Alberton _ JHB South Riders

Slave

Guest Agteros

I would have loved to go riding this weekend, but I'll only be able to join on 25 April again. Kinda sux for me but oh well, such it is... :-(

• Replies 9.2k

Nuwbs, dude. LMFGA.

Kid, eish dude. You too smart for me. You and Ox crack my codes so I'm going to go and sit in the corner and sulk. Seriously, You can rest on Saturday. I'm having a rest ride with the slow bunch as I have a secret agenda 'k? Build a bridge, get over it. Sunday, going to get dropped by the fast boys.

Monday, if I'm not in ICU, I plan to go for an easy(ish) ride and spend some time with my SO.

Part of my secret project involved me spending time with my old iron horse until midnight last night and I was severely kukked on by Mrs Slave.

The problem is this, MIL is being taken by one of the sisters for the whole of the Easter weekend, Teeny is out of the house for the whole of the easter weekend. I am out of the house for most of the easter weekend (out there riding dudes).

Now, if you see something just minutely wrong with this picture, it is huge in the eyes of Mrs Slave. An ideal opportunity to ride the indoor trainer and where is the Slave? Mucking about on the steps initiating new hub groupies to new worlds of pain.

Yeah, I know, I am faulty. Something wrong with the silicon chip in my head. Don't bother recommending a shrink 'k, been there done that. He said last time that reading my head was the shortest story he ever read.

Slave - its a tough world we live in.

I reckon you have options:

- get yr SO a bike, will solve yr prob easily

- stay at home 

- ride , and have a tv with only pics when you get back

Maybe, just maybe consider the fact that the SO has gotten wind of Mona?!smiley11.gif

Eish. I can almost guarantee that Moana must be single. No-one, not even me, in my silicon chip challenged world, would put up with all that whinging. (Unless of course, she get's dumped on at home and takes her frustrations out on us.)

SO won't ride a bike. Been there, tried that. The wise bird says it's bad for her to ride so that is now the latest excuse an she aint budging from that one. Before, it was the saddle that hurt and I have heard all the excuses 'bout why she "can't" ride (read as WONT).

As to that third option, tha's terrifying dude. They have such crud on TV. I can always talk to my mad parrots.

Now the second option. Lessee, erm, I'm old and cantankerous and for all the headaches and shyte over the years, revenge is (as GO puts it, "always worth the cost".) riding the bike.

Peace and quiet for hours on end and I love the sound of many tires rolling on the road. There is something about being away from home, hearing drivetrains, and brids, the smell of burnt diesel from the trucks, the adreneline of dodging taxis, pedestrians and mad motorists, not to mention the endorphin induced high that makes cycling so attractive.

Damn, I'm gonna miss her when she goes. I hope the TV programs improve.smiley19.gif

But those are bridges that we may never cross and I'll fight for custody of the bike and the birds. smiley17.gif

Slave, TV with no sound ,only pics is another way of saying , that yr SO will not talk to you because she has the "pampoen siekte" after a slight disagreement. Usually over cycling related issues.

When they blow up their mouths as big as balloonssmiley2.gif

My wife now has a bike, so heaven is a place on earth.

I almost had to cancel the Epic on Friday. My SO is currently out of town on the South Coast, and tried organizing a plane ticket for myself and the kids for tmrw eve. "Unfortunately"all flights are full. smiley11.gif

Guest Agteros

Is GreyOwl back from the South Coast?

Ja, flew back in, riding with him if all goes well on Friday.

(aCTUALLY HE IS RIDING WITH US, BUT FROM WHAT i'VE HEARD OF THE MAN, ITS THE OTHER WAY ROUND)

Ja nee Nuwbie.

Daai pampoen siekte is n vreeslike ding.

The side effects of this illness leads to hot tongue and cold shoulder being permanent part of the menu until sufficient healing time has been allocated and one has been subjected to a serious dose of humble pie eating as well.

Seems to happen especially around the same time of the month (or at least with some semblance of predictability.)

It is a known fact that it is not only cycling related issues lead to the illness, but many other things as well. Like where you "always leave your clothes".

I tell you, 27 days a month you can get away with it, not on the 28th.

You can put your clothes away 27 days a month but heaven help you if you leave your socks lying around on THAT day.

Aye carrumba. HKGK (of is dit HKBGK)

Lads...how goes it?! I must congratulate you S2L...this thread is now over 100pages of actual cycling talk! I love it! Thanks dude...

Yeah, I'm back from the coast Agteros! I loved the riding down there. The sea views on a ride are what I love the most!

As for S2L...dude, you seem to be getting more loopy by the day dude! I love it!

And Nuwbie is right...its gonna be a cold winter!

Indigo...Your quite the code breaker dude!

So GreyOwl are we finally going to see your new baby on Friday ?

Don't worry about the cold & Nuwbie, he cycles in his skiing suite and I suppose you(GO) do to ?

Not only is this thread 100 pages young, I've had some great rides with you guys and made some new friends - good stuff.

