Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

• Replies 9.2k

The kid is genetically hard coded to sniff out any and all oportunities to advance his dreams of one day owning a Pina. As he is a body builder turned sometime cyclist, I can't quite fathom the logic of this but hey, it takes all sorts to make up the world.

I guess, like a fruitcake, it's not complete without a few nuts. :lol:

Yeah Big S, I know it's there somewhere. It's just kinda hard to find 'round about now. Just ask the Princess. She got a decent dose of it earlier in the week. :P

<u><b>A few questions:

</b></u>

1. This on tomorrow morning?

2. Are once-off slowish newcomers welcome?

3. Everybody meet at Xumbugs (race track)

4. Is there parking available?

Every Saturday and Sunday morning the group leaves at 7 am sharp. Try and get there a couple of minutes early so you can chat and confirm who is doing the short 60km routes and who is doing the long 100km ride. Note if you are planning the short route it will be the group turning off left at the Lido.

These groups are also escorted and kept safe on Saturdays by the Helivac Marshalls.

Parking is best at the Rietvlei Zoo farm where you will also find Cycle Hub bike shop if you need anything

:thumbdown: :thumbdown:

First ever DNF today for me. Not by chance though.

This is funny&sad- enjoy!!

So I head out of the Silverstar Casino parking area at about 5:30, when someone decides its a good time to close the boom........ it hits me just underneath my glasses over the nose and chin. I manage to stay on the bike and stop, assess the damage. Mouth bleeds a bit. Decide to head back to the car to have a proper look. Meet up with Andy just about nxt to my car. While he holds the bike I dab teh blood and my brain is working overtime whether to ride or not.Decide to find the medics and get an opinion. Try rinse my mouth with water, but its not very succesful.Eventually find the medics, they give the go ahead, and I head off for a quick warm up (sure my HR was right up there by this time anyway).

Get to the start(in near perfect riding conditions - overcast, misty and cool) and now common sense is starting to return and trying to take over. Well I'me here,so might as well give it a go. We start and I feel ok'ish. We go over the first climb and the bunch had split up. I'm in the chasing group and things are looking great. 30k's into the race I pop a spoke, release the calipers and within a few 100m's a loud bang, tyre chaffed and tube burst. (Its also raining at this stage). I change the tube and for some or other reason my CO2 adapter malfunctions and is useless, next cannister - same story. In the meantime I was sent an angel in the form of a sweep bakkie. I have no choice but to abandon and get in the vehicle. We head off, come across another rider who has a flat and he wants out too. So the driver offers to take us back to the start. On the way there I realize my car remote is nowhere to be found. So we drop of the rider and head back to where I was picked up. Low and behold we find teh spot and the remote :clap: :clap: So teh day is ending well at least. Driving over the route on the way back we stop and help some 3 or so riders, eventually stop at a tandem who have no more tubes, puncture kit isnt doing the trick either. So I took out the tube from my rear wheel and assisted to get them going again. Now I have a warm and fuzzy feeling and Attie can take me back. Truly blessed to have been able to get out virtually unscathed and even more so to have been able to assist someone. All this in the name of fun!!

Their damage, and mine :(

post-5574-0-79041000-1298118530.jpg

post-5574-0-07542300-1298118550.jpg

Hey Doc, you a bit slow there. Thread has advanced many pages since 2008!

Trubie, sorry to hear bud! Hope your damage heals quickly. You made some nice work of the boom though! ;)

Will give details on my race a bit later, accessing from my phone now.

Yoh Trube's that is a tad graphic .... but glad you're OK!

I had the same thing and ended up in surgery having it stitched under anaesthetic December 2009.

Eish, the southerners like fighting. If you can't find people to fight with you fight with booms. BigS, how was the boom after your fight? Trubie won his fight for sure.

Yoh Trube's that is a tad graphic .... but glad you're OK!

I had the same thing and ended up in surgery having it stitched under anaesthetic December 2009.

oi, that couldn't have been nice!

Went to the doc when I got home, he said it wasn't stitches time :clap: :clap: :clap:

just got some anti- inflammatory and biotics..

At least I can ride again tmrw :thumbup:

Eish, the southerners like fighting. If you can't find people to fight with you fight with booms. BigS, how was the boom after your fight? Trubie won his fight for sure.

Dude I'm a lover not a fighter!

No boom for me, I fell at the pre opening hub ride at the bike park :(

Dude I'm a lover not a fighter!

No boom for me, I fell at the pre opening hub ride at the bike park :(

Did you turn right out of Hennie Alberts at the McDonalds lights towards Bdowns on a Spaz MTB at about 11:30 this morn?

Aye that was me sir! You didn't wave? :(

@Andy - a concrete drain :blush: