Raleighs RC6000 vs RC7000

Cuzz

Hi

After consulting various shops for the prices of these 2 bikes, the best prices are:

R8150 and 10550 respectively.

The RC6000 (10-speed) is equipped with full Shimano 105 groupset and weighs 8.5kg.

The RC7000 is equipped with full Shimano Ultegra and weighs 8.8kg (sexier of the 2).

Is the extra R2000 worth the Ultegra parts (albeit an eyeball heavier) or is the RC6000 a steal for that price. IE are the Ultegra parts R2000 better.

At the moment i have an RC2000 (2002) and it needs a bypass. Im by no means a pro but i would like a bike that will last a while that is capable of racing as im taking the sport a bit more serious.

Thanx for your input

Cuzzz

Cuzz38817.6409143518

It probably depends on the rest of the components, like wheels, seat, seat post, handlebar and whether its the full 105 groupset including cranks or come other crankset like perhaps a carbon crankset (which could also explain the RC6000 being lighter)

The ultegra groupset isn't that much better than the 105 I dont believe BUT it is definitely lighter. The 7000 also benefits from a carbon seatpost and rear stays. Have your dealer way them, I dont believe the 6000 is actually lighter.

Thanx.

Here are links to compare the 2 part by part:

RC6000:

http://www.raleigh.co.za/index.php?option=com_content&ta sk=view&id=35&Itemid=36

RC7000:

http://www.raleigh.co.za/index.php?option=com_content&ta sk=view&id=32&Itemid=36

In the paper catalogue it says the 6000 weighs 8.5kg and on the site it is 9.0kg.

Think the website is correct. I dont know how to compare the other parts but does the RC6000 compare well vs the 7000 for that price.

Edit: For the links to work remove the space between the "a" and "s" of "task" in the link, otherwise follow the site.

Cuzz38817.6603819444

Cuzz

If you wait a while (2months) the new models will be released and you would pick up the current models for about R2k lesssmileys/smiley2.gif

Great!