Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

• Replies 9.2k

Yessssireeeee. The cat, she ken see again. She's no more blind. Long story about where she wuz hiding. Apprarently, it was the one place I did not look. I was sctratching for soemthing else and found it.

Eish,   DUMBASSS.

So far. Old Wise bird (AKA Grey Owl)

Obelix.

Spas09

Pierre (one of my other paid friends (Yeah, can you believe I have to PAY people to be friends with me?))

The blue child and

The other half the Panda Plonkers. (MY teeny.)

Edit:

Obviously, the other half the Panda Plonkers. (me).
Slave2Love2009-02-20 02:53:26

Good stuff.

I was thinking that we leave with the fast group as it's smaller & quicker, cause if we leave with the big slow group you (S2L) may get side tracked with Monis & Monis.

What you thinking ??

<?: prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

OK?.

So I wasn?t online yesterday. smiley5.gif

Checked the hub late last night and concluded that there would be a get-together of some sort ?RIDING THE LOOP IN THE FAST GROUP AND THEN SPLITTING AT NAMPAK STOP STREET, GOING LONG.?smiley17.gif

Got myself to the Swartkoppies / Klipriver intersection this morning and started scanning out for a guy with Panda kit on a "papnat" (Rapport) bike?.(900 year papnat)

No luck, what now?

Let?s start with the front guys and scope the field.

I met up with a mate and started a little chitty chat. Just past Bells Inn a group (I think the DiData guys) come flying past. I ask my mate if he wants to fall in, ?no it?s ok? was his reply?.. about 40 sec later, ?maybe I should check what route they?re riding?, off we go (maybe S2L, is in there!). I pull my mate all the way from that dip to about where the Caltex garage is (I understand, his racing tomorrow he can not assist). Eventually catch the group, look back and about 20 guys on my ass!!!! ?Eish?, recovery????..

The usual split up occurs just after <?: prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />Lido.

There are a couple of slower riders who left earlier and about 50m ahead of them are some High Performance (HighP) guys (Bedfordview, I think). Some other guy and I set the pace and start reeling guys in. (still no site of S2L). Eventually catch the HighP guys and they start attacking. The group is running thin and I?m sucking wheel, with my mate just in front of me. Again the HighP guys start attacking. WTF!!! I though these guys are racing tomorrow!

Now the guys in the group (or whats left of the group) are starting to complain. My mate sits on some dudes wheel and maintains what I call a comfortable pace (+/- 42kph). The HighP guys are about 20m ahead again, another mate is on his Scott with the TT bars is also in there muddling it up with them. I slowly go across, look back, and my other mate hasn?t made the crossing (his racing tomorrow).

They start attacking again and again through the blue gum tree section, again. My ?Scott? mate eventually attacks this time, and then say?s ?only joking?, yea right Carl!

sh*t, this is lekker! Eventually mate ?Scott? falls back and then there are 4 of us left. The 3 HighP guys and myself. The last 100m to the stop street they get me in front for awhile and then two of them ride off my wheel. I get to the stop sign about 10m behind them. Now that was cool, and I still feel great.

I make my way to the stop street where you choose to go Steps or SBR and wait,,,,, ,,,,,,, ,,,,,,,,   no S2L.. Waited till the slower riders came past and again, NO ONE PITCHED!!! smiley19.gif

WTF !

Maybe we should meet at Macdonalds for breakfast....

hi droodt..

i rode with S2L, Indigo kid and greyowl this morning.

we left with the fast group, the diData guys were in there, but didnt see the Hiperformance guys. we must have missed you some how?

was really cool ride, did the bosco loop i think. when we came to the steps, we didint go up them but took a left over the bridge and onto the R59 highway for a bit and then off the highway (carry bikes over little dirt track path) and along the xumbug road past rand water to klip river.

my legs were burning at the end but enjoyed it..

sorry we missed you, but mc donalds does sound goodsmiley1.gif

Hey there Obelix.

AS Spas09 says, we wuz there. I was't sure who to look for when we got to Xumbugs and I was busy greeting Pierre, Greyowl, and Spas09 when we noticed that the "fast guys" were setting off. Being somewhere close to the back (somewhere between the two bunches) we set off to catch up.

The pace along Swartkoppies was pretty hectic and it was all I could do to hang on. Our little bunch, GO, Kid, Spas, myself turned left at the Rugby club and the rest went straight. "k "What now?" So we go on and pretty soon, we feed back into the bunch as they turned left a bit later.

Past Lido and the bunch splits, some left and some go straight. We decide, very quickly, to go on straight and do the Bosco loop. Up that nice long hill towards Walkerville and I get dropped. First time. I stay in touch and as we crest the hill, I close the gap down and get back to the pack. First turn right and then first left towards Walkerville. Turn 1 st left again back towards main rod and the guys don't even stop at the stop street. Dudes, this is not cool. It's just bikes on both sides of the roads and cars going in both directions and I'm thinking all sorts of disaster about to happen. We got through ok without any hootong or middle finger salutes from either motorists or cyclists and no blood. Whew.

Then they turn left again onto a sand road. The only one equiped to deal with this is the dude on a mountain bike. Like we're all on roadies and I'm not all that keen on getting snakebite tyres, but the pace is slow and we all get through a short section of sand road.

