Advice needed on buying a Tandem

Hermann Volkmann

Want to buy a Mountain Bike Tandem for myself (186cm, 90kg) and my daughter (150cm, 50kg). I am a complete novice and we mainly want to cycle socially, definitely not to win races! Will predominantly cycle on gravel roads and in town. We are staying in Swakopmund, Namibia, lovely area for mountain biking, but tandems are very scarce, therefore no real opportunity to try out different ones. 

I am quite interested in the Avalanche Envi 29MTB Tandem - any comments on this specific bike?

Guest DieBees

Contact manic cycles in worcester. Speak to Francois.

My 2c:

You will need a size Large / Medium or Large / Small for you and your daughter. Btw riding with your children is an amazing thing to do together. I did it with both my boys, but on a road tandem.

A tandem takes much more strain, having to carry the weight of 2 people. Therefore, you want to buy the best that you can afford. You never want to compromise on the quality of the wheels and the front fork. Get tandem specific wheels with lots of spokes or downhill /all mountain wheels. The suspension fork should preferably be a downhill type, as sturdy as you can get. Also, the drivetrain must handle much higher forces than a single bike and the configuration of a tandem, makes it fiddly to adjust, so, you want something sturdy. A drive-train of Shimano SLX minimum will work well, but XT is better.