Terminator

• Replies 1.2k

On 10/14/2021 at 3:41 PM, ouzo said:

a) its an Isuzu, they are generally more chilled drivers

In an Isuzu you have no choice but to be chilled.

On a less jovial note. Yesterday afternoon I rode past a guy on a motorbike lying on the ground in Camps Bay. I couldn't figure out what was going on and if there was a car involved. He looked a little dazed and confused but not seriously injured. The crowd of cell phone toting gawkers was DISGUSTING.

Edited by Duane_Bosch

We had an interesting experience on our Tuesday morning ride. 

We were riding along a single lane road in Greenstone when a red Mazda driver decided to be our escort car and instead of overtaking ( road was clear ahead) drove behind us for about 2kms with the hazard lights on. 

I've not ridden my bike in months, I think my last ride was sometime in Feb/March and I'll be lying to everyone including myself if I say I'm not scared to take to the roads again. 

I've been running just to keep myself mildly fit but even then you have to put up with drivers who "slow down" for stop streets, are still clueless as to what the meaning of a pedestrian crossing is and park on pavements etc

I ask myself on a daily basis what pleasure a selfish person gets out of life? Is it a good feeling they get when they "give you a piece of their selfish mind" (ironic innit) but yeah I suppose these questions won't be answered. 

Just be lekker, is that too much to ask?

29 minutes ago, I FLY said:

We had an interesting experience on our Tuesday morning ride. 

We were riding along a single lane road in Greenstone when a red Mazda driver decided to be our escort car and instead of overtaking ( road was clear ahead) drove behind us for about 2kms with the hazard lights on. 

Had a lovely Sunday ride last week, 99.9% of motorists very considerate and peaceful. Well behaved taxis and trucks. Except for some Krugersdorp tannie in a tiny white i10 who took a close run at us inside the yellow line and then flipped us the bird through the back window.  I'm not even upset about it - just trying to make sense of why she felt the need to strike out. 

2 minutes ago, 100Tours said:

Had a lovely Sunday ride last week, 99.9% of motorists very considerate and peaceful. Well behaved taxis and trucks. Except for some Krugersdorp tannie in a tiny white i10 who took a close run at us inside the yellow line and then flipped us the bird through the back window.  I'm not even upset about it - just trying to make sense of why she felt the need to strike out. 

I must say my last couple of rides have been pleasant w.r.t. motorists too. With a number of them actually waiting for me to pass when they did no need to.

So, on another forum, there is a new thread about that taxi that dragged that cyclist for 100's of meters in Sandton recently.

To give you an indication of the average motorists thoughts, here is a post from what you can assume is a rational, middle class motorist:

I haven't read the original article, on the flipside of the coin I assume the cyclist wasn't being a retard and occupying a third of the lane obstructing vehicle traffic.

We as cyclists are, pardon the expression, ****** as long as motorists can justify literally killing us.

The same person clarified their attitude with:

What? Is it safe to assume the taxi mounted the curb and ran him over. The cyclist must have been a rational person and not occupy the middle of the lane, putting themselves in a fairly risky position of being impacted against by a drunk driver/speeding driver/inexperienced or learner driver/<insert whatever cause for collision>.

and 

Yea so lets make something very clear here, I'm not saying there was any right to run over anyone in this situation. Death however doesn't absolve you of the [bad] decisions you made.

It's completely shocking that motorists we have to share the road with can be this callous.

Edited by TNT1

1 minute ago, TNT1 said:

So, on another forum, there is a new thread about that taxi that dragged that cyclist for 100's of meters in Sandton recently.

To give you an indication of the average motorists thoughts, here is a post from what you can assume is a rational, middle class motorist:

We as cyclists are, pardon the expression, ****** as long as motorists can justify literally killing us.

Driving culture is just toxic. 

Okes will be lekker at a braai, nice oke. Gets in a car, happy to murder someone.

Need to make driving harder and more expensive. Always happy to see the petrol price increase. Should be around R28 per litre, drivers need to cover more of the cost of their driving.

I've just taken a leisurely drive through from Paarl to Belville, and the only **** I encountered on the whole drive was in a white rAnger.... With a lekker Santa Cruz strapped to the back...

