Rugby...

'Dale

Rassie missed a golden opportunity to experiment on Saturday. Willie le Roux isn't playing well, Colbe should have started in his place. We also cannot afford a flyhalf that kicks 60-70% at best, and using Damian Willemse as a utility back is a kiss of death for his career.

Ivan van Zyl shouldn't be a third-choice reserve luggage carrier for the Boks. 

• Replies 7.9k

I missed the first half but unfortunately watched the second half.

What a terrible performance by the Boks. Definitely looked like they were thinking about their summer holiday already.

Our tactical kicking from 9 was shocking. Dan Biggar came onto the field and showed us exactly how it should be done.

Our game plan

1. Couple of phases and kick the ball away from the base. Drives me mental

2. Couple of phases and then ball carrier loses the ball or is isolated and we concede the ball.  

Not a lot of positives to take forwards imho

1999 was the first time ever Wales beat us. We have lost 5/6 since then  :thumbdown:

Yesterday was really disappointing, to put it mildly. Really seemed as though they were playing with one foot in the airplane home... sommer de mur in...

Think the forwards pretty much settled, plenty of reserves in tight five. Just not too sure about firstly Kolisi (and I'm a huge fan) - he's becoming more and more like John Smith, chosen because he's Captain, and not because he's the best in his possie, and secondly the balance of the loosies...

Backs is another matter. 9 & 10 pretty much done. Faf with Pampier will do nicely, and Van Zyl as backup will do just fine I think, and last few games Pollard and Jantjes did very well. Think Rassie must get the young Du Preez involved sooner, but he has Willemse as backup. Midfield huge problem. De Ellende is not a shadow of what he was, there is much better. I personally don't like Kriel, but he was better than usual last few games. But what then? I'm not Amm fan - he's just so predictable, Engelbrecht playing heavy conditions in France, so then what.

Right back sorted with Nkosi & Chessie (he was the shiner yesterday), but left... Dyanti is awesome on attack, but his in-drifting on defence cost us big-time yesterday, and will do so again, Willie sorted at 15, but Willemse cannot alone cover 10 and 15...

I still reckon someone needs to give Combrink a shot at 15. He has the aerial skills, defensive and attacking ability to be one of the best in the world. He reminds me a lot of Ben Smith in his playing style.

Some of the mistakes/penalties given away was on the IQ level of Bakkies Botha (I love Oom Bakkies but.....). Excruciating to watch.

take away that wellington game and it could of been shambles for rassie. 

I think rassie selections have been a lot better/braver than previous, however it really hasnt paid off for him. Not yet at least. 

Back to some individual;

-Marx, line-outs have a complete mess all year. I cant blame a jumper for you throwing in k*k. 

-Duane needs to play 8, the rest of the trio needs to be selected after hes selection. Ive said before, Kolisi isnt a specialist in anything however hes high work rate in the tight and loose all season has justified hes selection IMO.

-Faf is by far our best 9. However the ***** box kick every 5th phase must really stop. This is properly a directive from the box as papier seemed to do much of the same.

-Pollard needs to take his hand out of hes *** and start focusing. He seems to think he owns the 10jersey.

- Center combinations have also been very inconsistent. Damian has been decent IMO compared to the last 18 months. 

- Dyantyi, well hes award last night speaks for itself. Just tell him to stay on his line, going for the "habana" has cost us.

-Willie willie willie, 1 game legend and the the very next game complete trash. Too inconsistent and we really need a more steady 15. Willemse is a no.10 IMO. Like the idea of bringing combrink into the mix, not sure what game time and form he has had recently.

Anyone see that news24 stats rassie vs toetie, eish!

Stats seem to favour Toettie but I think Rassie's year made a lot of people believe again and brought some pride back. If not by results certainly by the way they played - at times and at least in the incoming tour (I think).

For me, 2018 had a few patches to get excited about but most of the time the Boks are still poor. 25% of the time they don't pitch up. Another 25% they are fokkol lus to play rugby. 25% average and the rest we can at least smile about.

Same old. Same old since Kamp Staaldraad.

I personally think Rassie has been over-hyped. 

We started off the season playing okay-ish rugby that hinted of some potential, but with one aspect lacking, defense. Things took a turn for the worse when Nienaber came on board as defense coach - ironically it was the only part of our game that improved, and since then we've struggled to score tries. 

The win against NZ was more of a curse than anything, as it only bolstered the current game plan, giving it undeserved credit to carry on with the old kick and chase and tackle your own player to death. You have to be concerned for the players well-being, especially when a guy like PSDT makes almost as much tackles as the opposition team combined.

We're not leaking too many points anymore, but along with it there is no intention for scoring points either. If Toetie's tenure at the Stormers proved anything as well is that defense is not going to win you any trophies, and I've always wondered how much of it was credit to Rassie's influence?

Edited by stefmeister

• 1 month later...

What say you, Blou Bulle fans?

The Super Rugby jersey - for away games, I think..

we normally just only include the bulls in this annual discussion

84bc3b61a32f4da3968264268011dfc3.jpg

Took me a while to figure out which super hero the stormers jersey is meant to represent..

Hang on, I missed the memo where Disney bought out SANZAR...?

Is this for real??

Is this the level that super rugby has got to

Is this for real??

Is this the level that super rugby has got to

I'm not sure if its just a one-off but there's a big double-header at Cape town in these outfits. I hear its for charity too.