Road Bikes Charged for MTB Activity at Cape Point

Lucky Luke.

I have a valid Wild Card, purchased mostly so that I can ride my road bike in Cape Point reserve, which is reasonably close to my house.

On the SAN Parks and Wild Card websites, there is mention of activity charges for MTB (as most of us are aware), but *nothing about road biking*. Every reference to any kind of cycling activity to be charged for, (understandably, given trail maintenance costs and perhaps also security issues) is phrased as 'mountain biking'. 

Today I discovered that road biking is also somehow an 'activity'. Despite being in possession of a valid Wild Card, which allows me free entry into the reserve in a car, if you come on a bike, you also need to pay *R125* for the day, even if it's no more than your chosen mode of transportation, and will not be ridden on any trails.

I'm happy to pay for an activity, if that activity requires some kind of expenditure by SAN Parks - ie. trail maintenance. However, as the rider of a 7kg bicycle on a tar road, in my view I should actually pay less than a car, which actually has financial overhead in terms of road maintenance. 

In short, it's a huge rip off - feels like we are being punished for using bikes instead of cars, and the roads are in poor condition anyway, despite Cape Point being a huge money-spinner for SAN Parks which bankrolls a large proportion of their organisation.

• Replies 39

TMNP are really trying to keep visitors out of the parks. It has become a tourist destination.

I remember as a youngster, almost every weekend we were in cape point for a braai. The various places inside were packed. Today you will struggle to find people braaing there.

I have a valid Wild Card, purchased mostly so that I can ride my road bike in Cape Point reserve, which is reasonably close to my house.

On the SAN Parks and Wild Card websites, there is mention of activity charges for MTB (as most of us are aware), but *nothing about road biking*. Every reference to any kind of cycling activity to be charged for, (understandably, given trail maintenance costs and perhaps also security issues) is phrased as 'mountain biking'. 

Today I discovered that road biking is also somehow an 'activity'. Despite being in possession of a valid Wild Card, which allows me free entry into the reserve in a car, if you come on a bike, you also need to pay *R125* for the day, even if it's no more than your chosen mode of transportation, and will not be ridden on any trails.

I'm happy to pay for an activity, if that activity requires some kind of expenditure by SAN Parks - ie. trail maintenance. However, as the rider of a 7kg bicycle on a tar road, in my view I should actually pay less than a car, which actually has financial overhead in terms of road maintenance. 

In short, it's a huge rip off - feels like we are being punished for using bikes instead of cars, and the roads are in poor condition anyway, despite Cape Point being a huge money-spinner for SAN Parks which bankrolls a large proportion of their organisation.

Wait, you gotta pay to go into Cape Point?

I just smile and wave at the okes as i go round the boom. Thought they were just really friendly! 

I thought it was a chappies extension :P

Wait, you gotta pay to go into Cape Point?

I just smile and wave at the okes as i go round the boom. Thought they were just really friendly! 

I thought it was a chappies extension :P

Tried that today and they sent the rangers to find me. Nice people, *** organisation.

Yoh, there is the R125 activity you got, a ranger escort. Zero chance of being mugged

I think he was charged the same as a car would be... 

Not right. 

LOL Cap!

Just a bunch of money grabbers!!! 

never heard of this before. might be a mistake. next time just jump in the next car, and get your bike out round the bend?

Not a mistake - I phoned the boss, who tried to find the part on the website that states I have to pay - eventually gave up and told me the tar roads in Cape Point are categorised as trails. This part made me laugh, because they are in such a *** state that you could almost say she is right.

I feel MTB and Road are the same, just thin wheels... Activity card is for any 2 wheels..

This is confusing. The cost for entry WITHOUT a wildcard is R 125 per adult and R 65 per child.

Day entry for Sanparks areas for cycling is (well, WAS) R 50. It's now increased to R 60 per day.

It seems as if you were charged incorrectly, ie as if you didn't have any wildcards, and even then you weren't charged the correct fee. It should have been R60. 

Just a question: Did you give your wildcard in, and if so, do you know if you may have run out of entry passes? IIRC the Wildcard only allows for 12 entries if you go for the cheapest option (the one we normally use when we apply for an MTB access pass)

EDIT: Just seen that you DO need an activity permit, at R 460 per year, to access COGH area as well. Even if you're on your roadie..

Cycling

Can you enter the Cape of Good Hope (COGH) section of Table Mountain National Park to cycle on a Wild Card or My Green Card?
  • No you need to present a level 3 activity permit or you need to purchase the daily cycling permit.

http://www.sanparks.org/docs/tourism_tariffs/tariffs-2015-2016.pdf?time=1446469492

Edited by Myles Mayhew

This is confusing. The cost for entry WITHOUT a wildcard is R 125 per adult and R 65 per child.

Day entry for Sanparks areas for cycling is (well, WAS) R 50. 

It seems as if you were charged incorrectly, ie as if you didn't have any wildcards. 

Just a question: Did you give your wildcard in, and if so, do you know if you may have run out of entry passes? IIRC the Wildcard only allows for 12 entries if you go for the cheapest option (the one we normally use when we apply for an MTB access pass)

http://www.sanparks.org/docs/tourism_tariffs/tariffs-2015-2016.pdf?time=1446469492

It was R60

http://www.sanparks.co.za/parks/table_mountain/tourism/access-cards-permits.php

Where can I buy a day permit for cycling in the north of Table Mountain National Park?
  • Day permits are available for sale from the main Cape Town Tourism Sales Office in the centre of town at the corner of Burg and Castle street. They are open seven days a week and the permit is sold at R60 a day. Tel: 021 487 6800.

It's supposed to go up today!