My experiences of running/riding in Paarl have been stellar in comparison to the nightmare of of exercising near a public road back in Natal.

1 hour ago, Pure Savage said:

Driving culture is just toxic. 

Okes will be lekker at a braai, nice oke. Gets in a car, happy to murder someone.

Need to make driving harder and more expensive. Always happy to see the petrol price increase. Should be around R28 per litre, drivers need to cover more of the cost of their driving.

Yes that will be great for small businesses. Actually any businesses.

1 hour ago, TNT1 said:

The same person clarified their attitude with:

and 

It's completely shocking that motorists we have to share the road with can be this callous.

but wait, if we are more courteous then this self centered callous attitude will disappear

The other problem is that everyone who's done their Covid research on YouTube thinks they are an intellectual whose opinion the world needs to carry on 

Edited by DieselnDust

CYCLIST DELIVERS COMEUPPANCE!

I was cycling through the boom gate of a university main campus a little more than an hour ago.  Notwithstanding the flashing lights mounted on the back of the helmet and seat post a truck sped through the entrance with such speed that the big wing mirror passing a couple of inches from my ear might have taken my head off.  It felt that way.  

Would've been my first knockdown since my boss sent me flying off my road bike 35 years ago.  Still have the deep scar.

Followed the truck to where it stopped on campus.  I’d started recording and was lucky enough to catch his colleague jumping off the back of the truck going “Is jy befok!? You almost drove the larnie MOERTOE!  Didn’t you see his Christmas liggies?”  ????????????

DELICIOUS TWIST

He works for a long-time client of mine who's also an avid cyclist who will in the next few minutes be receiving the video.  Heeee!!!!

505965538_lauhing.gif.0590d3a69fcc9a34823e9153056f91a3.gif

1 hour ago, justinafrika said:

CYCLIST DELIVERS COMEUPPANCE!

I was cycling through the boom gate of a university main campus a little more than an hour ago.  Notwithstanding the flashing lights mounted on the back of the helmet and seat post a truck sped through the entrance with such speed that the big wing mirror passing a couple of inches from my ear might have taken my head off.  It felt that way.  

Would've been my first knockdown since my boss sent me flying off my road bike 35 years ago.  Still have the deep scar.

Followed the truck to where it stopped on campus.  I’d started recording and was lucky enough to catch his colleague jumping off the back of the truck going “Is jy befok!? You almost drove the larnie MOERTOE!  Didn’t you see his Christmas liggies?”  ????????????

DELICIOUS TWIST

He works for a long-time client of mine who's also an avid cyclist who will in the next few minutes be receiving the video.  Heeee!!!!

505965538_lauhing.gif.0590d3a69fcc9a34823e9153056f91a3.gif

Someone is going to have to please explain... But do you want their *** excuse as to why they didn't stop? You know they going to think up some *** excuse. 

It's like the time EVERYONE in the street stopped for me to cross the pedestrian crossing *(I was running/jogging (runners don't really like it being called jogging but that's a different conversation)), as I gave the motorists a little thanks a Mr Delivery driver and his helpful sidekick didn't stop, I nearly kakked myself but stopped in time for me not be taken out by his POS car he was driving. They stopped for a red light further down the road.

I did a quick Fartlek and stopped next to them to ask WTF and why they didn't stop... his reply "because we are with speed" still not sure WTF that means but anyway I lost my *** with him, said a few things I'm not proud of I may have also hit the car window. 

4 hours ago, Trashy said:

I've just taken a leisurely drive through from Paarl to Belville, and the only **** I encountered on the whole drive was in a white rAnger.... With a lekker Santa Cruz strapped to the back...

My experiences of running/riding in Paarl have been stellar in comparison to the nightmare of of exercising near a public road back in Natal.

Paarl and Wellington are some of the BEST cycling/running roads around!

51 minutes ago, ewep said:

Paarl and Wellington are some of the BEST cycling/running roads around!

When we first moved here, I was SHOCKED that when I ran around the traffic circle on the Boulevard, I crossed 16 lanes of traffic and not a single vehicle tried to kill me.