Tech

Bikes of the Epic: Max Menzies’ Contraband Rogue

· By BikeHubCoreAdmin · 42 comments

Like many single speeders, Max Menzies is a unique character. That’s a kind way of saying that he is a slightly nuts. Think I’m being a little mean? Look no further than his choice of bike for his third Absa Cape Epic.

Contraband Rogue Max Menzies-1.jpg

Max’s frame is the South African designed Contraband Rogue. A bike well-suited for rigid single speeding as the Reynolds 853 steel tubing provides some forgiveness while the eccentric bottom bracket helps maintain the correct chain tension, without a tensioner or derailleur. The eccentric bottom bracket allows the crankset to move in a circle, this can either tension or loosen the chain as the chainring moves further or nearer to the rear axle.

Max sought the services of BMC and David Mercer to modify the frame by adding internal routing along the top tube and mounts for bottle cages (something the first batch of Rogues didn’t have).

Keeping to the theme of a reliable steel single speed, Max has fitted a rigid Ritchey carbon fork. His wheels star Hope Pro 2 Evo hubs in the centre with Stan’s NoTubes Crest and Flow rims in the front and rear respectively. A Brooks saddle sits upon a Thomson layback seatpost.

The bike is named Scélérat which is French for rogue.

Specification list:

• FrameContraband Rogue
  • ForkRitchey carbon
  • RimsStan’s NoTube Crest (Front); Stan’s NoTube Flow (Rear)
  • HubsHope Pro 2 Evo
  • TyresVittoria Saguaro 2.2
  • HandlebarsNiner alloy
  • StemKCNC Fly Ride
  • HeadsetKCNC
  • BrakesShimano Deore
  • CranksetShimano SLX
  • ChainringRaceFace 34T
  • Sprocket20T
  • ChainKMC
  • PedalsShimano M540
  • SeatpostThomson Elite layback
  • SaddleBrooks

Contraband Rogue Max Menzies-11.jpg

Contraband Rogue Max Menzies-2.jpg
Contraband Rogue Max Menzies-3.jpg

Contraband Rogue Max Menzies-6.jpg
Contraband Rogue Max Menzies-5.jpg

Contraband Rogue Max Menzies-4.jpg
Contraband Rogue Max Menzies-10.jpg

Contraband Rogue Max Menzies-9.jpg

Related posts

Comments

Guest notmyname

Mar 18, 2016, 9:31 AM

Rad. Muchos respect!

lechatnoir

Mar 18, 2016, 9:45 AM

I think we just found the real winner right here... kudos to this man!

Lexx

Mar 18, 2016, 9:48 AM

He must have legs of steel..

Mar 18, 2016, 9:49 AM

No frills , BUT seriously SA badass ride right there !!!

Radness 

Beesrib

Mar 18, 2016, 9:51 AM

Bliksem Lexx, above those legs of steel are some big ass balls. Much respect.

Captain Fastbastard Mayhem

Mar 18, 2016, 9:55 AM

Max is a bit of a nutter.

edgarblount

Mar 18, 2016, 9:58 AM

How do you get that bike up them hills?! Seriaas respect!

Raab

Mar 18, 2016, 10:00 AM

Now THAT is nice!

Rock Guy

Mar 18, 2016, 10:03 AM

Dividing by zero makes more sense than riding this bike on the Epic. My legs would divorce my body if I tried this.

Gandalf

Mar 18, 2016, 10:09 AM

Awww yes! Wicked sick!

Adrian Fogg

Mar 18, 2016, 10:19 AM

Huge respect for these nutters!!!

J∆kk∆ls

Mar 18, 2016, 10:19 AM

That screw driver makes me feel uneasy. Mad respect though! 

shaper

Mar 18, 2016, 10:33 AM

Yoh and a rigid too... 34x20 gearing gives him time to massage his legs on the flats... must be spinning like crazy!!

nathrix

Mar 18, 2016, 10:39 AM

Crazy! That Ritchey carbon fork is more forgiving compared to a Niner carbon fork, good choice. What is his team mate riding?

Neill Du Toit

Mar 18, 2016, 10:42 AM

He also did the epic last year riding single speed if I remember correctly. Incredible to do a stage race on that bike. Would like to see the top pro's giving that bike a try. I have 34x20 on my bike and barely survive a 15km ride at my trails!

wepat

Mar 18, 2016, 10:42 AM

Wow Insane HUGE respect never mind how tough the race is, SS Rigid no frills WoW

CogitoErgoSum

Mar 18, 2016, 10:50 AM

No way that it is humanly possible to finish the epic on an SS rigid. This guy has to be some specimen of HTFU

Rushdee

Mar 18, 2016, 10:56 AM

some background on Max and his 'Scelerat'.

http://fullsus.co.za/conquering-the-big-five-riding-old-school-on-a-crazy-bike/

Hairy

Mar 18, 2016, 10:59 AM

How can he sit on his saddle with balls so big! !

Lovely build on the bike.

Spez247

Mar 18, 2016, 11:15 AM

Oke must be completely bonkers!

What is this oke thinking?

Hairy

Mar 18, 2016, 11:22 AM

Love the way the SLX crank looks when stripped down

Hairy

Mar 18, 2016, 11:24 AM

Deore Brakes, nice that he shows you do not have to overspec your bike to do big rides

Captain Fastbastard Mayhem

Mar 18, 2016, 11:29 AM

That screw driver makes me feel uneasy. Mad respect though! 

Not a screwdriver. It's a plug-setter for the tyres. Sorta like an oversized open ended needle. 

http://www.bikerumor.com/wp-content/uploads/2011/06/genuine-innovations-tubeless-tire-repair-kit-plug2.jpg

HowardSteele

Mar 18, 2016, 11:32 AM

Go max...is the hair colour matching the colour of the frame for the ride.

Add a comment

You must log in to comment