Hey peeps

Doing the barberton ultra for the 1st time in January. Any good advice as to where to stay - difficult to get a feel from barberton website ?

Ideally, accomodation would be

- close to start finish area

- reasonably nice whistling.gif

Thanks

Hey peeps

Doing the barberton ultra for the 1st time in January. Any good advice as to where to stay - difficult to get a feel from barberton website ?

Ideally, accomodation would be

- close to start finish area

- reasonably nice http://1.1.1.4/bmi/cdn.bikehub.co.za/forum//public/style_emoticons/default/whistling.gif

Thanks

Try Fountain Baths

We stayed at the Gold Nugget guest house which was quite nice. About 1-2 km from the start.

The biggest thIng is that you are doing the ultra - good luck there. Twice up that mountain is a mother of a ride.

This year I stayed at some manky hotel right in town, on my mate's booking [1]. Across the parking lot was a shebeen in full swing, and the locals used the robots outside as an excellent place to start drag racing from. It was an excellent laugh, but I'd choose elsewhere :)

[1] Our rule is now we don't let him book unless his wife is going, because she'll make damned sure it's not a hole.

We stayed at the Gold Nugget guest house which was quite nice. About 1-2 km from the start.

The biggest thIng is that you are doing the ultra - good luck there. Twice up that mountain is a mother of a ride.

Did the Sabie Ultra last year, figured (hoped) it can't be worse than that eek.gif

This year I stayed at some manky hotel right in town, on my mate's booking [1]. Across the parking lot was a shebeen in full swing, and the locals used the robots outside as an excellent place to start drag racing from. It was an excellent laugh, but I'd choose elsewhere smile.png

[1] Our rule is now we don't let him book unless his wife is going, because she'll make damned sure it's not a hole.

Eish

Did the Sabie Ultra last year, figured (hoped) it can't be worse than that eek.gif

I also did Sabie Ultra, which was IMO slighty harder than Barberton. But that is like trying to decide who you would rather open mouth kiss - Bakkies Botha or Bismarck du Plessis. Neither is a good option...

Better get that climbing training going asap!

"slighty harder". The 70-ish from Sabie broke me like a little girl. Almost 8 hours. Barberton was infinitely better for me - around 5.