• Replies 88

*click* subscribed china. I hope it doesn't include smelly rides like the spruit, its not really technical enough, bru (well at least not on my 29er).

Edited by BrettMTB

Where to begin...

• Almost always guys I AM A GUY
  • Come from a strong roady background hmmm, and slow runners liking road bikes (I consider road group rides safer than buggering off into the bush)
  • Clad in lycra with the same branding as his bike NOT
  • White shoes MTB shoes are black and muddy/dusty :)
  • Wears the latest and greatest in sports fashion eyewear that matches the lycra NO and NO
  • Legs tanned and shaved all year round. Most likely from session at a larny Sandton spa. Wont exclude BSC treatments Yes-ish (It helps confuse the runners!), NO and NO!
  • Calls you bru and chaaaaina HATE THIS, NOT DOING IT
  • Rides the latest in Carbon 29er technology because it makes him faster NO CRABON, NO NAAINERS
  • Acknowledges the existence of others with the head nod I DO, GENERALLY BECAUSE I NORMALLY OUT OF BREATH
  • No sense of humor MINE IS A BIT ODD AND DIFFERENT, BUT IT IS THERE
  • Refers to Spruit as "smells funny" and "not technical" IT DOES SMELL WEIRD AT TIMES, BUT THAT IS HOW IT IS
  • His other bike's a Pina, NO! MTBs: Cotic SS, Raleigh (tank). ROAD: Alpina SS & Raleigh RC2000.
  • Chirp the okes on single speeds... WHY NOT, IT GIVES 'EM CHANCE TO CHIRP BACK
  • ...only to be next to his own bike walking when the trail gets a little bit technical Sometimes, generally NOT
  • Will fly past you on a piece of trail without calling a line. KEEP LEFT, PASSING RIGHT?
  • Won't say thank you when you move over DEPENDS... whistling.gif
  • Won't ever greet first or return the greeting INNOCENT
  • Spends hours on dirt roads and calls it mountain biking LAST TIME I WAS ON A DIRT ROAD WAS 3AM on 1 JAN (On the MTB SS going up Breedts)

That is where I run out...

Basically the "cocks" of the sport are not welcome. Remember that the term "Racing Snake" is very much a derogatory term. Same as "Dirt Roadie"

OK, I consider myself a dirt roadie only because... heck WHY not? It is only a mindset as I have no desire to break a leg(not like an actor!), so safety plays a major roll

I'm keen to join a ride here and there, but somehow I do not feel welcome? Maybe I should drag Nance along as my ticket and 'accompany' her.... arghhh maybe just go ride with her on hallowed ground...

OK, I consider myself a dirt roadie only because... heck WHY not? It is only a mindset as I have no desire to break a leg(not like an actor!), so safety plays a major roll

I'm keen to join a ride here and there, but somehow I do not feel welcome? Maybe I should drag Nance along as my ticket and 'accompany' her.... arghhh maybe just go ride with her on hallowed ground...

Why unwelcome? Karma is unwelcome* but he pitches up anyway and we tolerate him...

* I think it's the smelly BeeOh.

Swing by one of my rides. We have great time. Will do a coffee ride on Spruit soon.

You don't have to be a gravity bunny to enjoy the ride.

:thumbup:

There are a few of us who will ride almost anything. The majority don't.

thumbup1.gif

There are a few of us who will ride almost anything. The majority don't.

I can think of about 5 people that do the nutzy stuff. Everybody else still enjoys the rush of the ride withing their own skillset.

It also helps to ride with nutters. You can ask them how to do stuff.

Just don't ask when we will teach you "how to manual"