• Replies 86

I think maybe the lady may be at work.. you know multi tasking. I am sure they will reply as soon as they can.. else go hound their facebook page ;)

Not sure if any of you have done and or did the dirtmax today.. they changed the venue.. stunning venue btw.. route the same just you ride it in different order. . The first climb is now 3km from the end.. I have to be honest.. I lost my sense of humour there today.

Also now I hate cheaters, but in the end they cheat only themselves. . Penty riders skipped the single track over and about the island +- 8km, people we dropped for dead on the very first climb and they never came past us again (and no i did not get lost) finished ahead of us. Any case no matter.

Besides that it was tough but good had a very nice outing today. Had to work hard..

PS my bike is still awesome.. she's just a beast.. love it!!

Edited by Gen

Yes I enjoy that route / area, very special to me, given my impact crater fetish.

New venue is okay, more room for sure, and nice part of the river. Don't know about those Granite monoliths being replicas of Stone Henge ...

Shilom: that whole section I am happy to give a miss (and I did I must confess), Thing is at that stage I am used to a bit of pace and to handle all those stop/starts/up/downs/mud and going in circles for said 8 k's, nah, I am doing a fun ride, I always loathed that part of the event. and besides I am keeping my bad self company at the back of the proceedings. But they could add a few k's elsewhere perhaps?

Edited by kosmonooit

Yes I enjoy that route / area, very special to me, given my impact crater fetish.

New venue is okay, more room for sure, and nice part of the river. Don't know about those Granite monoliths being replicas of Stone Henge ...

Shilom: that whole section I am happy to give a miss (and I did I must confess), Thing is at that stage I am used to a bit of pace and to handle all those stop/starts/up/downs/mud and going in circles for said 8 k's, nah, I am doing a fun ride, I always loathed that part of the event. and besides I am keeping my bad self company at the back of the proceedings. But they could add a few k's elsewhere perhaps?

Ha ha ha at least you admit to it.. and point taken as to why you skipped it. no hey I agree.. at that stage of the race no one is lus for that part next to the river at Siloh. You lose momentum.. sommer kaka imo also told hubby they can maar take us elsewhere instead. . And what's with the pointless exercise of that little quad track. .

My boet did the 30km.. he said the Start was very congested.

Gen, generally I am not one to take short cuts, but really I couldn't be bothered with that section. But love most of the route, especially getting close up & personal with all that granite. And traversing that veld, most of it is still in great condition (ie no wattle)

Lol no it's cool..I understand.. in the past at least you ended when you were finally done riding in circles.. now you still have more to go including that climb where my sense of humour is. ;)

Any case, like you said you weren't competing for the win.. However there were plenty appeals (for podium) because of riders skipping that bit

Edited by Gen

Only problem I had with that last climb is all the loose rocks, one 'foot' wrong and you loose all your momentum, which happened to me yesterday although the time before that I manage to get up. Those loose rocks is what you get on 4x4 trails, unsustainable environmental speaking imho.

Hubby had enough left to ride it out.. I however did not and lost traction so had to push. At least now with that climb at the end.. there is less traffic so more possible to ride it out maybe?

Well I finished the race. Before I had done only the 30km once and 45 of the 60km (.. mechanical with hubbies bike saw me stroll back.) So I am pretty chuffed with myself. At least now I have a time on the 60km and can try improve on it.. the guy at line said I did a 3:54. Would like to get it to 3:30.

Hi Gen

With regards to dirtmax, where is the new venue?

I must say I find it strange that you guys don't enjoy the bit on the island. Best part of the race for me especially when it is dry. I must admit it can get very muddy and mucky when wet.

You talking about the first climb being 3 km from the end now. Is that the one in the game camp with the loose rocks you are talking about?

I suppose the owners of Shilo Shalom got gatvol of the mtb'ers washing their bikes in the swimming pool and that is why dirtmax was kicked out?