Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

Long loop, fast & furious for me but a piece of cake for you.

You have my permisssion to do what GO does, go to the front and push the guys but if I get dropped best you help with directions.
  • Replies 9.2k
Guest Agteros

Just follow the trail of blood smiley1.gif left by the hurt induced by Slave

Or....

Follow the yelping Monah

No can do.

Short loop with lazy bunch is about all I can manage tomorrow. My legs are abused from this weeks efforts. ! hr 32 47 k hills on Monday, Time trial tuesday, Ride with slowpoke Nick on Wed, Loop yesterday.

If my legs are sore, I can only imagine how Nick must be feeling. I made him push hard up that Klipriver hill towards Meyersig on Wed. Two hill accelerations and then I made him ride JG Strydom hard to chase me. Couldn't even stay in my "slip bubble."

Anyway, rest is also part of training and I need to keep some reserve in the tank for Sunday. 

I also might need to spend some time with my SO before she removes other biologically useful parts from my anatomy and I don't have wings.....

Just follow the trail of blood smiley1.gif left by the hurt induced by Slave

Or....

Follow the yelping Monah

Monah doesn't even dream of doing this (long) loop.

S2L, is missing her by the sounds of things and is going to spend some time with her tomorrow.

Slavey, if you invite her for Sunday - your anatomy she is gone!!!

hahahrhahahrh klunk, aaaaarghhh. Shyte, there goes the other shoulder.

Teehehehehe. No dude, I can maybe manage the shortloop at high speed. Not the long loop. I need to slow it down bud, the body she is betrating me and need to slow it down a bit.

I still wanna find out from her how she "enjoyed her ride" a few weeks ago. I think a rest is called for though, I'm just having a prblem saying "NO,"

Like Maybe, I will push myself and have a short fast ride but that's only maybe. Dude, I'm not as young as you anymore. This old bod, she needs rest and a breakdown on Sunday is just not on the cards.

So, thinking short and slow. Rest Ride. Even if I have to endure the other old fart.

Compromise. (I know you want to make me tired so you can ride away from me Sunday, but I am going to take it easy tomorrow, "IF" if ride, and I'm sure not going to push too hard Sunday either.)

Kid, even if I got some offer for breast implants for Mrs Slave, or a gazillion Zim Dollars, I would rather face plant than invite hell-en along for our Sunday Ride. Eish. (Not nice thoughts going on right now. Time for another "fokitol")

You make it sound like that was such a bad thing. Check how fast I was on Monday and I still did 150 k's for the week.

Big ride Sunday, means not so big ride tomorrow. Now leaning towards complete rest tomorrow.

Dude, it's chaieeela time. Outa here.

See ya all Sunday. Ox,my place at Mossies poep. The rest of ya loons at 6:30 at Dischem. I'll keep the jokes for breakfast.

So, next time we know not to leave the arrangements to Joe Low & Slave.  After arriving at the circus and setting out, we get to the intersection where we?re supposed to meet the others.  No sign of another soul in sight, so we decide to head in the direction that they should be riding from.  We ride for a few kays and still no sign of slave and the kid and the kids kid and nuwbie and the oxman?. hmmm what to do. smiley5.gif

<?: prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

You guys are SO lucky that you didn?t end up riding with us.  Joe Low in ?mission mode?.. so we haven?t found the others, next best bet is into the reserve to do some hills.  Joe, David#7 and little old me in tow we head into the reserve. Heads down, hearts thumping we?re averaging 36km/h.  Joe is on a mission. I try my best to keep up, feeling sick as we head up hill number 1.  Speed comes down to about 25km/h, head is spinning and I?m gasping for air but Joe isn?t letting up.  First downhill my legs feel numb as we freewheel and my heart rate slowly starts reaching some sort of normal level.  I can see the next hill ahead and feel the gradient changing slowly on my legs, I start preparing myself mentally for the next push.  As we start the next climb I hear a snapping sound? there it is again, my vision starts coming back into focus and I see Joe?s fingers in front of my face??  ?<?: prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />Nancy, your cappuccino?s getting cold?

smiley17.gifsmiley17.gif

..oh well, maybe when I?m big?. smiley2.gif

Ride was very chilled and enjoyable, I have been threatened with my life if I mention any distances or average speeds, so let?s just say that we rode for a couple of hours.  I couldn?t have asked for anything more than what we did.  I was sorry we didn?t meet up with you guys but look forward to the next time. 

I?m off to the North coast for a week tomorrow but will be back in action the weekend after next.  Will be in touch.

Hope you guys enjoyed your ride as much as we enjoyed ours.

smiley20.gifsmiley4.gifsmiley4.gifsmiley4.gif

Nancy Drew2009-04-05 05:16:09

Yip, Slave and Joek seems to have miscommuncated, sure if you ask them they would blame something else!!

Anyway we tried to catch up with you guys/girl by waiting at the entrance to Suikerbosrand reserve  -as was the arrangement ala Slave. He even tried phoning Joe, but to no avail.

We had a nice ride (there we eventually 6 of us), I ended up with 111k's, 29 ave, 3:50 min & 131 ave HR. It was great fun, and the brekkie also went down very well!!

Next time Nancesmiley1.gif

Guest Agteros

Nancy, sorry to hear that Joe Low fed you cold cuppachinos.... ;-) Or maybe it is poetic justice as Nancy was not there to tame all the wild (and dark) horses, they just ran wild and introduced me to a lot of pain!

We waited at the Kareekloof entrance, but no Joe Low, David #7 & Nancy.. Slave phoned, but there was no answer.... So we pushed on, feeling rejected and all and all ... ;-) <-- graphical smileys aint no more?

