Dainfern area MTB and Road

Duckbill

Greetings all

Just moved to SA and looking for MTB and road riders in the Dainfern area, for weekend rides mainly. I did have a look at the Cycle Lab club but it's a bit too full on for me, more after a small to medium sized group that leaves from Dainfern.

I ride a Turner Burner 27.5" and enjoy single track riding, and also like to get out on my rebuilt 1980s Peugeot road bike every now and then.

Howzit,

There are a number of groups that leave Broadacers on a Saturday and Sunday, normally around 07h00 or 07h30 all different speeds and distances. Go to Mellow Vello and chat to the chaps there, they will point you in the right direction. Be careful of the one group though, they will make you drink grappa after the ride.

You can also PM Manbearpig, he knows the trails like the back of hoof, as I I've warned people before he does not play too well with others and smells quite bad. But once you get to know him he's a hellva lekker  oke.

What kind of distance and speed you looking for?

Thanks Gnarly

I've moved here from Thailand - where it was hot hot hot and flat flat flat - normal weekend MTB ride would be 70-80kms but flat flat flat, so thinking around the 30-40km range to start off with, around the 3 hour mark. On road same duration, 3 hours roughly.

I'll check out Mello Vello