Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

Guest Agteros

Fanx Nuwbie, there was a time when i really sucked up the hills. I've made a point to try and 'gun' it up the hills at every opportunity I get.

So it seems like my perception of a lack of endurance (based on the running) is true. Such hard work to reverse the neglect due to an 18 year complete training lay-out....

Oh well, at most another month of max 5km runs to get into the wing of the training thing. Will start running further the moment I dip under the 25 minute mark for the 5 kms (I'm nearly there!) Gonna do a 10km road run in July, so I'll soon have to start running 6 & 8 kms (ouch!)

Oh, and I'll ensure that I sleep more during the night before the ride than after the ride. Sat I slept a total of 4.5 hrs! Dunno when I fell asleep Sunday arvie, but it was just before lunch at the cricket and I woke up just after 17:30!!!
  • Replies 9.2k

Oxman. Nuwbie is right dude. You are strong on those hills.

Forget about wating to get under 25 minutes for a 5 k time trial before you go longer distance.

Go longer distance and you will get below 5 minute k's, that I promise you. I used to run so I kinda have some experience. The more you run, the fitter you get and the faster you get. Even if you run Steady states for ten k's, you will improver your 5 k time trial.

Dude, I just think it would be interesting to see how the ride would go with all of the big hinchos riding. You are a lot stronger and faster that you give yourself credit for. (had a good laugh at the lungs on the handle bars though.) FOFLMFAO. Seriously though, Birdman is a cool dude to ride with. He is largely the reason I ride like I do. He got me to change my mindset and try harder. That and riding with the faster bunch every now and then and being more competitive in the social bunch. (I know it's not really their style (social bunch) but I can like to push it harder and try to break up the pack. The faster guys are a bit too fast for me. I need to work a bit harder and get a bit faster. It will come in time though.

Garry is my trainingmate and we pretty much ride the same routes every week. He is quite fit, just not too strong on hills. He really tries to chase me when I go hard at Columbine and Butchers and has beaten me up the Lido hill. (just over a week ago when I was so FLAT.) He battles to ride every second weekend as he is also one of those part-time dads. (Divorced) and only gets his kids every second week. When he has them, he doesn't ride so maybe not quite as fit as he could be.

bring it on then

I love a challenge!!!!!

I saw yr post about the rides this weekend, will let you know what I'm gonna be doing.

Kid - next time we go we can leave at 7:00' date=' no prob.

The kid's youngster impressed me also, he rode well, and it must have been an experience seeing the old toppies huffing and puffing while he's smiling all the way!! What I wouldn't give to be that young again!

6:30am yesterday was ok, it was just a bit cooler going down the steps but easily managable, the rest of the way it was lekker sunny.

My son's legs are a little tender this morning and his @ss is also soar (so he can't sit or stand for too long today). I think he wants to do the 94.7 this year, now he's done the distance so he'll improve from here.

He also had a lekker siesta yesterday afternoon.

Slave, listen GreyOwl's advise, pomp those tyres!!!!

I agree with Nuwbie, you've improved big time. I remember the 1st time we done the Heidelberg loop, you looked like you were about to collapse we even had to make an emergency stop at that petrol station for you to have a breather and get some water, yesterday you were going going going.

Nuwbie, Slave wants you to improve that's why he's suggesting that you ride race GreyOwl. Joe Low is just crazy, 152km Vasbyt race on Saturday and Suikerbos yesterday, that's just nuts!!! One day when I'm big - I'll also do that.

Kid - Slave wants be to suffer it seems. Its an old trick of coaches!!

Dom will easily complete 94.7 in 3:30. We ave almost 30 yesterday, so he should be able in a bigger bunch to stick. Tell him to put his ass in the fridge smiley36.gifsmiley36.gif

Ya, I wouldnt have done anything if I rode 150 k's the previous day. 

smiley36.gif Kid, yeah that frst time we went around that way, I def took some strain those last 100 k's (well, maybe only the last 30 or so).

I was pretty poked by the time we got to Leondale. Thirsty, tired and hungry. smiley11.gif

When I did the route with Pierre, I was much stronger and yesterday was tiring,  but I felt ok most of the way.

That stretch between the R103 and the steps was hard work tough. Everytime you and Ox went to the front, you kicked the pace and I struggled a bit.

It was all good in the end though and we emerge from it stronger and fitter than when we left.

Your kid's not the only one with fragile legs. Mine took a beating as well, but feel ok today. Ready to go out and do some hills today with Garry.

Dude. My tyres were pretty "pomped". I did it myself. (hurt like hell, but job done.)

Er, chaps, slow down, take a breath. I merely suggested that it would be interesting if Nuwbie, Greyowl and Jow were along for the ride.

I go shambies every time someone goes past me and I think that secretly, Nuwbe is the same. The ride will get hectic with all the strong riders. Ox and I will just run for cover when it gets funky.

I'd love to see how it all pans out. Birdman, Nuwbie and Joeall chasing each other while we try and hang on.

Eish, I'm gonna get dropped big time.

Tell Minime that I am highly compressed by his efforts yeaterday. He did GOOOD. I cannot tell a lie, when he beat you up that hill just outside Heidelberg, I did give him some assistance.

