Is motorcycling allowed?

Guest EdEdEd

From what I have read, the Dyna range has a bit of a following and they are claimed to be the sportier of the Harley's. Last had a bike (Triumph Tiger 955i) about 10 years ago.

The Harley is totally different but it puts a smile on my face and everyone without fail keeps commenting on how good it looks.

• Replies 9.8k

Touratech, came with the bike.....I have a love/hate relationship with it. I do not like the look, but it sure is useful. I do add straps over it when on the dirt, heard too many stories of these things falling off!

I am going to get a small soft bag for the back and a I think a small tank bag would be lekker.

I have a generic plastic topbox that I use for town and road use, have taken it offroad once and strapped it down with bungee cords but it's not preferable.

Bought an expandable soft bag recently and it works great for day trips.[emoji106]

Yesterdays lekker 517km rondry for an essential Pepper Steak Pie from the Country Pumpkin in Barrydale.

As the Missus makes pies in our patisserie in Hoekwil, it was deemed a business excursion to sample the very distant competition..............

N2 to Heidleburg and then inland to Tradouw Pass, Barrydale, Route 62 and back through the Kamanasie and Paardepoort

Was a fine ride.attachicon.gif204B5716-99AA-4E78-95D0-45A67BDE06C9.jpegattachicon.gif77C890B1-80C8-42AF-9606-8471E9392806.jpegattachicon.gifF7A06359-DB2B-462A-A9DC-B9CD39C96949.jpegattachicon.gif9042F492-7C83-4995-99E3-A337FD5B7FE8.jpeg

That's a lekker big ride. Fortunately that bike is a propper "kilometer eter".[emoji106]

Did a lekker 260km daytrip on Sunday with a colleague who recently purchased a brand new BMW F850GS.

Took him on some smooth dirt roads around McGregor, Greyton and Villiersdorp to get some easy kilometers in as he is new do adventure riding.

As per usual my kettle went with and there was a coffee stop with rusks early on and later we stopped to braai a worsie for boerewors rolls. [emoji108] 2e6ac75d0e25d0090f0fae734fe8a921.jpg78f4d69e6ab291f8176406f4f70d7a9b.jpg9cfdd4ebbcc61e5651fd9b97008e80a5.jpg85518ca75d81700e0984ccb7ed627f62.jpg

Did a lekker 260km daytrip on Sunday with a colleague who recently purchased a brand new BMW F850GS.

Took him on some smooth dirt roads around McGregor, Greyton and Villiersdorp to get some easy kilometers in as he is new do adventure riding.

As per usual my kettle went with and there was a coffee stop with rusks early on and later we stopped to braai a worsie for boerewors rolls. [emoji108] 2e6ac75d0e25d0090f0fae734fe8a921.jpg78f4d69e6ab291f8176406f4f70d7a9b.jpg9cfdd4ebbcc61e5651fd9b97008e80a5.jpg85518ca75d81700e0984ccb7ed627f62.jpg

What kettle are you using Ben?

I have a generic plastic topbox that I use for town and road use, have taken it offroad once and strapped it down with bungee cords but it's not preferable.

Bought an expandable soft bag recently and it works great for day trips.[emoji106]

Here's your solution. I use one for things like shopping. Put the bag either on the rack or back seat and then cover with this. Great and cheap solution.

https://trac-mac.com/cargo-nets/11676-cargo-net-plastic-hooks.html

Last night I went to the Bracknell bike night. It’s at a cafe called the Pinewood cafe &bar In Bracknell. Got there early with my mate who has a beau til R1 from 1998. One of the things I appreciate here is the work some people do. Engineering works of art that even Da Vinci would appreciate. Modern day mechanical mona Lisa’s. ( apologies for fotos not all being straight) spent a couple of hours in the evening sun.lots of trikes to. Some really well done all with Beetle air cooled motors.

post-58227-0-41636300-1595404785_thumb.jpeg

post-58227-0-39923500-1595404802_thumb.jpeg

post-58227-0-67625300-1595404818_thumb.jpeg

post-58227-0-89499500-1595404834_thumb.jpeg

post-58227-0-64909800-1595404849_thumb.jpeg

post-58227-0-91285200-1595404869_thumb.jpeg

post-58227-0-36536600-1595404884_thumb.jpeg

post-58227-0-97532900-1595404897_thumb.jpeg

post-58227-0-35105900-1595404925_thumb.jpeg

No price that I've seen, but nowadays all the nice bikes start at well over R150K [emoji3061][emoji3064]

I'll take a flyer seeing as I used to be involved in the pricing of new Yamaha arrivals back in the day.  Unfortunately, these days (from what I hear from my limited contacts) is that Bidvest is more about profit than sales numbers (as opposed to my day when McCarthy still wanted AMID numbers) so don't expect a bargain price.  Joffe believed Yamaha was on par with "exotic" brands like Ducati, BMW and KTM and didn't care about being competitive to the other Japanese brands so expect this bike to be close to what the equivalents are.  He'll feel that everyone has been waiting so long, they will pay for the privilege of owning one.

If I was to take a flyer, my guess is that it will be R169 950.

There - my hat is in the ring.....

I'll take a flyer seeing as I used to be involved in the pricing of new Yamaha arrivals back in the day.  Unfortunately, these days (from what I hear from my limited contacts) is that Bidvest is more about profit than sales numbers (as opposed to my day when McCarthy still wanted AMID numbers) so don't expect a bargain price.  Joffe believed Yamaha was on par with "exotic" brands like Ducati, BMW and KTM and didn't care about being competitive to the other Japanese brands so expect this bike to be close to what the equivalents are.  He'll feel that everyone has been waiting so long, they will pay for the privilege of owning one.

I would rather buy the more expensive KTM 690/790 Enduro/adventure if the Tenere is more than R150K.

It is a bit "dumbed down" in comparison to the KTM.

Edited by Steven Knoetze (sk27)

The standard T7 is 9200 pounds here with the dakar version being around 10 500. So a like for like price of around 190k for the T7. Prices are normally a lil higher here than ZA so i reckon your guess is just plum. maybe 174.999. 

The 790 here is 11k but currently on deep discount for 9800. While the KTM is a far more hardcore option given the choice i would take hte T7, its just a very desirable machine for us normal riders. 

Agreed.Cheaper than the basic Africa Twin

Now this is what I want to do!!! On the logistical side of things: What kettle? Do you build a little fire next to the road or how do you operate?