Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

GO, you'd introduce us to your family ??

You braver than what I thought. Your mom would probably make sure you move back in with them to keep a watchful eye on who you hang around with smiley15.gifsmiley15.gifsmiley15.gifsmiley15.gifsmiley15.gif.

S2L, maybe you could have a go at commentating ?? Ok maybe NOT.smiley36.gif
  • Replies 9.2k

Kid...my family are scary bud! SCARY!

I'd be more afraid of what they would do to you guys!! Bwa ha ha ha!!!

Idea=lets keep S2L off any form of commentary!

Hey Slavey...how's the dual computer thingy working for you? Was that 77km in real time? Or HUB time?!!!

Spaso9...if I go to the race, you can ride with me. But I'm not sure if I am going just yet. Will let you know.

Spaso, I'm meeting with Oxman at 06H35 - 06H40 on Sat morning at Bracken City.  From there we ride to the Xumbug meeting place.

WE are going to try and run with the faster bunch over the short loop (Allewynspoort, steps). Prob'ly get my @ss dropped again.

My "TOP SECRET TRAIINING" this week is: Yesterday, chickened out completely and rested. Today, provided it doesn't rain, I plan on doing Butchers hill, Columbine and down the Lido hill, and back again. We can meet you at Bellairs and Klipriver if you like.

Tomorrow, the same loop, in reverse. Can meet you at the Xumbug place.

Thursday, I'm not sure yet but maybe, Michelle, Bellairs, Butchers, Columbine and around that way again. Maybe throw in the Rand water climb from Swartkoppies.   Same loop in reverse.

I usually leave home at about 4:30 to 4:40 so give or take about 20 /25 minutes to Panorama S/C or about 15 / 20 to Xumbugs. I ride with another chap on Mon, Tues and Thurs. We don't mind if you join in. From home, the butchers, columbine, lido route gives me 47 k's and 1 HR 35 to 1 hr 40 minutes. Serious time, not hub time. 

Make no mistake, they are tough routes but the hills work the legs and make 'em stronger. One day, when I grow up, I want to be able to race GOv2.0 (hahahahaha)smiley36.gif

GOv2.0, Kid, Eish. What can I say, the velo 8 reads between 0.7 and 1 km per hour faster than the cordless cat. Since my whole log started with the velo, I try to keep the tradition going. I have made ammendments to the log to include the Cordless and I'm getting a sense of how the two compare.

For now though, faster speed = higher average so guess which time I prefer? smiley2.gif
Slave2Love2009-03-17 01:34:35

For now though' date=' faster speed = higher average so guess which time I prefer? [img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley2.gif[/img]

S2L, you shouldn't stop the one CatEye everytime you get to the bottom of a climb and start it again when you descend.

That's a brilliant idea. Thanks kid. A new way to cheat the system. I'm glad I thought of it.

I just always started it further and further from home to get my time down.

Spas - you can get a lift with me to Meyerton if you wanna ride on Sunday, will prob leave home at about 6:15-30. Let me know if you need a lift so we can make arrangements. Plenty space for big guys. Only one big guy(me) so far in the car.

Ikid - yes, will be there on Sunday. We must arrange to meet before the race.

Slave - it worries me that you rode the same route and one week rode 111, and next 103. Gotta check yr cycle comp out bru. See you are having difficulty to decide which one to trust.

Anyhow - I have no gripes in riding a long slow ride - on the hills the stronger guys can go hard if they need to. If its a group ride we ride according to the ability of the slowest rider. Doesnt mean we cannot push whoever that is little bit - its also to that riders advantage.

NB is that we treat it as training, not racing. Some sections will be hard, some will be easy. The guru's tell you that pro riders do bulk of their lsd at 65% max. I see this as a team effort to which everyone contributes. If its too "easy" for anyone , we make a plan to accomodate him/her. The advantage is that we are a bigger group, so to get the ave to 30 will be easier.....
Guest Agteros

If it is too easy for some, those get more time at the front... smiley4.gif

Nuwbie. Same general loop, just a slightly different departure point and route out from home.

Route with Kid, rode straight to Vaal and Klipriver to meet kid. Once we left Heidelberg, we rode straight along R103 through Leondale and home (Mayberry Park).

