Promotions

New kids on the block: The Westpeak Launch

· By BikeHubCoreAdmin · 64 comments

Westpeak began with an idea mid way through 2015. As two students who couldn’t find any clothes that looked as good on the bike as they did off, we decided to make our own. You can find out more about us and our story here.

ccs-62657-0-93803900-1464606882.jpg

A few months down the line and this is where we are, finally unveiling our first products!

A lot of time, thought and research has gone into the design of our clothes and ensuring they’re your perfect outdoor companion. For now, both the lines will be functionally identical with the only difference being the colouring and branding.

Ride Short stand out features:

• The material used is light and has some flex, with special attention given to durability.
  • The cut differs from any other baggies in the South African market. Emphasis was put on a sleek look and feel that eliminated any excess material flapping in the wind or catching your saddle. They’re also specifically designed to not catch the back of your knee when pedaling.
  • We understand not everyone’s bodies are the same, or you occasionally eat a bit much at Sunday lunch, so all the shorts come with waist adjusters to ensure you get the perfect fit, every time.
  • We’ve included two zipped pockets on either side, specifically positioned to avoid anything inside them bouncing while going through the pedal stroke.

ccs-62657-0-56314200-1464606882.jpg

And our Ride Tee:

• There was emphasis was put on the look and feel of the ride tee. It is different to anything in the local market.
  • The material used is light and breathable, with superior moisture wicking qualities to keep you cool right through those long weekend adventures.
  • Special thought went into the rear pocket design. It has been designed to fit most big smart phones (with the exception of the Huawei P7 – it’s huge), with space for more. We’ve got a snap–shut system that is easy to open and close on the fly and stops the contents from jumping out when you’re bombing down the trails. We’ve included some padding against the skin to stop any of your ride essentials scratching you.

So, where to from here?

We’re headed to production. With luck, we should be fulfilling our first orders within 7 weeks. We’re offering a pre-production discount on all our products if you order them via our crowd-funding page. This will ensure you not only get a discount, but you’ll also be the first to get our kit. If we don’t reach our goal, you get every cent back, no exceptions. The money from this will go into advertising, R&D, as well as production of our trail running stuff.

ccs-62657-0-09771400-1464606882.jpg

Need more info? Post below and we’ll get back to you. Alternatively, you can get hold of us through our website, Facebook page, or email.

You also qualify for 10% off your first purchase by signing up now. Offer only valid until Friday 3 June.

We hope you’re as excited as we are.

Cheers for now,
The Westpeak Team

Comments

Long Wheel Base

May 31, 2016, 5:16 AM

So how long till we can actually see stuff on your site?

EISH!

YOU’VE JUMPED THE GUN!

WE ARE STILL IN THE PROCESS OF FUNDING OUR FIRST PRODUCTION RUN SO WE DON’T HAVE ANYTHING TO SELL YOU, YET! WE LOVE THE ENTHUSIASM THOUGH.

EDIT: From the pics in the main article the kit looks lekker.

Westpeak

May 31, 2016, 6:39 AM

So how long till we can actually see stuff on your site?

EISH!

YOU’VE JUMPED THE GUN!

WE ARE STILL IN THE PROCESS OF FUNDING OUR FIRST PRODUCTION RUN SO WE DON’T HAVE ANYTHING TO SELL YOU, YET! WE LOVE THE ENTHUSIASM THOUGH.

EDIT: From the pics in the main article the kit looks lekker.

Hi There,

Thanks for the interest. 

We will be uploading mock ups of all the designs to the site this evening. Please keep posted for those uploads.

We are aiming to have the products ready for you guys by the end of July. We are just in the process of refining our designs to make sure the kit fits and feels perfect.

Fox3

May 31, 2016, 6:52 AM

Great stuff!

The products look great. Always looking for awesome baggies and the shirts really look awesome

Westpeak

May 31, 2016, 8:32 AM

Great stuff!

The products look great. Always looking for awesome baggies and the shirts really look awesome

Thanks Fox3, we're really excited about our kit!

T-Bob

May 31, 2016, 11:24 AM

Baggies look good. Well done fellas, hope you make a success of it and make some different riding gear! 

Looks like yove down you research but try to get some of the checkered shorts from Intrepid Apparel in the UK, really good material and attention to detail is awesome. 

partydave

May 31, 2016, 11:35 AM

Any indication of price point?

Are we talking Cape Storm or Assos here?

Dynamix

May 31, 2016, 12:32 PM

My humble opinion - lose the kudu logo...

Westpeak

May 31, 2016, 12:50 PM

Baggies look good. Well done fellas, hope you make a success of it and make some different riding gear! 

Looks like yove down you research but try to get some of the checkered shorts from Intrepid Apparel in the UK, really good material and attention to detail is awesome. 

Thanks for the feedback hellocolour, will definitely have a look at Intrepid apparel for some inspiration.

We are obviously designing and producing our own kit so wont be brining in other brands.

Westpeak

May 31, 2016, 12:54 PM

Any indication of price point?

Are we talking Cape Storm or Assos here?

At the moment we don't have final pricing from our manufacturers, making it hard to pin down a price of our own. As I said we are in the process of refining the kit.

We do believe we will be extremely competitively priced.

T-Bob

May 31, 2016, 12:54 PM

Thanks for the feedback hellocolour, will definitely have a look at Intrepid apparel for some inspiration.

