Training for Cape pioneer trek with a difference...

I finally decided that I'm tired of having no focused racing goals so gonna attempt the TREK.. but theres a bit of a twist to my approach.

You see I work in the offshore industry so training and facilities are limited.

I have been riding road and MTB for 3 years so have some sort of base in a sense

I bought a program from fittrack 16 week survivor kit..

At the moment doing 4-5 rides a week (with 2 gym sessions in that) on a very crap exercise bike using my HR monitor

I will be home early August for a week for some proper riding then I go away for 3-4 weeks and then should have 5-6 weeks at home to finish of the training before I try tackle the TREK

My rides are as focused with varying intensities but must admit there is no way I can do a 2-3 hr ride on the bike

After some of my hard hour rides my legs feel like they've done a 3 -4 hr ride

My plan is to just finish this one and see where that takes me

Has anyone tried something like this with limited quality training

My biggest concern is the time in the saddle factor that I'm losing out on at the moment.

Theoretically you can do it. The whole focus of training is shifting from quantity to quality. But you'll need a very focussed and specific training program.

Practically, IMO, I'm not too sure. You need to know how your body will react after spending 6 or 7 hours in the saddle on the long days. You'll get that confidence that you can push through when your body tells you that you can't. It's also good to expirement a bit in terms of what works best for recovery after such long rides. There are just some things that I'd think you would need to train for on long rides.