A riverside single track treated riders to some breathtaking views out of the valley carrying them to the first water point. From there the road opened up and soon began the countless undulations en route to Malealea.

Once again it was the Contego duo of Louis-Bresler Knipe and Gert Heyns claiming top honours in a time of 03:32:55. Now a solo participant, Craft-Rocky Mountain’s Guido Thaler followed on their heels just a second behind. Shaun Mackenzie and Simon Zahnd (My Gas) were the second team across the line in 03:44:44 with Alliance 2’s Jonasse Machere and Thuso Makatise third in 03:50:23.