THANKS GUYS!!!
Indigo Kid2009-04-08 08:38:21

Yip...time to bring my new baby out for her maiden voyage with you nutters!! Indigo...wait till you see me riding in the actual winter time! I look like a frigging Eskimo!!

Last year I went to the Junior World Champs in Cape Town in July....it was so cold I was wearing everything I owned!

Yeah, Kid you are right...made some good friends on this here thread! Thanks guys!
Yip...time to bring my new baby out for her maiden voyage with you nutters!! Indigo...wait till you see me riding in the actual winter time! I look like a frigging Eskimo!!

Last year I went to the Junior World Champs in Cape Town in July....it was so cold I was wearing everything I owned!

Yeah' date=' Kid you are right...made some good friends on this here thread! Thanks guys!

Hopefully all those clothes will slow you down smiley36.gifsmiley36.gifsmiley36.gif

I can't imagine an Owl dressed up as an Eskimo, bud you wear a jacket when we ride in summer so in winter I suppose you wear thermal clothing ?
Not too sure where the cheese factory is myself so not too sure of distance. Whatever it is' date=' will be cool for me. I'll have a PBS for brekkie b4 I leave home.

From Xumbugs travel up Klipriver, right to the steps, at the M61 intersection turn right and the cheese factory is about 10 kms down the road on the right - on the corner of Irene ROAD and the M61.

Its about 60kms roundtrip if you turn around there and go back up the steps home, you can carry on and turn right at the next t-junction which takes you up a super big hill and then over some rollers back to the old Johannesburg road, which you can follow to the Lido, right onto Swartkoppies back to Xumbug - about 70kms round trip doing this route, but theres a few nice hills to work you over - they tell me its all about "Quality" training not Quantity smiley2.gif - although I wouldnt know.!

Hey, hey, hey GOv 2 point something. smiley4.gif Nice to see you again dude. So you finally going to get the "mad bunch seal of approval" on your new ride.

100 pages of cycling talk.  pulling the p!ss, drivel, some talk about rides an bikes, more p!ss pulling and a bit about routes, meets and tons of kuk excuses about why the meet can't be made.smiley36.gif It's been fun.

Thanks Porky for those directions. I must have been past the cheese factory a few times and not even realised it. What worries me about Nuwbie's Epic is that he wants to do the loop backwards and then go up Buthcers, Glenvista, Rosettenville and then Camaro. At least there will be some "scenery" in Rosettenville. smiley36.gif (Do they work on public holidays? Is it classified as "work"?)

Narco, this is your initiation into a new world of pain. Wait till you see the fashion dude. Nuwbs looking like he is more intent on being the first dude to cycle to the South Pole. We gonna look ridiculous I tell you. Penguin suits on Nuwbs and the birdman, you with O2 Cylinder, me with MIL's O2 generator in tow, kid with his short sleeves. I look quite a sight on that  900 year old Peejou with my toe clips.

So, no race up the steps tomorrow. Whassamatter, you okes chicken?

Or has Nuwbie got some devious plan to chase us up hills I don't know about. Maybe a race up butchers then and get a fat hill smack in Glenvista. smiley11.gif 

Eish dude, I think I feel a kuk excuse coming on to stay on the porch with the puppies tomorrow. smiley9.gif

Gives new meaning to the term "Slave Driver". Salve gonna get driven ridden into the ground. smiley18.gif

See Kid, tol' you I'll need a recovery ride on Sat. I'll be test driving riding the beds at Natalsruit Hosp with a drip compliments of Spas and Bankmed (More like Bonkmed.). Spaso, what grupsets on those beds dude? Can I have one with Campag?

Aye, yai yai. Pein hier kom ons. And we do this willingly and voluntarily?smiley5.gif

Fawk.smiley18.gif

Porky, porky , porky, now you've gone and spoiled all my fun.

I wanted to let Slave have the ride of his life (no pun intended), past the cheesefactory, now he will have had time to secretly go and ride the route. However, one advantage is that you described the route clockwise, and we will be doing it anti-clockwise. So all the surprise isnt lost.smiley2.gif

See you all at Xbugs(Slave @ 6:45, at the secret meeting place - I'm not mentioning because Kid would want to intrude) at 7:00 tmrw morning. Kid - its seven o'clock am.

Look out for the guys on the bicycles.

Yeah and be especially careful of the one looks like he's got the wrong equipment. Scuba apparel and he's on a bike.

Narco, now you know who to look out for so you can come over and introduce yourself.

So, in all this exitement, I forgot to find out about who and how many are on the Nuwbie Epic.

Slave -

Drug Man (Narco) -

GO virgin 2 point OH -

Purple Child -

The Man hisself (Nuwbie)

Spaso -

Shiny Cattle (Sorry Calves)?

Hope we have decent weather.

Nuwbs, the ride is tomorrow AM dude. No time for me to go and scout the route. My secret training was yesterday. I went up the Lido hill at an average of 19.5. New PB for that route. Now, I need a rest. Don't make too much noise, I'm gonna try and snooze some today. Have a sneaking suspicion, it will be needed.

(Pst, Nuwbs, are we doing the whole of the long loop backwards, Cheese place and Walkerville and then up Butchers etc?)