Telkom 947 Cycle Challenge - #CC2017

Bonus

Mate and myself rode on BMX’s today, started out of D, any of you guys out there happen to see us? Ended on just under 4:30, far off our usual 2:40 race times, but we had an absolute blast out there!! And beers, we had lots of beers en route

That's just dumb.. and I've seen your fat ass on a bike, the only way you do a 2H40 is on motogp bike and last I checked you couldn't buy one. Also more far fetched is you trying to tell us you have a mate.

See you Saturday for dam ride.

Edited by manbearpig

• Replies 1.1k

I got the exact same time as last year according to Racetec - 2h41:40. Exact. Odd that, but with the start brought back it was ever so slightly longer so all good.

I joined the Trek Troopers sweep team and that was eye opening to say the least. By Woodmead there were folk in need of medics. Along the highway it was a trail of cramps and flats. We kept to the back just ahead of the sweep vehicles and it got worse along Witkoppen into Malibongwe up to Cerdar and into Steyn City. Picking folk up and pushing them through from being stone last to a few places up. The size of some people riding is unbelievable. What makes them think they can ride this event and finish it is beyond me. But some did and with our help they finished. I saw tears and pain in Steyn City. Push a 100kg person to the top of the Steyn City climb, turn around go back down and pick up another, repeat.each.and.every.climb.

When you are normally at the sharp end of the field to witness what we did yesterday and help people along to finish was a very humbling experience

Yesterday I learnt not to take my fitness and condition for granted.

Well done to you all helping so much...especially if you take the longest ride was 9h11  :eek:

2:33:43 for me. Just shy of my 2:30 goal. If the elastic didn't snap up Cedar road.  :eek:

I have to say I hated Kyalami. The A bunch split horribly as we had to avoid slow Vet's and junior women and hand cycles. Made for some hard work chasing the bunch down again. 

Spot on bud,

Was with the lead A bunch until we caught those other bunches.

Got caught out pretty bad, from there it was waiting to hop on the next bunch..

Was alone for quite a while too...

Note to myself: Alone on the M1 is BAD, Very BAD!

Managed to catch the DL Choc Cows group with their Star Wars Theme on Jan Smuts.

Nearly lost the group when my chain fell off on the fast descent in Randburg (Jan Smuts)

Awesome bunch guys, joined in the front and stayed till Witkoppen where I latched onto the lead B and some A bunch guys!

Was hoping for a Sub 2:50 and managed a 2:47

Lots of work to do to do a sub 2:40!

Bring on 2018!

Edited by AryM

That's just dumb.. and I've seen your fat ass on a bike, the only way you do a 2H40 is on motogp bike and last I checked you couldn't buy one. Also more far fetched is you trying to tell us you have a mate.

See you Saturday for dam ride.

Listen, just because you sat on the back of a long stretched out thing staring at Flooders arse for 2hrs, dont be grumpy and take it out on me. See you Saturday, ill come on the BMX , that way you can keep up

Raced VB and ended up with a 2h26 , next year I think im going to try a Qubeka buffalo and donate it back with just under 100km worth of testing .

Was also in VB and managed 2h28. Fell off the main bunch going up Cedar and that took its toll going through Steyn City. But overall an awesome ride!

Completed my 10th one this year. Not a great time, but with the amount of cycling I did I am happy. Well organized race, not sure if it was my imagination but it felt like the support on the road was less this year. 

Just one thing to rant about: The roads need some TLC... some serious dangerous downhills with manholes and potholes. It seems like nothing has been done since a year ago. 

Congrats to everyone participating yesterday. Thank you to the supporters for standing in the sun.

It was a hot one, felt bad for the late starters. Went back to our running club's gazebo just before the Lion Park to support. Seems like watermelon and beers were well received. I laughed so hard at one of the cyclists doing his first 94.7... He was walking past our gazebo, I asked him if I can help. He just said he can't sit on the bike anymore, he just said: "my hol is seer".  ^_^    

Lessons learned from yesterday: Like any other sport if you want to perform you need to be consistent and train hard. To ride a better time you need to stick with the bunch.

See you next year, better prepared. 

Listen, just because you sat on the back of a long stretched out thing staring at Flooders arse for 2hrs, dont be grumpy and take it out on me. See you Saturday, ill come on the BMX , that way you can keep up

Why would he be grumpy? I think he'd enjoy staring at Flooder's balloon knot for 2hrs. 

Joanna van de Winkel for queen!  To mix it with the international pro's after a long break shows her class.  Her win in 2009 (and Hanco Kaggelhoffer's exploits the same year) inspired me to do my first in 2010.  Yesterday was a PB for me - ok by a few seconds - but a great day out.

6h58m47s

Thats how long it took me. It was crazy and " my hol was ook seer "

Who ever said Joburg is not hilly have never cycled the 94.7 - damn did i suffer riding with cramps in both legs - couldnt decide how i must sit and take care of the " hol " or the legs.

The support were great along the way and even got 3 beers and i didnt even had to pay for them on the way - thats just awesome .

The time means nothing to me i had 3 goals to finish the race not to push my bike anytime and not to be last ( 2nd last is ok but not last ) and i achieved all 3 goals.

To my fellow riders well done to you all because is because of you guys that i enjoyed is.

Will be back next year .

6h58m47s

Who ever said Joburg is not hilly have never cycled the 94.7 - damn did i suffer riding with cramps in both legs - couldnt decide how i must sit and take care of the " hol " or the legs.

The support were great along the way and even got 3 beers and i didnt even had to pay for them on the way - thats just awesome .

The time means nothing to me i had 3 goals to finish the race not to push my bike anytime and not to be last ( 2nd last is ok but not last ) and i achieved all 3 goals.

To my fellow riders well done to you all because is because of you guys that i enjoyed is.

Will be back next year .

Respect, thats a long time in the saddle!

6h58m47s

Will be back next year .

Congrats, the route changes almost every year. I've ridden since 2001 and found this route the toughest its been. 

Had an absolute jol in D, came home in 4th in 2:42 and 5mins of my PB in 2014. Stoked!

Thanks to the laaitie and (oom) Phillip for the hard work up front, was a pleasure working with you guys. For the oke that came in third, ja nee kyk, ek sê maar niks. 

So hopefully next year I can finally do this race in the racing bunches. This 3 man time trial thing is totally overrated (but also so worth it) :clap:

Parked at Monte and arrived just in time to start in H batch.

Had a lekker easy ride with my brother and a couple of guys from our club. Stopped at one or two water points and really enjoyed the vibe out there.

Saw our first walkers on Witkoppen, okes really didnt look happy  :clap:

Even though my riding buddy was very scared of the downhills I managed a max of 82.4.

Finished in 3h40, had a quick beer and then headed back up the hill to Monte Casino.

Had a cooler in the car with a couple of ICE cold beers.

For the guys riding 5 hours +, respect for finishing. 

Will definitely be back next year

6h58m47s

Will be back next year .

Give this man a Bells! Maybe a beer for free.

well done!  :clap: