Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

Just a quick recap of tomorrows ride. 28 Feb 2009.

Meet at Dischem around 6 for 6:15 am ride. Route will be out to SBR, then on the R42 to Heidelberg, R103 and then R550 back to the steps and home again.

Route will be around 100 km in about 3.5 to 3.75 hours.

GreyOwlv2.0 you metnioned you might be joining us with Dash. You still in?

Any other takers?

• Replies 9.2k

Grumpy I guess.

The ride was lekker. I woke up pretty early, had some brekkei at home and then hit the road. Since it was early, I went past Pierre's place and had the feeling when I got there that he had already left. So I chucked off to Dischem and got there about a minute behind Pierre.

We headed off down Hennie Alberts, JG Strydom, down the steps and on towards SBR. The weather was overcast and cool, no wind to speak of when we set out. No traffic either which made the ride a pleasure. Just the sound of the birds, cycle tyres on the tar and the docile sound of drivetrains. The reasons I love to ride.

Along the back of SBR the going was good but looked ominously like rain. Just before Heidelberg, the raods were rather wet but at least the clouds had discpersed (or dropped their load). Thankfully, it was obviously an isolated shower and soon were back on dry tar.

As we turned towards Alberton, we notice that the wind had picked up promising a heavier ride home. We were not to be disappointed. Fortunately, the wind was only a light breeze and relatively steady.

We turned off the R103 and headed back towards SBR on the R550 after a brief leg stretch at the intersection of the two routes. Peirre had this little bottle of some energy drink made more from caffiene than anything else and insisted I share some with him. Stuff tasted like medicine. Yuk.

So, we set off again on the homeward leg and it wasn't long before this stuff gave my mate a big boost. He was on such a plak I almost fell of my bike laughing at him. Ever tried to balance abike and ride the thing while wanting to roll around on the floor LMFAO?

He was hilarious, but you kinda had to be there for the full effect. Several people passed us hooting and waving and I wandere if it was Mux, Ee-Pee-Oh and the rest of the gang. (Sorry, at this time we were riding two abreast when we should not have been but the road was very quiet so we did "Tata ma chence."

At the stairs I lead the way up and despite the distance we had already done, still managed a halfway decent pace going up, doing about 24 at the slowest and about 3o at the fastest.

The ride distance turned out to be 111 at an average of 28.7.

Despite there being only two of us, it worked out well riding most f the way (about 98%) in single file, each one taking turns to lead and giving the other chance to suck so me wheel.

I felt a damnside better after that ride than I did when Kid and I did a similar ride coupe of weeks ago. I still needed my little afternoon nap, but at least I could still stand for a while after I got off the bike.

Maybe that plastic energy stuff did give em a bit more of a lift that I felt it had. At the time I swore that it had no effect, but I felt pretty good when I go thome. Not too sure what it was called but it was experimental for my mate for the Argus. (He mentioned t was only for the last 20 k's.

I took some of my own energy stuff along and it worked out well. Need to get some more for my next trip out there in a couple more weeks time.

This weekend though, gonna try and fly with the eagles again and see if this weeknd helped the endurance any.

So, why so grumpy? Well, the weather yesterday was really sucky and I decided not to ride. Never got my endorphin fix even though I planned to have a lazy ride with Mona's bunch. I just couldn't bring myself to face an hour of that and ran chicken with the depressing weather and srong wind.

Oh, well, I suppose we can't win them all even though I count Saturdays ride a major success. (but like hey, that's just my opinion right.)

So Kid, what'sour next trick going to be? Run with them fast chaps on the weekend? Try and soar with the eagles instead of scratching about with the turkeys?

I guess Dash is doing the Argus (and maybe Greyowl too) so maybe the bunch is going to be a bit thin come Saturday / Sunday.

Ideas anyone?

Edit: Oh CARUMBA (AKA SHYTE). I just realised, I have an angagement putty to attend this weekend.

'k, any Standerton bunch riders this weekend. I need some friends to play with in the standerton area. (Mrs. Slave is going to have something to say because she is trying to get me to leave the bike at home. Like that's ever going to happen. I'll just tell her the bike jumped onto the carrier as we pulled out the garage.)
Slave2Love2009-03-02 05:16:50

You should have done a shoeter ride on Satutrday & this long ride on Sunday.

