Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

Guest Agteros

Maybe you need to change your login to AgterHoender.

Chicken man.

And here I was thinking that Nuwb is a social "loose goose". Ne. Social engagements.... Is that just another way of saying you're chicken?

Next time' date=' Huh?

Naah, not gonna do a chicken run here Slave but for some reason I find myself to be hectically busy. maybe I should try and squeeze juggling classes inbetween the rest of the stuff as it seems like juggling will be needed...

• Replies 9.2k

I kid

I had a hectic race man.

Got dropped from the main bunch after only about 5k's

Group of about 10 of us managed to get together and worked hard for the next couple of k's.

After about 20/25 k's we lost some members and there were 6 left(we never managed worked well together as there were two okes in there who kept on going to the front , surging for a few metres and then hung back again). I got dropped from that group on that longish drag leading up to the turnaround point.

I was left to my own devices for a good few k's. Managed to catch a group of 4 who had started with the licenced group. Two okes and 2 gals. One of the ladies were pacing the group?! The "gents" too happy to sit in?

I dropped them on the short steep climb before the railway tracks. I was then joined by a rider who was wearing red overshoes, and riding a brand new Mercx bike. He had an obsession to stay way from the following bunch, from whom he'd broken away. It contained the group I dropped, and was about 30 strong.

The youngster and i rode well together, keeping the pace high, and managed to catch quite a few riders in the last 20 k's. We got a partner in crime - someone riding in MTN colours, who was willing to work at the front also. In this 4 man group we had a passenger , wearing AG2R bottoms, who wasnt prepared to come to the front.

In our effort to stay away from the bunch we caught up with 3 more of the riders in my original 6 man group.

That made me feel very content though!!!!

AG2R rode away from us 2 k's from the finish, which left Mercx, MTN and myself to ride to the finish like lunatics, still trying to stay away from the bunch. In teh end we managed that, and I finished in 2:18 (35.2 ave). Which was par for my course, as Kid had asked me before the race what I planned. My answer was 2:20, with a 35 ave!

Tough , but enjoyable, and a nice way to end the first week(of 10 wk programme) on my way to my next target race -  Bela Bela in May. 

Nuwbie, well done.

My target was 2:30 (No laughing GreyOwl!!!) and I done it in 2:27, I'm happy with my results, seeing that I've only being cycling for 6 months minus the Dec holidays and minus 6 weeks for my broken wrist but I do need to improve and go faster.

I'll email you my race stats from Sports Tracker, you can see where I got dropped, the speed just goes down then I picked up another group and my speed picks up again.

I thought you were planning to do the Wilro race ?

How did Sapso9 do ?

I know he was behind me as I saw him on the way to the halfway point.

Thanks

Yes, please mail, would like to see.

Indeed doing the Wilro on 19/4, then Stonehaven 80 , 1/5, and the Bela on 23/5.

For your long absence the sub 2:30 is great man. It was what you set out to do, and achieved. That's always a bonus and a wonderful feeling.

Spas had a lomh day, he went through a pothole early on and had 2 flats, no bombs, early break, but he finshed and looked fresh. Not sure what time he did.

Well done to both of you.

Good times and you both acheived your targets. Good stuff dudes.

So, now for our next trick. This Heidelberg loop that we planning. Oxman would prefer if we can do it on the Sunday which is the 5th. What's the general consensus? Can we accomodate our other ride buddy and go on the 5th. Otherwise I will do it on the 5th with him. I know that can like to be a problemo for the old wise bird.

Slave - I am fine for 5th also.

It might even suit me better, cause I saw this morning I have to drop my kid off on 4th.

If it suits the rest, the 5th will do, if not I will make alternative arragnements for 4th.

Nuwbie. It's cruelty to children to drop them on their fourth. You might do the child a serious injury.

It should fit in with most of us except for GOv2.0. He has other plans for Sundays that exclude those of us in the cycling fraternity. (LOL).

Yip , with all this child abuse at the day care centres being reported about, I suppose I have to be careful, what I say, and more so , what I do.