Slave, you have to also remember, that the route is not flat and easy. To some it might be a bit of a breeze, but its actually tough, undulating and windy at the best of times. In such a small group, where everyone's ability and fitness levels differ, its even worse. You can easily overcook yourself and burn all those available matches.

However, that said - its much much easier the next time you ride at that pace, and all it basically is, is getting used to it.

I had a long email discussion with Kid about this not too long ago, and I told him that if you can ride 60 k's at , you can do the same over a longer distance ie, 100 k's. Its all about the time you spend in the saddle. Yesterday is a case in point - we did not try and go that hard, but managed a good ave for the distance. (All conditions and the route despite).

Also remember , that it is expected of you to get tired!!smiley2.gif

Everyone does, even LA

Maybe if Owl, Joe and myself get together, we can actually get you all to pace us, so we can get some decent wheelsuck training done.

So right Nuwbie. Some of those hills are actually pretty hectic.

When Kid and I rode that route, we did it on the day that the R4s was going, we just rode along the same route. (Did not make use of the facilities although in hindsight, we could have (just didn't seem fair since we paid no entry fee.))

I recall trying to pace Vets B up that first climb around the back of SBRNR. I managed to hang on for about two minutes before I blew. I think I never really recovered after that, although that last hill into Heidelberg, I went hard because of the "frame" I was admiring on the back of a tandem.

Also a couple of other places where we pushed a bit chasing bunches.

Once you get tired, it's hard to come back again, epsecially when your fitness is not all it should be.

When I look back on how I coped yesterday, I felt so much better at the end than I did on either of my previous two trips.

The more we ride, the stronger we get, simple. There is no substitute for bike fitness. Running helps, but it is not the best way to get bike fit / cycling fit.

At the end of the day, it was a great ride and we cracked it at good overall pace.

Knowledge, we get from books, experience we get from practice and yesterday was good experience.

Thanks for taking the time to ride with us "novices" (I speak mainly for myself Kid, so kindly remove your foot from my posterior. Oh, wait, that's still the saddle from my bike.)

Fork. Check out the newbie with attitude. Bliksem dude, you first post and you taking a swing at me.

I have yet to spontaneously combust while riding. (Other activities, maybe, but never riding a bike.)

'K,so you wanna ride? When. I have a four-day week end coming up soon. How about a soft initiation. The social bunch ride at a faires pace but we go hard on the steps.

We meet at Xumbugs at around 6h50 on Saturdays and Sundays and I'm sure that more that one or two will arrive on Friday.

The faster bunch leave a little before the slower guys and you have a choice of short or long. Short is the allewynspoort road, past Nampac and up the steps. (the slow bunch do that route.) Then you can go long which is via Walkerville, past Boscos and the circus farm.

I accept either challenge and just to be sure that we ride about the same distance, I'll even ride up butchers into Mondeor to see if your bike skills match your verbal ones.smiley2.gif 

So let's meet Friday morning and have our own ride. Kid, Nuwbie, Greyowl, Spas09, dudes, pull in, we got us a new recruit.

BTW, Narcosis, welcome to the hub.

I hope that your name does not imply that you are one of those on the "juice."

We like our rides to be pretty clean. The only dope allowed on our rides is me.smiley5.gif. 'k?

And like the kid says, I can look after myself. Only occasionally get outside assitance from the birdman and Nuwbie.

'K' date='so you wanna ride? When. I have a four-day week end coming up soon. How about a soft initiation. The social bunch ride at a faires pace but we go hard on the steps.

The faster bunch leave a little before the slower guys and you have a choice of short or long. Short is the allewynspoort road, past Nampac and up the steps. (the slow bunch do that route.) Then you can go long which is via Walkerville, past Boscos and the circus farm.

I accept either challenge and just to be sure that we ride about the same distance, I'll even ride up butchers into Mondeor to see if your bike skills match your verbal ones.[img']https://assets.bikehub.co.za/legacy_images/smilies/smiley2.gif[/img] 

So let's meet Friday morning and have our own ride. Kid, Nuwbie, Greyowl, Spas09, dudes, pull in, we got us a new recruit.

Slave what is your obsession with the short loop ?

Or do you secretly like riding with Mona ?

On Saturday you could have riden with us and you would have had the opportunity to take on the guys from the MedScheme team.

If you go long you can still go hard up the steps, nobody will stop you.

Dude, I have discovered a secret obsession with riding away from ol' Moana.

I find the faster I ride, the less I can hear her. She must be very miffed with me because she doesn't even greet me. And I have discovered, that the more I ride away from her, the more I like riding the socisl bunch. There are one or two dudes there who actually do chase. The rest get dropped.

Haraharaharahara (EVIL LAUGHTER)

Slave, it's time to leave nursery school. You've been riding for a lot longer than I have and even I ride with the bigger boys.

I challange you to come and ride away from the long group (just remember that GreyOwl also rides in that group).

Imagine how the carbon boys will feel when you ride away from them on your 900yr Peejou.

Thanks Slave

One of my past times is teaching scuba diving - Narcosis comes from Nitrogen Narcosis which you can get at depth - makes you do dof things, most of my mates reckon I have Narcosis on the surface smiley5.gif........

The only juice I'm on is orange juice at breakfast - look forward to meeting up with you on Friday for the ride and being taught a lesson of note