I only rode on Saturday smiley19.gifsmiley19.gifsmiley19.gifsmiley19.gifsmiley19.gif.

Mini ME wanted to ride so the plan was that I would ride with my usual Eagle group & he would ride with the Turkey group.

About 2 km from the meeting place I got a puncture on my front wheel, sent Mini ME on so he wouldn't miss the group, changed the tube and off I went.

Had a quick chat with Greyowl then the Eagle group left, I had decided to go with the Turkey's since my front wheel wasn't at the normal pressure.

The Turkey's were going rather slow so I decided that when we got onto the back straight I'd fly off by myself.

Nobody even chanced me ????

Eventually the front runners caught up & off we went, doing anything from 42 - 49km/h which was pretty good going.

Up the steps the group split, I rode with the front guys until the BP then waited for MiniME.

Then on Saturday afteroon the impossible happended, I had a puncture on my back wheel. WTF ??

Fixed that and when I was putting the wheel back the front tube POPPED.

WTF ???

Had a good look at the front tyre and discovered a cut, so that was my riding for the weekend.

Off I went on Sunday & got a new tyre, fitted it and now the Silverback is ready to go again. VROOM VROOM.

Pierres bike went to the air port yesterday so he wasn't able to do a ride yesterday. That was why he wanted to ride on Saturday instead.

As things turn out thiugh, I'm glad I did the ride on Saturday because the weather played along nicely.

That wind yesterday and the overcast conditions just depressed me for some or other reason. And then I needed to take it wasy so the combination of weahther and the prospect of one particular rider jst left me feeling bummed the whole day because I didn't ride anyway. Not sure I would have been able to tollerate any whinging on Sunday. May have suicided one of the group.

I console myslef with a long ride when I get home. Probably going up Butchers, along Columbine and then around the loop for a nice little 65 odd k's.

Should make me feel a whole lot better.

Punctures suck, but not as bad as not riding, except when the puncture is so bad that you have to abandon a good ride 10 k's from home. That way, it's a long way home and a good ride down the tubes.

Tyre liners dude. Have them myself and over 1500 k's since my last flat wheel.

I've told you already, don't like tyre liners.

This was a freak thing.

Now my bike has a new Gatorskin on the front & a Michelin Dynamic at the back.

So you taking the next weekend off ??

Nope, no time off for good behaviour.

I am a slave to the bike. Checked out the maps last night and decided that on Sat I will ride from Standerton to Morgenson and back. 'Bout 94 k's or thereabouts.

New area, new routes, "change is as good as a holiday" they say. Not going to take much whisky on Sat night to put me to sleep. Looooong time since I had one and zero tollerance to alchohol these days.

S2L...nice distance dude! 111km is a nice ride for you. Should do Pierre nicely for the Argus.

Hey, Kid...you asked if I was cold on saturday morning, well it turned really chilly halfway through that ride and boy was I glad that I was wearing what I was!

Was nice to have some Barloworld(Impey) MTN (Mcleod) and Medscheme (White) riders with us on the saturday ride. The guys are looking lean and mean! Especially Mcleod...flip that guy is thin! I felt like the 'Stay Puff Marshmallow Man' next to him!

I'm not doing the Argus...also wondering if there will be any riders on saturday morning?

Hey GOv2 smiley4.gif Nice to hear from you again. I must admit that I was a leeeeedle tired after that ride ('k before the kid climbs down my throat, I'll come clean, 'k, a lot tired.)

I had to take a serious nap afterwards. I did feel a lot better than I did after the fast one though and can feel that the longer ride distance has helped a bit.

We went for a 47 k after work yesterday (Up butchers, along Columbine ave and home again) and I cruised up Columbine even though I was really hammering it. Got to the top of Columbine 3minutes ahead of my previous best time even though we took a slightly longer route to get there.

So, I plan for a decent distance around Standerton this weekend and will try to work on interval training to imporove my speed. Next time we go do the long loop, I plan to hang on a lot longer dude.  It's not going to be so easy as last time to drop me. I intend to stick around like a bad smell man.smiley36.gif

I would love to get together this weekend and I'm very interested to see how many will pitch for the group on Saturday. Probably a few less, but The Argus is a long way away and I expect there will be a fair number of riders there for a group ride.