But the fact is she has to be dropped on 4thsmiley18.gif

Oxman has some MTB thing on the 4th. So even if it's just the three of us for the 5th, it can be done. I can always roust up another rider who can rde at my pace. (Maybe two, we'll see)

Nuwbie, I sent you the emails, one with a link and the other with a print out (wasn't sure if the link would work).

Slavey, the 5th is cool for the Heidelberg loop but I think GreyOwl has other duties on Sundays which don't involve a bicycle (like you said).

Did you mention anything about your ride yesterday ??

Did you ride with MONA MONA and don't wanna tell us ?

Agteros, get those wheels fixed ASAP!!!
Guest Agteros

The bike, she is going for a service on Thursday... The can sommer fix the spokes, and make sure the wheels run true as well.

I NEED the road bike on Sunday... Can't see myself racing up and down on tar in a Duathlon on the MTB as the gearing will kill me - 44 front ring!
Nuwbie' date=' I sent you the emails, one with a link and the other with a print out (wasn't sure if the link would work).

Slavey, the 5th is cool for the Heidelberg loop but I think GreyOwl has other duties on Sundays which don't involve a bicycle (like you said).

Did you mention anything about your ride yesterday ??

Did you ride with MONA MONA and don't wanna tell us ?

Agteros, get those wheels fixed ASAP!!!

Eish, kid. You're too sharp dude. I was kinda hoping no-one would aks about yesterday. You know when you get days that you don't ever wanna remember. Why you have to go and remind me?

I was lazy yesterday, OK. (had you going there for a second right.) I woke up with the intention of riding but I somehow got stuck to the sheets and could not drag my sorry @ss out of bed.

So, eventually, I got up and cleaned my bike, chain and cluster. On my ride Sat, I heard some strange "clunk" sound from the back of the bike after Nuwbie and I went our seperate ways.  So I figured it was time for some preventive maint on the bike.

Some good quality faffing time was spent yesterday. I looked for Mona on Sat to aks her about her ride last Sunday, but she was MIA. I noticed that you were MIA too on Saturday. What happened, you chicken out as well?

So the thing with the Owl is this. His wing feathers get clipped on Sundays and he's not allowed to fly right? Right. (just kidding. He, unlike the likes of me, honours his commitment to his SO and spends some time with her on Sundays.)

Maybe I should get interested in WHY my SO is so keen for me to go ride on weekends. Like if I stay at home she asks why an then I feel guilty so I go ride anyway, just in case.

The bike' date=' she is going for a service on Thursday... The can sommer fix the spokes, and make sure the wheels run true as well.

I NEED the road bike on Sunday... Can't see myself racing up and down on tar in a Duathlon on the MTB as the gearing will kill me - 44 front ring!

Aaaahhhh kuk man. You're as strong as an Ox. Nothing can kill you.
Guest Agteros
The bike' date=' she is going for a service on Thursday... The can sommer fix the spokes, and make sure the wheels run true as well.

Aaaahhhh kuk man. You're as strong as an Ox. Nothing can kill you.

Haha thanx - but not quite ... Anycase I'll need a 16valve twincam engine (mayb a v-tec?) for all the highrevving I need to do with a 44 front ring :)

Why p1ss about with a v-tec dude. Just go for one of those Formula 1 jobs that rev up to 19000 rpm.

Must admit, since I started to try and spin a bit more (higher cadence) I use my small chain ring. (It's prob'ly the least used piece on my bike)

Big jump from 52 to 42 and I would quite frankly rather have a "bigger" small ring. Say about 48 teeth.
Guest Agteros

V-tec Slave? Coz I'm definately NOT in F1 territory myself smiley36.gif

Anycase, the shop where the bike is booked for a service at the end of the week was too busy to help me with the wheel. Sorry to them *sarcastic laff*

I took the rear wheel to Northcliff Cycles, and they had no problem to take it in, AND they said they will have it ready by this afternoon.YAY!!! Service with a smile indeed.

Now I can go do the criterium race at Northgate (I mean, go offer my back wheel to be lapped 3x in 45 minutes smiley18.gif )

And that will be my cycling training for the coming weekend: 45min crit race, 90 minutes spinning, and 160km 2 weeks before..... hehehahahoohoo