The following cyclists have qualified in the Men's Team Sprint discipline:

Bernard Esterhuizen

Jeanne Nell

Jean Smith

The following cyclists have qualified in the Men's Team Endurance discipline:

Nolan Hoffman

Evan Carstens

As its pathway forward, and part of Cycling SA’s 2016/2020 vision, Cycling SA Track Cycling Commission's focus is on the Team Pursuit and Team Sprint events rather than on individual events. This will allow for the inclusion of a team of cyclists whom will then be nominated to ride in the individual events.

Further to this, the track cycling commission has created a ‘feeder’ squad with the vision of improving the standard of our young talented track cyclists and deepening the talent pool when it comes to team selection, which from herewith shall be referred to as the “Shadow Squad”.

In line with this vision, the feeder squad has been selected as follows:

Men's Track Sprint:

Michael Thomson

Hendrik Schalekamp

Kyle Borchjes

Shane Pheiffer

Matthew de Freitas

Men's Track Endurance:

Craig Symons

Dirkie Nel

James Perry

Jean Spies

Jevandre Pauls

Kellan Gouveris

Morne van Niekerk

Oupa Maluleke

Reniell Matthysen

Shameeg Salie

Shaun Ward

Theuns van der Bank

Women's Track Endurance:

Maroejska Matthee

Any athlete, male or female, has the right to challenge for inclusion into the feeder squad via the underlying selection criteria.

As part of Cycling SA’s Track Cycling strategy, and its focus on the Team events, the underlying entrance and exit strategy is now in place for Track Cycling’s “Elite Shadow Squad” in both the elite men and elite women categories.

The underlying times will be regarded as the benchmark as at the 1st December 2013:

  • Track Endurance Elite Men - Individual Pursuit - 4 000 Meter in 4.50 Min or less
  • Track Endurance Elite Women - Individual Pursuit - 3 000 Meters in 4 Min or Less
  • Track Sprint Elite Men - 200 Meters in 11.3 sec or less - 1 Km in 1.07 or less
  • Track Sprint Elite Women - 200 Meters in 12.4 sec or less - 500 Meters in 38 sec or less

Please note that the selectors reserve the right to omit any athlete from the squad whom do not meet the above criteria on or before 1st December 2013.

In the interim, athletes will have three opportunities to gain entry into the feeder team during the upcoming Grand Prix Series and Inter Provincials. These events will be hosted at Port Elizabeth from 13-15 September, Western Cape from 18-20 October, and Gauteng from 22-24 November 2013.

For any further information, please contact Cycling SA Track Cycling Director Roger Bouton on 082 801 0044 or