My Photos from The Alps at Le Tour

Wez-O

Hey Guys,

Sorry its taken so long, but here are some photos I took at the Tour de France during the Alpine stages including stage 20 and the insane Dutch Corner.

The best photo is the last one where Manual Quinziato grabbed a beer off the bloke next to me... 

post-35572-0-01135400-1438765663_thumb.jpg

post-35572-0-46109400-1438765673_thumb.jpg

post-35572-0-08778500-1438765681_thumb.jpg

post-35572-0-03889600-1438765693_thumb.jpg

post-35572-0-60205300-1438765701_thumb.jpg

post-35572-0-34555500-1438765709_thumb.jpg

post-35572-0-66403700-1438765720_thumb.jpg

post-35572-0-28218100-1438765729_thumb.jpg

post-35572-0-69768700-1438765737_thumb.jpg

post-35572-0-04524500-1438765747_thumb.jpg

post-35572-0-08570100-1438765756_thumb.jpg

I dunno how they do it.... ride amongst the crowd like that without getting the moer in

If you can't beat 'em, join 'em... Quinziato, Hanson and a Lampre rider all grabbed beers, the Dutch riders were all fist pumping and several of the groupetto riders rode through with Go-Pros and camera phones in their hand.

I dunno how they do it.... ride amongst the crowd like that without getting the moer in

Imagine that was in SA. The guys wouldn't make it through without everything being stripped off their bikes. Garmins being pulled off, bidons and sungalsses snatched, etc.

Probably also have their wheels stolen while they ride...hahaha

Seeing we are sharing pics - here are some off my phone; post race mainly and one of Sagan and Froome. Absolutely loved the boerie braai at the Qhubeka bus afterwards! If you look closely you'll spot the Castle. My nose lead me there!

And of course seeing Maincheese doing better. 

Only saw afterwards I got Derek Watts in the shot - quite funny since he was easily the tallest guy around and Meintjies one of the smallest!

Didn't get a pic of Froome but got nice ones of his machine.

And then the Qhubeka Cervelos.

Still need to get the "proper" pics off my camera some time...

post-51269-0-75384800-1438933433_thumb.jpg

post-51269-0-22423100-1438933437_thumb.jpg

post-51269-0-18484700-1438933440_thumb.png

post-51269-0-57090600-1438933443_thumb.jpg

post-51269-0-22170100-1438933448_thumb.jpg

post-51269-0-47561100-1438933451_thumb.jpg

Dunno why you took a pic of Derek Watts? ;)

It looks freakin AWESOME!!

If you got that close to the riders in Dutch corner, there must be footage of you from the camera bike, you should go check a PVR.

I was at the Dutch Corner on Alp du Huez a couple of years ago and thought it was amazing. Just the noise. See:

But then I saw this footage.

It must be mind-boggling and nerve racking for the actual riders.

If you got that close to the riders in Dutch corner, there must be footage of you from the camera bike, you should go check a PVR.

I will definitely go back and look... My yellow flouro shoes should stick out like a sore thumb.

I was at the Dutch Corner on Alp du Huez a couple of years ago and thought it was amazing. Just the noise. See:

But then I saw this footage.

It must be mind-boggling and nerve racking for the actual riders.

Like nothing I've witnessed at any sporting event anywhere in the world.

Several Poms were whining on social media about the treatment of the Sky team at Dutch corner, and although there were some boos (mainly from non-Dutch), they were treated fairly well and even had "Go Team Sky, Go Poels, Go Froome" sprayed on the road surface in several areas of the corner.

Dunno why you took a pic of Derek Watts? ;)

I didn't... the oke in front of Derek Watts is Louis Meintjies (with the pink back pack)  ;)