Entry level event

benadeja

Hi ,

Not sure if this is the right place to post this question but what would be a nice entry level event for a beginner cyclist to enter , not too competitive just want to prove to myself that I can finish Smile a nice fun ride , less than 2 months cycling experience ...

Gauteng area.

Thanks for the advice. 

When would you like to start? Train this few months and then enter the 'Fast-one" in January. That was my first 100Km in my life and my time was 2:43.

What's the best approach to this , doing short hard rides (doing higher speeds over shorter distances) or doing further rides at slower speeds and building my endurance ?

Thanks as you can see I am a beginner Embarrassed but really enjoy the sport , I have a Raleigh RC3000 , is this cycle sufficient for these type of events ?

Thanks as you can see I am a beginner Embarrassed but really enjoy the sport ' date=' I have a Raleigh RC3000 , is this cycle sufficient for these type of events ?[/quote']

Yes for sure RC3000 is a great value for money bike

My first 'race' was last years 94.7 - and I dragged my 115kg round it on a full suspension mountain bike - so an RC3000 will be more than adequate.

I too was hooked, and did the Argus this year - I bought a road bike for that - though, with the wind, a MTB may have been a better option.

As others said, you'll not break any speed records at first, but a 100k 'race' is perfectly feasible for your first race.

• 2 weeks later...

Thanks for all the advice now the next question what is a decent average speed I should be able to keep up for the duration of the race to be able to finish before they end/cutoff most of these races ?

what is a decent average speed I should be able to keep up for the duration of the race to be able to finish before they end/cutoff most of these races ?

If you take the 94.7 with a 6-hour 'cut-off' (after the last start)

say 100km in 6 hours, that's an average of 16.66 km/h