Yeah, I hope that the ride helped Pierre a lot. I know it did me some good and I actaully enjoyed the ride. It's a great route. Plan to do it a few more times yet.

GreyOwl, if you got colder then you weren't pushing hard enough smiley36.gifsmiley36.gifsmiley36.gif

Since there were 3 top riders maybe it was a good thing I never went with, eish I would have fallen way behind.

I'll go through on Saturday, hopefully there will be a few riders.

GreyOwl you going to ride on Sat ?

Gentlemen....

Yip, I'll go ride there on saturday morning...guess with the recession(not my hairline) a lot of guys will be skipping the Argus, so hopefully there will be enough riders to make a decent sized bunch.

S2L...I'm expecting to see you go all "Theunisse" on us on the 'steps' on saturday! Afterall, it is YOUR climb now!! (Google Theunisse if your lost!)

Indigo...you are now lucky, punctures come in 3's...so your puncture spate is over for a while! And just so you know, the pace on saturday was easier than the week before, and we didnt go up that funny little hill detour in Pendale this time!

See you guys on saturday...

Will Spas09 be joining? He lives right next door to me in the adjoining complex! (I think he thought I was following him home last time!)

All those big names and you go slower, that's why you were cold.

When S2L joins us for another group ride he's going to be leading the pack. S2L you show those guys with the Bianchi's what your Peejou can do.

See you guys on Saturday.

Hi S2L & GreyOwl2.0 busy reading tx's a reminder:

Accidental luck...

After that last terrible accident it finally became clear why the hormonal state

of Gert-Jan Theunisse was significantly out of order at times: he suffers from osteoprotosis

(Shouldn't this be 'osteoporosis'? I'll try to find out soon.)

Nothing doping - there you are!

Who am I refering too!!!!!!!

hey guys...

i'm away this week end again, so wont be joining you guys.

really missing being in the saddle, waterpolo has stepped up alot now as we training for world champs, so finding it hard to get on the bike, and when i do have time i'm buggered from the swimming and gym...

Harhahahahar. FOFLMFAO.smiley36.gif

If, accoring to TNT's calculations (not to much to put too much stock into that but...) my bike is 900 years old, then the peejou is as old as Methusella and I must be as old as the hills.smiley11.gif

Bit too old to be claiming the steps as my domain and racing up them, but with enough incentive, I can always try and have a crack at them.

I was thinking GOv2, a couple of weeks ago, how I used to be really chuffed when I was making between 17 and 20 up the steeper parts and about 23 / 24 on the flatter parts of the steps. Things have certainly changed. I get miffed with myself when I get bellow 25 and 30 now. Certainly makes my previous speeds seem really slow and I guess that my speed is not anywhere near the fastest that they get done by someone of your calibre and ability.

I just have this thing to keep trying to get faster up the steps because that helps with hill climbing n general and anyone who can climb well, aught to be able to race well.

To think that this is all due largely to riding with bunches (no matter how social) and the hub, meeting and talking to people who made me try harder.

I do promise one thing though, you will never have to push-start me up the steps again. No matter how tired I get chasing you around on long (or short) loops, I will always have a go at the steps. There is this psychological taboo about them that has pretty much been broken.

I used to fear the steps, now I look forward to them. The challenge of getting to the top and getting there chasing hard is just something that makes any ride better. The harder I try, the faster I will be. Practice and the right attitude is all it takes.

But, to get to the level of "Theunisse", Dude, I'm way past my best by date. Not that that will stop me trying though.

It is NEVER too late to have a happy childhood.

Kid. Dude, you are faster than me (if a leeeedle smaller). Offer your own services to lead the pack dude. I need to wheelsuck all you fast okes so I have enough energy left to hit the steps.

I am doing some special hill work just to do the steps. 'Sides, If I lead the pack, you okes are gonna have a really slow bunch ride. You have all day to do the long loop?smiley5.gif 

S2L, you doing all this 'hidden' training, last week you went off & done 111km now this weekend you off again to do some more 'secretive' training and then next weekend 14 or 15 we going to do the Heidelberg loop again. You'll be leading the bunch in no time.