Hi

I got mine on thursday evening, it has taken me the entire weekend to get used to it a bit more, but wow what a ride.I decided on it after riding one at the last "ride before you buy" and I was very impressed.Anyone else bought one, or have any experience on one to share?

There was a great review in the last TREAD magazine!

My next bike definately!!

What about the weight - over a 26er?? Any noticeable difference with the added extra weight?

The weight difference is overrated in fact you can custom build 29" rims that weigh 200g less than American Classic 26".

Hi

I had a Volcan FS2 2009 @ 10.9kg so I did notice the almost half kilo, but I noticed that it was a harder ride on my lower back even more, even though I used to lock-out my suspension on my Volcan often!

I have made a couple of changes and it will easily be under 11kg now.

The ride on the 29er is awesome, it makes ditches and rocky sections simple, and rolls effortlesly on the flats.

Edited by Mr. G

The weight difference is overrated in fact you can custom build 29" rims that weigh 200g less than American Classic 26".

What wheels have you built at 1286g?

Just what i heard. haven't built them myself but 29" ENVE rims with DT190's come in at 1137g

You can also get Stan's Crests to around 1220g

Edited by Oli G

Gents I have a story!

I picked up my Zasker 9er Expert on Saturday after waiting two weeks for it after having shopped around for a bike for almost nine months. What a great ride! (Even though I fell my ass off yesterday morning in the Stellenbosch mountains)

Now seeing as I came back from Stb directly to work my bike was locked on the back of my bakkie on the bike rack and I park right outside my window, 10 meters from my office chair where I can see the bike when I turn every 5 minutes, so I find (found) it very safe as we have big gates and barbed wire and all around the office block.

Just after lunch time in broad daylight I heard the noise of a bike being put down and THAT sound when you start pedalling (through a thick window). Out the corner of my eye I saw someone go around the corner and I quickly checked my car seeing an empty rack. I freakin chased outside and ran after the guy who managed to get through the half meter gap between the security boom and the wall.

I was never gonna catch him but luckily a girl came past in a car so I just signalled to her to chase him and about 500m down the road she managed to cut him off, making him ditch the bike and then jumped into a support getaway car which was also following him, so they got away but my bike is safe and sound!

These guys took a HUGE risk trying to steal it from where they did and they had to have patrolled and inspected the bike and setting for a while. He cut through my chain and took the time to take off the elastics and rope which secured the bike. I don't think they would have gone through this effort for a cheap bike, they must have known that the bike is worth a bit! I'm sure these okes operate a black market somehow. Just the cheek to do it in broad daylight makes me cross, but I'm over it now, learnt a lesson!

And the bike was 3 days old, not yet insured!

Edited by Standi

Gents I have a story!

I picked up my Zasker 9er Expert on Saturday after waiting two weeks for it after having shopped around for a bike for almost nine months. What a great ride! (Even though I fell my ass off yesterday morning in the Stellenbosch mountains)

Now seeing as I came back from Stb directly to work my bike was locked on the back of my bakkie on the bike rack and I park right outside my window, 10 meters from my office chair where I can see the bike when I turn every 5 minutes, so I find (found) it very safe as we have big gates and barbed wire and all around the office block.

Just after lunch time in broad daylight I heard the noise of a bike being put down and THAT sound when you start pedalling (through a thick window). Out the corner of my eye I saw someone go around the corner and I quickly checked my car seeing an empty rack. I freakin chased outside and ran after the guy who managed to get through the half meter gap between the security boom and the wall.

I was never gonna catch him but luckily a girl came past in a car so I just signalled to her to chase him and about 500m down the road she managed to cut him off, making him ditch the bike and then jumped into a support getaway car which was also following him, so they got away but my bike is safe and sound!

These guys took a HUGE risk trying to steal it from where they did and they had to have patrolled and inspected the bike and setting for a while. He cut through my chain and took the time to take off the elastics and rope which secured the bike. I don't think they would have gone through this effort for a cheap bike, they must have known that the bike is worth a bit! I'm sure these okes operate a black market somehow. Just the cheek to do it in broad daylight makes me cross, but I'm over it now, learnt a lesson!

Sweet mother - sounds like a scene from a movie!

Where was this Standi?

Rolex gang = top-end bicycle gang? :unsure:

Ps - hope you treated the girl in the car to something! Brave move that?!

Edited by RodTi

Gents I have a story!

Standi!!! BRA Jy sou so heartbroken gewees het dat ek dink niemand met jou sou kon uithou nie.. ons sou maar bits bymekaar moes sit en vir jou n nuwe bike bou..

I want to see your bike before you lock it somewhere dodgy again!

lekker ry bra, eks baie baie bly vi jou