Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

Nice dude...thats a really cool route to ride as well. Just be glad you didnt go over Ertjies Berg! I HATE that climb' date='and the one leading up to it!!

But thats a nice ride for you dude. Seems Trubie is getting stronger? How far down was he on the winner?

GO how can you hate climbs when you such a good fast climber ??

• Replies 9.2k

Yip...thats racing for you IanJ. It sucks when your on the recieving end of the negativity...and it rocks when you are doing the messing around!!

Thats cycling...

Slave...anytime you wanna discuss tactics I'm free. I have many years of experience under my belt...as you saw at the track!!! Its not always the strongest guy that wins...sometimes its just the most attentive!

Really? And skill and speed have nothing to do with it? I agree that the skill required to reading a race is important, but you still have to be able to follow through with the tactics. So, both abilities are important.

IanJ, this sounds like why some okes moer each other when riding in those front bunches. I know I would get pretty p!ssed off if I was trying to get the chasing bunch to work well and then some other dudes were running interference.  

AT least where I ride, we don't have much of that. Race experience was one of the reasons I opted to do the 40 on offer. At the speed I was going at, I was pretty much flat out and passing all the "guys" I caught up to. The fact that they jumped onto my wheel did not worry me initially and when it did, I knew that I would blow out if I tried to drop them. Added to that, I would have ended up going solo anyway. The better option was to slow down just a little and actually stay with them and take my turn at the back of the pack as well. I did put in my fair share of work up front as well.

Saved me some energy and enabled me to ride away from them at the end. And yes, I did use them to lead for the last couple of K's,which left me with enough in the tank to mount my last 500 m attack.

Yeeeehhaaaaa. It was cool.

Kid hating hills is what we do. We train on them because we know it will make us stronger. (At least this works for most). Being able to climb comes from training on hills and getting the necessary strength and fitness.

Being a good climber doesn't mean you have to like it.

Edit: Some spelling. Yeah I know, probably still full of stismakes. (See, told ya. I need to get a refund on the school fees.)
Slave2009-07-06 02:32:52

IanJ - was nice to see the orange team yes, would have liked to hang around for a coffee afterwards, but because the start time was so late, the whole day's rhythm was buggered, so we did not hang around afterwards.

Saw the first two guys, and your bunch finish while we were still there, and when I looked at my watch, I thought to myself , I better not say anything now, because it will just sound so wrong, it was just after 11:35.

I tried to calc the speed at which you must have ridden the 80k's and thanked my lucky stars that you didn't ride that fast last week. I actually had nightmares about it yesterday, after reading it was 63 k's - I must say I am relieved!! Glad I didn't opt for that distance because the "open" group consisted of about 12 riders. I would have hated to ride yesterday with that group, as it must have been very small, cause we passed most of them even before we reached the turnaround and another 3/4 on the way back, so it must have been hell for the survivors of that bunch.

In the 36.67 k race we had 4 hares (3 x youngsters, and a more mature looking gent) set of at a blistering pace (35+k/h) up that first incline. It was decision time for me halfway up , and I made the mistake of backing myself for catching them as we reach the main road. (In hindsight, I should have stayed with them from the start). However the youngsters managed to stay together and a group of 3 vs a lone ranger is a no win unless you are uber strong. Anyway after about 3 k's I gave up the chase and sat up, by that stage my ave speed was 41+. 3 more riders joined me shortly afterwards (Sasol, and what looked like a father son combo from Rand Water Vereeniging), we stayed together till the end, and worked well together. Some of the 80k guys turned around earlier, and made for some good targets to chase down. It was hard, enough wind to be a factor, and because we were only 4, the rest periods were relatively short.

On the way to the turnaround I saw the 3 had become two, so we had a challenge to try chase down number 3, but I never managed to get the group to work hard enough to really try. Knew that we would have to settle for pos 4-7.

My HR ave was 158, which is 85.4% of my max, which is also the hardest I have worked in a race ever(ok that is only 22 races). So my last 3 have been 156, 157 and now 158, which to me is encouraging - hopefully showing that I can ride harder for longer!! Although I'm hapy about that, I felt nowhere near "race ready", as I was supposed to be doing this ride with the missus.

