Tyre Liners

FasterThanFast

They can also cause punctures. Be very careful to make the end of the tyre liner smooth, otherwise that ends up wearing a hole in your tube.

IMHO, on the road, rather invest in better tyres. On the mtb, go tubeless.

I can guarantee you you will have more punctures untill you sort it out. An when you need to change a flat in a race and the thing is all over the place you will rip it out and leave it on the side of the road.

i have been using them for about 3-4 months, haven't had a single puncture. they are heavy though smiley11.gif

Use to have it in my training wheels... who cares about the weight when you training... rather than wasting time fixing flats next to the road... Think I had mine in for over 2 years and never got a flat... justed picked the pieces of glass out the tire once in a while...  Just get someone who knows what they are doing to put it in the first time... But i know allot of people dont like it!

i had liners in my old schwinn mesa - the bike was so heavy that the weight of the liners was negligible. gotta admit it was lekker not getting as many punctures as other peeps

Okay, so if weight is not a problem, then just get slime tubes and you will not need to worry about punctures either.

Fasterthanfast

These okes carry on about weight like it is THE cardinal sin. Let's put that weight into perspective. You probably weigh say 70 kg. The bike is around 9kg. Total weight you have to drag around 79kg, plus you have a bottle or two of water / energy drink, plus a spare tube, some tyre levers (Plastic to save weight), some solution and a few spare patches. So we're talking another 1.7 kg all told. Will the extra 200g that you carry for tyre liners really make such a difference on 81.7kg?

We are talking about tyre liners being an extra 0.02454%