We are obviously designing and producing our own kit so wont be brining in other brands.

100%, I was meaning the actual material as it's tough, flexible and 'natural' feeling with awesome 4 way stretch. Stick you your vision, it's a goodie. 

Long Wheel Base

May 31, 2016, 12:55 PM

Hi There,

Thanks for the interest. 

We will be uploading mock ups of all the designs to the site this evening. Please keep posted for those uploads.

We are aiming to have the products ready for you guys by the end of July. We are just in the process of refining our designs to make sure the kit fits and feels perfect.

Cool will do. I'm looking forward to this stuff. It looks proper.

Long Wheel Base

May 31, 2016, 12:58 PM

My humble opinion - lose the kudu logo...

I dig it actually. Looks classy, Kinda like polo.

But maybe Westpeak can let us in on why they chose that as a logo.

Westpeak

May 31, 2016, 1:06 PM

My humble opinion - lose the kudu logo..

Thanks for the input, without wanting to sound too defensive, we are very happy with the logo and branding, the Kudu suits what our brand stands for (outdoor, humble, good-looking, hardy and most importantly proudly South Africa). 

ashortchase

May 31, 2016, 1:55 PM

Thanks for the input, without wanting to sound too defensive, we are very happy with the logo and branding, the Kudu suits what our brand stands for (outdoor, humble, good-looking, hardy and most importantly proudly South Africa). 

How's the embroidery detail in that Kudu? I would simplify it if you can. It's a great icon but it needs crafting and simplifying to match your wordmark. 

Westpeak

May 31, 2016, 2:19 PM

How's the embroidery detail in that Kudu? I would simplify it if you can. It's a great icon but it needs crafting and simplifying to match your wordmark. 

Shot for the suggestion, noted and will have a look at the simplicity of the logo.

Westpeak

May 31, 2016, 2:25 PM

I dig it actually. Looks classy, Kinda like polo.

But maybe Westpeak can let us in on why they chose that as a logo.

The thinking behind the Kudu is what it stands for (in our eyes) as I mentioned in reply to Dynamix: "outdoor, humble, good-looking, hardy and most importantly proudly South Africa".

We want the brand to appeal to all adventurous, nature loving South African's and believe the Kudu does that.

V12man

May 31, 2016, 2:45 PM

The thinking behind the Kudu is what it stands for (in our eyes) as I mentioned in reply to Dynamix: "outdoor, humble, good-looking, hardy and most importantly proudly South Africa".

We want the brand to appeal to all adventurous, nature loving South African's and believe the Kudu does that.

I don't personally object to the kudu at all - BUT - might I suggest you do a proper trademark search on the use of it as a logo before you finalise on it - this could save you some pain later on - especially if you intend to sell internationally.

Our company logo's are trademarked - and it has saved us a lot of hassle over the years - find someone who knows what they are doing with this - it's a specialist field - I can put you in contact with the oversized firm who did ours, but that's up to you.

bertusras

May 31, 2016, 3:12 PM

Seems you okes are targeting the golfers moving over to cycling with that look - you're gonna make a killing!

ashortchase

May 31, 2016, 3:39 PM

I don't personally object to the kudu at all - BUT - might I suggest you do a proper trademark search on the use of it as a logo before you finalise on it - this could save you some pain later on - especially if you intend to sell internationally.

Our company logo's are trademarked - and it has saved us a lot of hassle over the years - find someone who knows what they are doing with this - it's a specialist field - I can put you in contact with the oversized firm who did ours, but that's up to you.

Why do you need to trademark a logo? Surely if it's been designed from scratch by a designer there is no need to trademark it? You can't own the Kudu as an icon? I'm asking out of curiosity as I am a designer and never needed to go through this process...yet.

AlanD

May 31, 2016, 3:48 PM

Seems you okes are targeting the golfers moving over to cycling with that look - you're gonna make a killing!

Then you can go straight from your ride to a golf game without even changing :-)

shaper

May 31, 2016, 3:55 PM

Bad marketing to launch before the website is ready, before product is ready and before you have finalised retail prices.... does not give a good impression!

Almost liked a half baked business plan testing the water!

I dont want to seem overly pessimistic.... but waiting until you have all your ducks in a row would have been prevalent.

Good luck with your venture

Westpeak

May 31, 2016, 4:19 PM

We will do our research, the logo was designed by an independent contractor that we paid so I don't think we will have any issues there.

Thanks for the input

Westpeak

May 31, 2016, 4:21 PM

Haha, well I would say most golfers are a well dressed lot so we will take that as a compliment.

Westpeak

May 31, 2016, 4:35 PM

Bad marketing to launch before the website is ready, before product is ready and before you have finalised retail prices.... does not give a good impression!

Almost liked a half baked business plan testing the water!

I dont want to seem overly pessimistic.... but waiting until you have all your ducks in a row would have been prevalent.

Good luck with your venture

Thanks for the input! We did consider it before we decided to launch, there were however a few factors that made us decide to go ahead with things. 

Being two students with no credit history etc, finding funding is a bit of a problem, and the only way we can get anything through our crowdfunding is to have something to show - bit of a catch 22. 

We also don't feel it necessary to have retail prices ready if we can't sell anything yet, but the prices on our crowdfunding campaign will give you a good indicator. 

Please let us know what isn't working properly on the website, we worked hard to make sure everything was running smoothly before today!

Add a comment

You must log in to comment