Got to Heidelberg, and the Wiesenhof was still closed (They open @ 8:30, and some staff were ouside waiting for the keysman to arrive). Decided to rather go to the Wimpy, and sat outside, very close to the entrance surrounded by bikers(motorbikers). Just as we left Wrighte came to say hi. Good to meet you man. Hopefully next time I'll actually have some breath to carry a conversation. Slave decided this was a good time to have a puncture, so he did an impromptu tube replacement demo for us (not that we cared a lot, or watched him doing it!) - we were busy talking to Wrighte!

As Southern Gauteng is perceived to be flat, we went out towards the R103 to go catch ANOTHER hill. We turned left on the R550 heading back towards Alberton, and Nuwbie organised us to do 30 second pulls at the front. THAT WAS A VERY QUICK 15KM!!! I just steadily watched my heart rate climb higher and higher and higher and higher ... Got to 90% max, and promptly fell of the back of the bus completely blown apart. I tried to wheelsuck up the steps, but ran out of sucking power. Blekshem, seems like if you want to go fast on a bicycle up the steps you have to do something other that run for training!

It was a great ride and thanks to everybody who participated.

Nuwbie, you definately are a dark horse, and admin must change your nick, as you definately are NOT NEW to a bicycle, not fitness...

To see where we went have a look at http://connect.garmi...ctivity/2952281

Have to say I had a great 'little nap' this afternoon, so much so I did not even hear the phone ring 2 meters away from me, nor could the cricket keep we awake! The nap started with a stomach full of good food, and I woke up extremely calarie deficient again... Hello ICE CREAM!!!

Apparently I cocked up the meeting so I wont duck the bullet. It was I said the fly.

We arrived at SBR around 7h28 or so and I did try to phone Joe. REally sorry we missed Nance, David #7 and Joe.

Our ride was good. Despite the pain form my previous days escapades. (Yip, I did it again. Tore the social bunch apart going up the steps. I just went moggy when some dude on a Dale came past me at 37 so I "HAD" to chase him down. Damn, that hurt, but he popped and I carried on albeit at much lower speed. Still beat them all up the steps with only "Klippies" in close cpontention. )

Anyway back to Sunday. Kids kid can ride. I was suitably compressed by both his endurance and hill climbing ability. Just outside Heidelberg we went hard to close a gap to Kid and he (kids kid) did very well.

I kinda ranged front and back, mostly back, of the pack while Nuwbie cracked his whip and turned at the top of most hills to go back and fetch Garry. (Yeah, Garry is a bit slow on the hills.)

It was a really good ride though. Tough enough for the strong Ox to take some strain during the last 15 KM.

I got dropped on the steps by Nuwbie depsite my valiant efforts. He is a very strong rider. 

It will be intersting to see Nuwbie, Joe and Owlman in the same ride. The rest of will certainly kuk off.

Thanks for anothet great ride, guys.

Slave, managed to change the punctured tube all alone, I think he just needed a bit more rest time.

MiniMe (Indigo kid Jnr) managed a lot better than I thought and I think the only time we had to wait for him was when the bicycle chain came off the chain ring. Very proud of him.

We can do it again soon but I think the next time we can leave at 7am as winter approaches.

smiley20.gif

Also forgot to mention that I too, needed a "nap" after the ride.

Eish Oxman. I had a look at your stats. Almost had a coronary dude.

That average speed and the distance looked very low. And then I saw that it is in miles. Whew.

According to my cat, we did the ride in 3hr 36 and the distance was 109km at an average of 30.1.

Whatever it really was, it was certainly faster than either of my previous trips out to Heidelberg and back.

It was still a good ride though. Tough as nails but it was all good in the end. I never saw anyone so pleased to see my house again as you were. Dorner maar jy was bly ne? 

Where is everone this morning? You okes do too much work. It is interfereing with our hub chat. (Hey "wrighte", was good to meet ya dude. Sorry I couldn't chat much, I was otherwise occupied with getting the bike ready for the Alberton express part of the ride and you notice, I got a sh!tload of help from everyone else.smiley6.gifsmiley17.gif So after two thousand k's of riding without a puncture, I have had five in the last week. Damn that law of averages sucks. In theory though, it will be about another few thousand before I puncture again.

I have had a request from a new quarter for a ride on Saturday.

Narcosis, it is the Easter weekend, and I'm at home. That gives me four days to ride and you only wanna ride on Saturday?

Wha'sssup dude, you lazy or what?

Who else is here this weekend.

We can ride the Boscos loop on Friday, do SBR, Henlie and back Saturday and a short loop Sunday.

Maybe something a little more substantial on Monday.

So many days to ride, so many permutations. I don't care much where I ride as long as I ride.

Who is here to join in? Where should we go?

Ja Ox - those miles, makes for depressing reading.

I was also just as glad to see my own house.

Good endurance session though, which I am sure will come good in the Wilro in two weeks time. Thanx guys!

Ox - you just need time in the saddle, then you wont suffer so much towards the end. You strong on the hills, but short on endurance.

Slave - why do you wanna pip me against the big okes(main honchos)?

I am enjoying my cycling as it is now. No need to ride till I'm blue in the face, and with lungs draped over the handlebars.

Kid - next time we go we can leave at 7:00, no prob.

The kid's youngster impressed me also, he rode well, and it must have been an experience seeing the old toppies huffing and puffing while he's smiling all the way!! What I wouldn't give to be that young again!

Slave - you are getting stronger boet, you keep up the rigorous training schedule, you will see some good results in due course.

As for the chase up the steps, good on you next time stick with me. I had to almost sprint up there to stay ahead.

Gary - can see the man can ride, just not fit at all, and once fit can work on those hills.