[Event] Gravel Travel - NEW Venue & Route.

It was wet. It was muddy. It was slippery. It was lekker and I am dead tired. Lucky I had no tech issues. Lots of other people had/. Johny, then it must have been you I passed. Some other oke lost his crank on that slippery singletrack coming down from the mountain and was searching for it in the bushes. Now that was fun, that singletrack. Lots of time my back wheel decided to pass me because I was too slow. That long stretch of farm roads at the end was not lekker at all.

• Replies 167

It was wet. It was muddy. It was slippery. It was lekker and I am dead tired. Lucky I had no tech issues. Lots of other people had/. Johny, then it must have been you I passed. Some other oke lost his crank on that slippery singletrack coming down from the mountain and was searching for it in the bushes. Now that was fun, that singletrack. Lots of time my back wheel decided to pass me because I was too slow. That long stretch of farm roads at the end was not lekker at all.

I was having such a strong race, I dont know how my rear derailer ended up in my rear wheel. Oh well. You should have seen the recovery vehicle, it was full of broken bikes, it had to do multiple trips.

35km of clay mud that just sticks to everything. There was a short part of the Welvanpas single track that was so slippery it was unrideable (well, to me anyway). I washed my bike off twice during the race but my chain kept seizing while I was riding so I just wanted it to end. Unfortunately this meant I couldnt flatline the last bit but managed to come third or fourth in ladies (beating some blonde teenager on a Silverback, it totally counts ;)

The washing machine is going around and around and its not getting less muddy. guess i should have rinsed my clothes and shoes in the garden. FML.

will have to do a longer ride tomorrow to make up for lack of mileage and hills today.

post-51580-0-77555300-1399722573_thumb.jpg

I had a good time, the mud actually added to my enjoyment. I was very happy to be riding single speed today. Note to self though, get thinner tyres for better mud clearance in winter. Maybe a little more single track next time.

Johny, I think I chatted to you about your derailleur on the single track. I was relieved for your sake to see the bakkie not too far from there. Can't believe they didn't give you a lift to the water stop :cursing:

Edited by Nick.

I had a good time, the mud actually added to that. I was very happy to be riding single speed today. Note to self though, get thinner tyres for better mud clearance in winter. Just needed some more single track.

Johny, I think I chatted to you about your derailleur on the single track. I was relieved for your sake to see the bakkie not too far from there. Can't believe they didn't give you a lift to the water stop :cursing:

Did you have the silver bike? Riding with your girlfriend.

Yup, that was me.

Awsome dude. You were so helpfull, and really wanted to help me. Thanks for that. I could barely push my bike, cause the chain and derailer was in the back wheel. I was quite pissed off that the oke in the bakkie, doing nothing, told me to walk further.

Now the cleaning starts. I don't think my cycling socks will be white again for the rest of their existence. My wife just took the muddy stuff with 2 fingers out of the car and is now hosing it off in the garden before putting it in the washing machine.

35km of clay mud that just sticks to everything. There was a short part of the Welvanpas single track that was so slippery it was unrideable (well, to me anyway). I washed my bike off twice during the race but my chain kept seizing while I was riding so I just wanted it to end. Unfortunately this meant I couldnt flatline the last bit but managed to come third or fourth in ladies (beating some blonde teenager on a Silverback, it totally counts ;)

The washing machine is going around and around and its not getting less muddy. guess i should have rinsed my clothes and shoes in the garden. FML.

will have to do a longer ride tomorrow to make up for lack of mileage and hills today.

My 3 year old takes one look at my rear end and holds his nose. Then runs off to Mom to ask why Dad pooed in his pants. My clothes are in their second round of rinsing in the bath. Mud and fine sand still coming out of my socks.

oh, i chatted to you guys at the start line too. crazy fool on that bike you are. How did your GF go?

Aaah, I stood next to you at the start. You were on a Scott, riding with a guy on a Giant. We rode together most of the way, till my mechanical.

Thx The Search for a great event, and Im so chuffed to see so many entrants daring the conditions, this will keep the GT going for many years to come, the best signage on any race ive ever done and single track to make any junkie happy. First race I did with a 1x10 setup and absolutely loved it, I am so glad I entered this race, see you next year!

PS: where can we see the results?

Edited by BrandonF