Anyway, finished in 64 min, have no idea how far behind the winners or 3rd placed rider. I was outsprinted for the line by the youngster, as I prepared for the finish to be at the usual place on top of the climb, but they moved it to the main road?? So I missed out, but enjoyed it, lungs burned rest of yesterday, so I was reminded about the ride the rest of the day.

Well done to Slave for assisting his bunch to a good time. He is starting to come good, and will be ready for a good race in November.

Trubie, it sounds like you getting slower ??

Your coach is going to smiley35.gifsmiley35.gifsmiley35.gif you & then he's going to slap you silly.

Surely you can get your avg HR to 180 so you still have a long way to go.

Trubie, well done. Sounds like you had a good race.

Our average speed for the race was just over 39km/h.

Stonehaven is a great venue for a race, we stayed for lunch afterwards and only got home at about 3:30.

Trubes, one rain don't make a summer dude.

I'd have to say we all worked well together. I would not have managed without them and I guess, I helped them a bit.

I couldn't help wondering how they were coping with being pulled up one of the gentle (ish) climbs at 30 k's and hour. I was secretly hoping that this would break them and allow me to pull away, but they had other ideas and just stuck to me like a toffee on a baby's blanket. It was up that pull up from Riet (River / spruit).

Trubie' date=' well done. Sounds like you had a good race.

Our average speed for the race was just over 39km/h.

Stonehaven is a great venue for a race, we stayed for lunch afterwards and only got home at about 3:30.

Thanks IanJ, serious speed that - I have managed a 36+ only on 5 occations durng a race, with fastest being 38.7 on this year's BB in May. Needless to say them races have all been this year, so for me to even thibk of 39 makes my ears and head spin!!

I enjoy the Stonehaven set-up quite a bit too. Just had a look, last year I did the 40 k there in 1:09, so yeah, I suppose can be very happy!! (For what that is worth!!)

Trubes' date=' one rain don't make a summer dude.

I'd have to say we all worked well together. I would not have managed without them and I guess, I helped them a bit.

I couldn't help wondering how they were coping with being pulled up one of the gentle (ish) climbs at 30 k's and hour. I was secretly hoping that this would break them and allow me to pull away, but they had other ideas and just stuck to me like a toffee on a baby's blanket. It was up that pull up from Riet (River / spruit).

no need to be modestsmiley32.gif

Trubie' date=' it sounds like you getting slower ??

Your coach is going to [img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley35.gif[/img]smiley35.gifsmiley35.gif you & then he's going to slap you silly.

Now that is a motivational speech of note!

However, I would need to be showed, so please volunteer

What do you need to be showed ??

A man with all your experience still needs to be showed something ??

Your coach is going to [img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley35.gif[/img]smiley35.gifsmiley35.gif you & then he's going to slap you silly.

smiley32.gifsmiley32.gifsmiley32.gif, but you're not gonna get out of this one so easily.

Just want you to come show me how to get to 100%

I dont know what experience you're refering to?

smiley32.gifsmiley32.gifsmiley32.gif, but you're not gonna get out of this one so easily.

Just want you to come show me how to get to 100%

I dont know what experience you're refering to?

A 100% of what ??

Do you remember this ??

Had a Blue Peugeot with at first yellow handle bar tape and and yellow saddle cover, later got some shocking yellow/green tape.

Not sure qhy I needed the seat cover, I suppose it was purely cosmetic.

You've been riding for so long that by now you have tons of experience.

As long as you willing to share & give some pointers.

All of that happened way before the big flu of '33, so its does not mean anything.

100% - My max HR is in the region of 186, so if you want me to ride there, its gonna be 100%.

Trick is you need to come show me how its done, I seem to be to much of a woes to try it.

Dont you have work to do? Sitting on the hub all day? Eish man.

I forgot to add to that post - used toeclips with the Blue Patricks, you still had to get your foot straight, let the pedal slip into the groove in the cleat, fasten the toeclip straps.....

I also had an Italian steed - White Daccordi!

Hey Trubes. Congrats Bud. 1000 posts.

You getting to become quite the hub loadmouth. (Just like me.)smiley2.gifsmiley36.gif

Well done.