Route with Peirre, rode to Checkers S/C, then to Dischem,along Hennie Alberts and then turned onto R550 from R103 and home via the Steps.

Two slightly different versions of the long loop with slight variation in distance.

For those of us so inclined, we tend to hit the hills hard and then stop at the top of a climb to regroup. Although most ofour rides have been group rides, we tend to do our own thing from time to time so we all benefit from the ride. (Hill accelerations and speed intervals are part of training. As long as we all stay pretty much together, each of us will get exactly what we need from the ride.) On the whole though, it is long slow distance.

(Agree with you on the LSD rides. I like 'em because I get to hallucinate and see different numbers on the bike computer. smiley36.gif

I like that Heidelberg ride. Some nice hills to test the legs, especially around SBR and coming out of Heidelberg. That hill from the river past the old resort up to the highway is a meanie.

Spas09, Long time to plan who can cover from you for this ride dude. Plenty warning.  

Well there's 2 dates, the wekend of the 28/29 but there are only 2-3 riders (Indigo Kid, Nuwbie, S2L)

Then there's the weekend of the 4/5 April, one or two moew riders (GreyOwl &  Agteros up front, Indigo Kid, S2L, Nuwbie ?, Sapao9 ?)

Nuwbie, will make arrangements to meet later this week, do you know how to get there ? Which turn off do I take ?
Well there's 2 dates' date=' the wekend of the 28/29 but there are only 2-3 riders (Indigo Kid, Nuwbie, S2L)

Then there's the weekend of the 4/5 April, one or two moew riders (GreyOwl &  Agteros up front, Indigo Kid, S2L, Nuwbie ?, Sapao9 ?)

Nuwbie, will make arrangements to meet later this week, do you know how to get there ? Which turn off do I take ?

Kid haven't checked yet, will in due course and let you know asap.

Guest Agteros
If it is too easy for some' date=' those get more time at the front... [img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley4.gif[/img]

Yeah' date=' you, the blue child and the old bird get to ride up front a lot. The Nuwbie and I will bring up the rear. [img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley36.gif[/img]

What? I belong at the back by definition! Howcome you wanna make me pull at the front? smiley19.gif 

Last time round I was so afraid you gonna drop me I had to pedal like crazy to stay ahead of you guys! All I could see was me turning into the Lone Ranger, waiting for another sunset!

Osman, jy't meer spoed en uithouvermoe as wat jy dink.

You have more speed and stamina than you give yourself credit for.

I'm basing the ride order based on your last performance.

Lone ranger se voet. You easily outdid me and the kid, although he did well too.  I only managed to drop the kid on the steps.

The difference between you and I, you do better than you think and I'm just a windbag that talks a "big game".

Not to worry though, ons sal almal lekker ry. It will be all good at the end of the day.

There is time for me to enlist the help of my other ride mates as well. We'll have a great ride bunch again and widen our circle of friends. Looks like wrighte might want to join in as well.

So like where is Obelix? Maybe Joelouw is in for this one as well.
Guest Agteros
Osman' date=' jy't meer spoed en uithouvermoe as wat jy dink.

You have more speed and stamina than you give yourself credit for.

I'm basing the ride order based on your last performance.

Lone ranger se voet. You easily outdid me and the kid, although he did well too.  I only managed to drop the kid on the steps.

The difference between you and I, you do better than you think and I'm just a windbag that talks a "big game".

Not to worry though, ons sal almal lekker ry. It will be all good at the end of the day.

There is time for me to enlist the help of my other ride mates as well. We'll have a great ride bunch again and widen our circle of friends. Looks like wrighte might want to join in as well.

So like where is Obelix? Maybe Joelouw is in for this one as well.

One day, when I'm all grown up I'd get myself a 11x53 cassette/chainring smiley2.gif ... who knows maybe then...

I tend to disregard current actual performances, and compare what I d to what I want to do at the end of the year...

But it is right, I'll do my bit whereever needed (at the front, klapping muggies out the way smiley36.gif, or back playing bumper for incoming traffic.... smiley18.gif

So is this all then for the weekend of the 4th?

Me gonna drive down to Alberton so I can cycle to Heidelberg to have a munch at the Wimpysmiley5.gif?