Then it's hammer down. AGAIN. Eish, hang in there. I slow to wait a bit for Spas, and we get together, he recovers and off after the bunch. I get dropped, second time. I burn a sh!tload of energy and catch them again on the road to Boscos. Get to the back of the bunch and the dudes trun left again. (Ah short-cut back to the Klipriver, Henley Road. Cool.) Now I'm fighting fit. Fighting for breath and fit to drop.

Hammer down AGAIN. smiley3.gifI have not recoverd and the bunch disappear in front of my eyes. RATS. I try to stay in touch but these dudes don't hang around. I see up ahead they trun left again. Now I know the road I'm on and don't know the road the're on. So I go straight. Get to the 4 way stop and get off the bike. A while later GO phones me. "Where you dude?" (I think bliksem, I could hardly breathe while playing chase and GO can manage a phone conversation like he's sitting in his living room.smiley3.gif

I drink just about all my water, half the energade and wolf down a banana while waiting. There they are. Jump on bike and get head-start. They cruise past me like I'm looking for parking and I manage (only just) to hang on. Other side of Klipriver, they turn left again. (Eish, are these dudes really going to do the loop? I wonder. Nah, we turn onto the highway. Now this is where it is not cool again. two abreast and taking up part of the onramp while cars are waiting to pass us. This is faulty. Highways are for cars at high speed and the speed differential is to high for my comfort level. (YEah, OK, OK. I'm a woes. What can I say? I like living and I want to ride agian next weekend and not a hospital bed. I also don't like "blood boxes" (old CB radio term for ambulance.) or bloody "meat wagons" (old CB term for hearse.) 

Short hop and we all stop and go through a small footpath onto the Rand Water road. Bliksem, I get dropped again. We are riding into a heavy head-wind and the legs are hammered. GO slows down to my pace and the four of us toddle along. Sorry GO, it was all I could manage at the time.

I learn that Gary Benecke was in that group. 'K, so I know the dude is like older than my Peejou, but, bliksem, no wonder I struggled. (I think it was Gary Benecke)

The dilemma is this. great ride and I learned a few things. (one of them being that I am nowhere near as afast as I thought I was.) I loved the ride and can even handle the fact that I got dropped more often then Percy drops a rugby ball, but eiah, the road safety aspect. Guys, we really do need to clean up our show.

Obelix, I'm sorry we missed you. Maybe next time we meet at MAcD's before we get to the bunch. Thay way I'll finally learn what you look like.

Yesterday, just went and did the short loop with Pierre and Breezer (The new nick for my teeny and the reason for the nick: Hy's so windgat ne and in "ingrish" he's a breeze bum. Hence breezer.) Was supposed to be a recovery ride, but let'snot open that door. Good 29.6 average and now my legs are really hammerd.

Spas and Kid have got it going on though, they hung in there and as for GO, well let's just say that he stirred the pot a bit by mixing things up at the fron by making the bunch go faster at times than perhaps they might have done.

It was all good though. Really a cool ride. I have to get beeter because this is exiting stuff. The other bunch is a) too slow and B), where is the exitement of bunch racing?

I'll be back.

Thanks Chiipy - Noted.

I don't mind working, I worked to get the group to the Lifestyle guys.

We were going long and did not know what awaited out at the SBR and Henley way.

The wind did pick up later and was tough going back.

Plan for next weekend:

One of my mates, Pierre, wants to get some distance on his legs as he is training for the Argus.

So far, three of us are going to meet at Dischem (Cnr. Delphimium and Hennie Alberts) and leave there at 6:15 on Sat morning. We will be going past SBR onto the Heidlelberg /Henley Road, via Heidelberg and then back to Alberton.

Route is about 103 k's.

All I have to say is that GreyOwl is the MAN, when I'm big I going to ride like him.

S2L, you need to tune your pistons. They taking punishment every weekend.

I thought you didn't train an funny hours ?? 6:15am on a Sat Morning ???

How long do you think these 103km are going to take ?

Pretty much same as last time kid. That route we did weekend before? Carbon Copy! (Klipriver, SBR, Heidelberg, Alberton (only this time, via the other route and up the steps.)' K, not carbon copy.

Greyowl can ride a bit and you did well enough. I need to work on hill climbing, leg strength, speed and endurance, but I have the excuse that I am older than my bike and in TNT's dictionary, that is OLD.

Legs feel very shattered and abused today.

Kid. Check out your signature line.

Seriously, Pierre wants to leave enough recovery time for him to do the Argus. I liked the route and it can only do me some good.

Sunday I think I'm going back to church again and pray for my sins. Then I'll take a later ride and do some hills in Mondeor.

Edit:

In a couple of weekends time we are off to Standerton for an engagement "putty" so, I'll make that my rest weekend. A whole weekend off the bike. Damn, I'll feel like one of my appendages are miising.

So this weekend, I'm listening to your signature and my rice crispies.
Slave2Love2009-02-23 03:01:20

I have no problem doing the 103km route but I need to be back by 10am.

Pierre is a big boy, 3 days is more than enough rest time.

Going to church ??? I thought you done enough praying when you fell behind the group or when you were going up a hill. Come to think of it there are a few hills on the way to Heidelberg so you'll be praying.smiley14.gif