it makes it special for me.”

This year she will be back with De Groot (Team Ascendis Health) on the starting line on March 13.

In recent years De Groot has dominated South African women’s marathon mountain biking while Stenerhag has done much the same in Sweden.

The latter lives and spends much of her time in South Africa, where the two of them have become good friends and regular stage race partners.

ccs-62657-0-21398600-1454006349.jpg

Stenerhag believes that their friendship is key to their successes: “Robyn and I make a very good team since we get along very well both on and off the bike and we are good friends, which helps when racing. We have done a lot of stage races together and know each other very well. We do have different strengths and complement each other in a good way.”

De Groot concurred: “Jen and I have been fortunate enough to race a number of stage races together, and develop a really good friendship and understanding over the years. She got me through the Epic last year when I hit some very low times on a bicycle, and wouldn’t leave my side.”

On a bike “Jen’s strengths would be that she never gives up, always gives 100% to the partnership and is highly motivated to perform … she is also able to keep everything in perspective and smile at the end of every day.”